• bulldogsthru&thru

Re: WOOF Welcomes Ryley Sanders to the Kennel

Originally posted by hujsh
    You'd have to think it's not possible to consistently get over 30 touches a game as a mid without at leave above average endurance. Even if you were the best reader of the game to ever live you still need to get places and not be too fatigued to execute
    You would think so. I don't know what the interchange rules are at the u18 level. I'm sure he's not bad. I wondered if he was at least decent.

The footage I saw of him he seemed to be getting the ball in all areas of the ground.

• Bulldog4life

Very happy we drafted Ryley. Another addition to our indigenous boys.

Ryley Sanders drafted to Western Bulldogs with pick six

Talented Indigenous teenager Ryley Sanders has been selected by the Western Bulldogs with pick six on the opening night of the AFL Draft.

Sanders is considered one of the best midfield prospects among this crop of draftees and is coming off an excellent 2023 season across multiple levels of football.

After being drafted, Sanders told Fox Footy that he had an idea there was some interest from the Western Bulldogs.

"I had a good inkling from my manager Nick Gieschen that if I was there (at pick six) I could potentially end up at the Doggies," he said.

"I'm just so stoked to be there and they have so many good players that I'll be able to learn off, which is great."

Sanders averaged over 30 disposals per game across his nine outings for Sandringham Dragons in the Coates Talent League this season, his second consecutive premiership-winning season at the Dragons.

A picture of consistency, he did not dip below 25 disposals in a game once throughout the 2023 campaign.

He also averaged a massive 38.8 disposals per game across his APS season with Melbourne Grammar.

Sanders was brilliant at representative level for the Allies, spearheading the team to an undefeated carnival and claiming the Larke Medal as the best performed player in the process.

The 18-year-old – who was named captain in the U18 All-Australian team – described his experience with the Allies as 'amazing'.

"I had a great six weeks with the Allies boys – to win the Championships and to win the (Larke) Medal was great."

Sanders is regarded as a high-production midfielder who has the ability to accumulate plenty of the football.

He possesses clean hands, classy decision making and a high footy IG.

AFL Draft guru Kevin Sheehan said on Fox Footy's coverage that the Bulldogs had drafted a tremendously talented player.

"He's just a polished player who prepares so well and produces from week to week," Sheehan said.

"An outstanding player all year in the Coates Talent League, he then played for the Allies and dominated."

A member of the AFL Academy for the past two seasons, he performed well in games against Port Adelaide and Carlton reserves this year as a key feature of the Academy team's on-ball rotation.

Sanders was made a member of North Melbourne's Next Generation Academy earlier in the year and at one point looked destined to head to Arden Street.

AFL rules state that teams can only match bids on NGA players after selection 40, but the Kangaroos had requested an assistance package that could have involved getting priority access to Sanders and having the ability to match a bid.

Sharon Long ebay:44vbxk5 Po Box 38 Malanda QLD 4885

Seems stupid you can match bids for a F/S at any pick but a kid you bought up and trained since 14-15 you can’t match bids until after pick 40.
        So the AFL want clubs to bring up kids but then stop them taking them because they did such a great job in developing them.
        You would think that might stifle clubs from having NGA kids in the future.

• JanLorMill
          • Feb 2023

Originally posted by ledge
          Seems stupid you can match bids for a F/S at any pick but a kid you bought up and trained since 14-15 you can’t match bids until after pick 40.
          So the AFL want clubs to bring up kids but then stop them taking them because they did such a great job in developing them.
          You would think that might stifle clubs from having NGA kids in the future.
          Unless you are Gws or Gold Coast

Video here of the team discussing why they'll pick him

Grant seems to be getting back in shape.

Any chance for a return?

Mic'd up

Thanks for posting that one. What a kid. Humble, polite, confident, independent? already knows Charlie Clarke.

Originally posted by azabob
                    Thanks for posting that one. What a kid. Humble, polite, confident, independent? already knows Charlie Clarke.
                    I found that quite funny how Bevo was 'oh we've got a little surprise for you' and he's basically said 'Oh yeah I watched you guys do that with my mate Charlie that'll be fun'

• BornInDroopSt'54

Originally posted by Bulldog4life

Talented Indigenous teenager Ryley Sanders has been selected by the Western Bulldogs with pick six on the opening night of the AFL Draft.

Sanders is considered one of the best midfield prospects among this crop of draftees and is coming off an excellent 2023 season across multiple levels of football.

After being drafted, Sanders told Fox Footy that he had an idea there was some interest from the Western Bulldogs.

"I had a good inkling from my manager Nick Gieschen that if I was there (at pick six) I could potentially end up at the Doggies," he said.

"I'm just so stoked to be there and they have so many good players that I'll be able to learn off, which is great."

Sanders averaged over 30 disposals per game across his nine outings for Sandringham Dragons in the Coates Talent League this season, his second consecutive premiership-winning season at the Dragons.

A picture of consistency, he did not dip below 25 disposals in a game once throughout the 2023 campaign.

He also averaged a massive 38.8 disposals per game across his APS season with Melbourne Grammar.

Sanders was brilliant at representative level for the Allies, spearheading the team to an undefeated carnival and claiming the Larke Medal as the best performed player in the process.

The 18-year-old – who was named captain in the U18 All-Australian team – described his experience with the Allies as 'amazing'.

"I had a great six weeks with the Allies boys – to win the Championships and to win the (Larke) Medal was great."

Sanders is regarded as a high-production midfielder who has the ability to accumulate plenty of the football.

AFL Draft guru Kevin Sheehan said on Fox Footy's coverage that the Bulldogs had drafted a tremendously talented player.

"He's just a polished player who prepares so well and produces from week to week," Sheehan said.

"An outstanding player all year in the Coates Talent League, he then played for the Allies and dominated."

A member of the AFL Academy for the past two seasons, he performed well in games against Port Adelaide and Carlton reserves this year as a key feature of the Academy team's on-ball rotation.

Sanders was made a member of North Melbourne's Next Generation Academy earlier in the year and at one point looked destined to head to Arden Street.

AFL rules state that teams can only match bids on NGA players after selection 40, but the Kangaroos had requested an assistance package that could have involved getting priority access to Sanders and having the ability to match a bid.

Wow indigenous from Tassie like Liam Jones.
                      Footscray Football Republic.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Whilst I'm glad we won't have any sliding doors moment given Watson was off the board, I'm still curious who we actually had higher on our draft board.

• MrMahatma

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/n...el-has-arrived

Video here of the team discussing why they'll pick him
                          Didn’t know much about Melisi but having seen that, anyone who likes Pennywise and Millencolin is ok by me and proves he can identify talent.

Well worth a watch

Originally posted by Bulldog4life

I’m sorry but I have to ask .. who is Sharon Long eBay ?

I think my favourite line was off the cuff, talking to his mate about when we were up, “I hope Cal got this right”.