Re: WB Game Day V Melbourne R1 2022

It's been there from prior to last year. I think the two clubs culturally are diametrically opposed.
    Clearly it went to a new level.

Originally posted by comrade
      Yeah, I reckon our blokes hate those Demons flogs. Would love to see us start some biff next Wednesday.
      Collingwood went hard at Oliver. I want us to do the same.

Yeah, I reckon our blokes hate those Demons flogs. Would love to see us start some biff next Wednesday.
        Besides Libba who do you expect to take it up to Melb from a physical stand point?

I can't think of many as we have a quite a few 'nice boys' in our team... and not many with any mongrel.

Originally posted by Mantis
          Besides Libba who do you expect to take it up to Melb from a physical stand point?

I can't think of many as we have a quite a few 'nice boys' in our team... and not many with any mongrel.
          It only takes a few.

Libba, Smith, Naughton, Cordy, Duryea, Vandermeer, Keath and maybe R Smith wouldn't surprise and I doubt Bont, Dunkley, Williams and even Daniel would allow themselves to be pushed around.

I agree a few years ago we were 'too nice' but I don't think we're pushovers anymore.

Originally posted by Mantis

Would love Libba to lead the way and the nice boys to drop the halo and take a stand. Nothing stupid or over the line but I want to let those flogs to know we’re coming for them.

• MrMahatma

Would love Libba to lead the way and the nice boys to drop the halo and take a stand. Nothing stupid or over the line but I want to let those flogs to know we’re coming for them.
              Is that when we play our best footy?

• merantau
                • May 2015

I see no reason why we won't win this game. We defeated them comfortably towards the end of last season. Sure they flogged us for a quarter and a half in the GF. But they had everything going their way in the run up to the GF and we had everything going against us in the same period.

Don't forget it took a kick after the siren for them to overcome Geelong. They are not THAT good.

Dogs by 15 pts
                First goal - Cody
                BOG: Dunkley
                [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

Originally posted by merantau
                  I see no reason why we won't win this game. We defeated them comfortably towards the end of last season. Sure they flogged us for a quarter and a half in the GF. But they had everything going their way in the run up to the GF and we had everything going against us in the same period.

Don't forget it took a kick after the siren for them to overcome Geelong. They are not THAT good.

Dogs by 15 pts
                  First goal - Cody
                  They were getting smashed too. I knew that would make them feel invincible and so it proved to be.

They're an arrogant bunch and when they're full of themselves can really ride that confidence to good performances.

There will be a celebratory atmosphere in the crowd their fans are going to relive the GF they missed.

Be a big test of what we've worked on since the GF.

I too think we can win but hope the mental demons (ptp) don't get to us.

Do we think the stand rule has helped the Demons. They've got a good set of runners I think of all teams it's really been advantageous to them. Other teams run and fall into their trap with Lever and May then they rebound.
                    Opposite for the Tigers. They played that surge game and lock it in with structure.
                    Now it's easier to run through them.

What a bloody stupid unnecessary change.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Dogs by 1 point
                      First Goal: JJ

• dog town

More than a little bit concerned ahead of this game as we just don't seem to be firing.

It feels like we have based our forward line planning around appeasing English so that he doesn't leave at years end. Martin has lost weight to become more mobile as a forward and so far appears that we want to split the ruck 50/50 if not more in English favour. I have no problem with English in the ruck but this is going to decimate our forward line without Bruce. Personally I would be keeping Schache and English forward particularly this week but it doesn't sound like that will happen.

In both games so far we have looked at least 1 and possibly 2 genuine forwards short and one of them needs to be a tall. Very interested to see what we do with both Keath and Gardner available. Calling this now and acknowledge its unlikely but dont be surprised if Keath starts forward. There has been some vague comments around us not being able to play with our preferred set up and the intra club I watched earlier in the year Keath played forward.

The match up with Fritsch concerns me, we have struggled with certain types of forwards consistently and we haven't addressed it from a personnel perspective. This is the reason Wood had started having to play as a stopper because we are either short attacking defenders or talls. Dale and Williams actually have the right attributes to be deep defenders but we tend to want to play them higher and Williams struggles on slippery players.

Midfield will be a similar battle to last years games, if it stays inside and close we will work our way on top. If Melbourne can get the ball from the inside to outside quickly then they will hurt us. Lots of talk about what we should have done in the GF when they got their run on but the fact is they have powerfully built, explosive types in there and we don't It is about keeping it on our terms as long as we can because they just have a different set of skills to us.

Need to avoid easy intercept marks for Melbourne which is what concerns me. Their strength is the area we are struggling with right now and it will take a big turn around to change that. I don't think it is all doom and gloom, our mids are in good form (ball use aside) and we are reasonably healthy. Melbourne also has a couple of their preferred back 6 missing which seemed to unsettle them against Carlton.

• boydogs
                          • Apr 2009

Originally posted by dog town
                          Martin has lost weight to become more mobile as a forward
                          Is this an assumption or do you have a source for this?

Losing weight in your 30's is usually to prevent injuries which was much needed for Stef

I can't see him being an effective forward as he has lost his leap, he's a wrestling ruckman with good technique but not much else

• dog town

Originally posted by boydogs
                            Is this an assumption or do you have a source for this?

Losing weight in your 30's is usually to prevent injuries which was much needed for Stef

I can't see him being an effective forward as he has lost his leap, he's a wrestling ruckman with good technique but not much else
                            He has played intra clubs and all practice matches as a genuine forward. It may be to help with injuries but if the plan was for him to become a viable forward option and split the ruck more evenly then obviously he would have needed to lose weight.

• soupman

Originally posted by dog town
                              He has played intra clubs and all practice matches as a genuine forward.
                              Not the most inspiring tactical change. If a 35 year old pure ruck can't warrant selection unless he can play a position he has never been good at then why is he on the list?

Ok I'm not saying this could happen, but it is Bevo...

"Have got inside info that Josh Schache will tag Ed Langdon on a wing tomorrow night. Same individual gave me the Hunter info on Saturday also."

Schache does have a huge tank and Hunter was dropped...