If we lose next week, is Eade in trouble?
Re: If we lose next week, is Eade in trouble?
FWIW, Cross is usually fairly good at putting a well weighted ball into space for a forward. The last few weeks he has done this on a couple of occasions and made it look good.Have you heard Butters wants to come to the Dogs?Comment
I've got a bit of catching up to go but there is a bit in this thread that is total bollocks, so I'll respond to them one at a time (by no means am I saying that only the posts I'm responding to are bollocks because there are too many to reply to them all).
Lance Franklin and Cameron Wight are athletes.
Greg Williams and Damian Peverill are footballers.
I suggest we're better off with good players rather than only considering them because of their type.Comment
After watching the crap that was served up last night I go on record and state the following
Rodney Eade - terminate his contact after the B&F
Scott West - retire with dignity.
Nahtan Eagleton - retire
Tim Callan - delist ( not up to afl level)
Scott Welsh - trade
Farren Ray - trade
Tom Williams - trade (15 games in four years)
The following players to be traded to secure a CHF and CHB
Adam Cooney
Mathew Boyd
Daniel Giansiracusa
and as Jerry stated fast track the kids instead of playing the old stagers
because we pay good money to watch them and should not settle for MEDIOCRITY
West - in his last game, on one leg, he had 18 touches in 60% game time. If his knee is OK, he goes around again, if it's not, he doesn't.
Eagleton - I'm no Eagle fan but what would be gained by forcing him to retire? Pick up a kid with pick 78 and delist him after 2 years? He lives or dies next year on merit - if he deserves a game he plays, if he doesn't he plays VFL. Next year would probably see him out you would think.
Callan - perhaps. Worth another year and would be contracted anyway.
Welsh - you can't trade a 29 yo at his 3rd club. Besides, he's contracted and is a forward who can mark - we're not exactly snowed under by them.
Ray - maybe. Might not have a choice if he walks (he put off contract talks, not us).
Williams - has played more senior games at his age than Lake had. I'm sure he's just as frustrated as the rest of us but we're desperate for tall defenders and we finally get a good one and you want to piss him off because he got hurt?
Anyone can be traded if the deals good enough, of course, but realistically you don't trade very good players, it's just dumb.Comment
Really? That's surprising[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Comment
Eagleton - I'm no Eagle fan but what would be gained by forcing him to retire? Pick up a kid with pick 78 and delist him after 2 years? He lives or dies next year on merit - if he deserves a game he plays, if he doesn't he plays VFL. Next year would probably see him out you would think.
Seriously he ain't going to get any better and his best is only on display once or twice every 6 games (and I might be being nice). Play Hill, O'Keefe, Ward, Stack, Wood, anyone in his role, because hopefully they may turn out to be more accomplished player's.Comment
The things Eade did wrong tactically he has been doing for the last 8 weeks. He started playing Minson out of the goal square. He had us trying to play through the centre corridor when it was our run and carry down the wings AND DELIVERY TO LEADING FORWARDS that was winning games, not bombing it into the goal square.
Starting Aka on Rioli on a half back flank was ridiculous. Keeping him there for half a game was utter stupidity.
Not once did he change the way we were playing and made them perservere with the centre corridor. How many time did we ignore loose players on the wing for a player under pressure in the centre?
You're saying we were too direct Friday night? Too many times we attacked through the corridor? It certainly looked to me like we were rooting around with the thing going backwards and sideways all night. I would have loved to have seen us use the centre of the ground.
Perhaps you mean we tried to use the centre of the ground. Well, we did, that's how we beat their cluster in Tassie. You can't handball though it, you can't kick over it, so you handball into it and then kick over it. We just didn't do it very well.
He also never once tried to combat Hawthorns tactic at centre bounces when they dragged all our backs bar one onto the edge of the square leaving a forward one out in the 50. Why not try and use that to our advantage? Have all those blokes sprint into the middle at the bounce and lock the ball in. With the extra numbers we then have you can apply more pressure on their midfield who continually kicked it straight over the heads of these players to the one on one contest. Very clever by Clarkson as it effectively cut 5 or 6 players out of our side. It might have been ugly but you are there to win a game of football.
You don't think Clarkson would have had one or two drop off the back inside 50 on his own?
You'd want to make sure your blokes got in bloody quick and got their hands on it first. And didn't turn it over. And didn't fumble.
Of course we could have just told our defenders to stick to their opponents and then not turn the ball over. Or fumble.
Eade got outcoached but wasn't helped by his players execution of the basics.
Namdarb, if Wallace pulls the pin, could you apply for his job, please.Comment
Eagleton - I'm no Eagle fan but what would be gained by forcing him to retire? Pick up a kid with pick 78 and delist him after 2 years? He lives or dies next year on merit - if he deserves a game he plays, if he doesn't he plays VFL. Next year would probably see him out you would think."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Eade's job is safe for one more season. Beyond that it depends on where we end up in 2009. But I have never liked Eade's "back yourself, run and carry" game plan. How many times do you see this and the player with the ball has no-one to give it to, so he gets tackled or goes backwards to get out of trouble. When Griffen goes for his runs, it looks great, but how many times has he been caught holding the ball or the final kick went to no-one in particular because his run put all the forwards out of position.
The only sure way to fail is to not take risks.Comment
Sockeye, if he isn't there already, Eagle is getting perilously close to list clogger territory. Think Tivendale in his last year or two at Richmond. Nobody is doubting they can play, but their best football is just a pass mark and they display this far too infrequently, not to mention they are rising 30. With two uncompromised drafts coming up, list cloggers are going to be sacrificed more so than ever. I reckon Eagle is one sub-standard game away from football oblivion.Comment
Sockeye, if he isn't there already, Eagle is getting perilously close to list clogger territory. Think Tivendale in his last year or two at Richmond. Nobody is doubting they can play, but their best football is just a pass mark and they display this far too infrequently, not to mention they are rising 30. With two uncompromised drafts coming up, list cloggers are going to be sacrificed more so than ever. I reckon Eagle is one sub-standard game away from football oblivion.
I'd get rid of MacDougall, Lynch, Street, Wight and O'Shea (perhaps rookie if his attitudes right). Ray too if he wants to go.
That's 6. Our 7th round pick will be in the 70's, there's no point.Comment
You keeping Skipper?Comment