• Hotdog60

Re: WB Game Day V Port Adelaide R13 2023 Fri 9/6, 7:50PM - Marvel Stadium

I think we need to get into Cyril Rioli ear over the summer and ask him if he wouldn't mind coming to the club to do some specialist training with Jones, Weightman and Clarke or send them to him if his in NT for a 3 or 4 week block to teach them the art of a small forward.
    I think Arty could be a similar player to Rioli and Cyril has the status the players would listen to.

• whythelongface

Originally posted by Danjul
      We cannot possibly put Sweet in that team. It would have meant English shutting down Aliir, and allowing Naughton back into the game but losing the joy of watching JOD butchering the ball or Arty occasionally getting near it.

That is another loss which was the result of careful planning.
      I get the Sweet argument and would even like to try it but the problem is we then have:

a) a ruck that is a liability around the ground and
      b) a ruck that can?t actually ruck but is (mostly)exceptional around the ground

In effect we have one awesome player in two bodies. Question is can we have both in the team. It would mean dropping one of our tall defenders moving Naughton back and using English predominantly as a forward.

• lemmon

One other thing I noticed about this Port side is how aggressive they are across the board. They really flew into tackles and tried to get into us around the ground - particularly Libba.

We obviously hate it and I thought the umps missed heaps, but you'd love to see that as a Port supporter. Think Hinkley has really built their confidence over the last few months of footy and they're walking on air at the moment - you could even see that in Hinkley's little s**t-eating grin when he wandered around like a Roman emperor after the game.

Not saying that with bitterness either - fair play to them and they're a bloody good side - I'd be lapping it up if I was a Port fan.

• whythelongface

Originally posted by anfo27
          I just hate the style of football we play. It's boring! Poor crowd tonight because our own members don't want to watch us.

There were so many players you could of chosen to be subbed out for Baker. Bruce had a shocker. He does ok as a defender but this happens often, he has no clue what to do with the ball when he has it. Arty is cooked, needs a spell. I just see too many players playing poorly in a boring system they don't want to play in.

Have to say I'm tired of seeing Naughts getting beaten every week. This year it seems he not only gets beaten but his opponent has a big influence. In time i'd like to see him go back & Darcy replace him up there.

Port were good to watch. They take the game on, they go through the corridor & the players look like they are enjoying playing that way.

Bevo needs to change! Hinkley has done it. Yeah he hasn't won anything yet but geez they're good to watch. We're better defensively this year but Bevo still going with that half forward pushing into the midfield trick. Its crap. Works well against crap teams but good teams just turn up the heat in the contest & that rushed kick gets marked by the spare man. Come on Bevo! change something!

I just feel we are wasting precious Bont years with crap tactics.
          I understand what you are saying. Port do play an exciting brand of football, like the Pies, and our game just doesn?t stack up. I can?t agree that it is boring - last night?s game was exciting and there were two contributors to this. Agree that I would like us to take on the game more similar to when we had the upper hand in parts of the last quarter - slick handballs to slice through the opponents defence. Problem is when we do use the corridor we often turn it over and this leads to a number of goals (our main turnover issue).

• whythelongface

Originally posted by lemmon
            One other thing I noticed about this Port side is how aggressive they are across the board. They really flew into tackles and tried to get into us around the ground - particularly Libba.

We obviously hate it and I thought the umps missed heaps, but you'd love to see that as a Port supporter. Think Hinkley has really built their confidence over the last few months of footy and they're walking on air at the moment - you could even see that in Hinkley's little s**t-eating grin when he wandered around like a Roman emperor after the game.

Not saying that with bitterness either - fair play to them and they're a bloody good side - you'd be lapping it up as a Port fan.
            Reminds me of us September 2016.

Originally posted by JanLorMill
              You think so? To me he was poor. Run rarely seen, missed a chance, kicking nothing special and beaten one on one.
              Agree with this. Although he definitely used his pace when he was late to a marking contest and instead of pulling up and getting on the mark he overcommitted on the "spoil" and ran right past the contest, allowing them to run straight up the corridor for a goal.

I don't hate his attributes, but I find him totally brainless as a player.

Originally posted by Go_Dogs

We?re missing a young midfield tier like Port has. Maybe that?s this draft? Means they?re 5 years off then?
                This is the downside to having to genuine potential stars as father son and NGA. You don?t get to hit the draft.

I fear with Croft rising up the draft board ranks we could be locked out again. Definitely need to consider how much we are willing to pay for Croft V list management.

Originally posted by chef
                  What was the crowd number?

Looked pretty small.
                  23k.

• Danjul
                    • Apr 2019

Originally posted by whythelongface
                    I get the Sweet argument and would even like to try it but the problem is we then have:

a) a ruck that is a liability around the ground and
                    b) a ruck that can?t actually ruck but is (mostly)exceptional around the ground

In effect we have one awesome player in two bodies. Question is can we have both in the team. It would mean dropping one of our tall defenders moving Naughton back and using English predominantly as a forward.
                    I have watched players get 0, 1, 2, 3 possessions in a whole game and nobody on the selection panel has seen them as a liability. They have contributed nothing in those games and are carried by the rest of the team.

It is impossible for Sweet to be worse.

It doesn?t mean English not rucking. He would dominate the second ruck and take pressure off Naughton.

It would allow changes in tactics during the game. English having a poor game, no worries, make a change. Naughton having a poor game, no worries, make a change. At the moment any opposition success simply continues unaddressed for the whole game.

After selecting JOD for the three consecutive losses and Jones having 3 reasonable games in ten, it is mind blowing to see any criticism of what Sweet might do.

• angelopetraglia

I have watched players get 0, 1, 2, 3 possessions in a whole game and nobody on the selection panel has seen them as a liability. They have contributed nothing in those games and are carried by the rest of the team.

It doesn?t mean English not rucking. He would dominate the second ruck and take pressure off Naughton.

It would allow changes in tactics during the game. English having a poor game, no worries, make a change. Naughton having a poor game, no worries, make a change. At the moment any opposition success simply continues unaddressed for the whole game.

After selecting JOD for the three consecutive losses and Jones having 3 reasonable games in ten, it is mind blowing to see any criticism of what Sweet might do.
                      It is a valid point. But it is a moot point.

Why? There are certain types of players Bevo has shown during his reign that he just refuses to play. That includes immobile big guys. If you can't move you won't get a game.

On the other hand. He will persist with athletic players who can cover the ground like JOD, Vanda and Arty. Even if they hardly touch the Sherrin.

• whythelongface

Again I get what you are saying but it is hard to hide as a ruckman and if you are effectively contributing little around the ground it renders you useless. Problem with Sweet is that at the VFL level he has little presence except in the ruck contest. Regardless would be happy to give it a try in the Seniors.

• whythelongface

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                          23k.
                          Where was everyone? Heading to the ski fields?

Originally posted by whythelongface
                            Where was everyone? Heading to the ski fields?
                            Why would you want to go?

The stadium is in a state of disrepair with little food outlets open, and what is served up is overpriced junk… with the cost of living spiralling out of control lots of people are finding better ways to spend their money.

• macca

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
                              It is a valid point. But it is a moot point.

Why? There are certain types of players Bevo has shown during his reign that he just refuses to play. That includes immobile big guys. If you can't move you won't get a game.

On the other hand. He will persist with athletic players who can cover the ground like JOD, Vanda and Arty. Even if they hardly touch the Sherrin.
                              Brilliant observation. I am kinda getting worried that the MC prefrencing the athletic and versatile types ( who fit the block the space game plan ) vs natural footballers. Probably one of the reason Minson career faded out
                              Its clrealy not working and the footy skills are not there at the moment especially when under pressure, when instincts and natural technique kicks in.

We have too many almost can be footballers

Why cant we play to our list strengths ?

• jazzadogs
                                • Oct 2008

Originally posted by Mantis
                                Why would you want to go?

The stadium is in a state of disrepair with little food outlets open, and what is served up is overpriced junk… with the cost of living spiralling out of control lots of people are finding better ways to spend their money.
                                With a young baby I've only been to two games this year, and I couldn't believe the state of Marvel. One parents room for the entire stadium because half of it is a building site, and not a single member of staff could tell us where that actually was. If you had a seat on the 'construction' side then good luck getting food/drinks.

The match day experience is pretty horrible at the moment.

BUT I thought last night was an excellent game of football and don't agree with previous poster that we are boring. It was a high quality game with skill and intensity. I think Bevo nailed it in his analysis - we had chances but didn't execute effectively when we needed to.