Bulldogs V Dockers - Round 14, 15/6/24 Marvel Stadium 1:45PM AEST

Margin:
    First goal:
    Best on ground:

Re: Bulldogs V Dockers - Round 14, 15/6/24 Marvel Stadium 1:45PM AEST

Margin: Dogs by 3 points
    First goal: Jamarra Ugle Hagan
    Best on ground: Ed Richards
    Last edited by Eastdog; 13-06-2024, 09:14 PM.

Western Bulldogs v Fremantle
      Saturday - 1:45pm AEST – Marvel Stadium

Before last week’s loss to Brisbane, the Western Bulldogs suggested they were looking forward to the bye and their performance proved it.

Now, the Dogs have to lick their wounds and go again one more time before a fortnight’s break. Luke Beveridge is a master of galvanizing his men against the odds, but could he lift the Dogs’ performance after a 43-point loss last week and against a team which has lost just one of its last five games.

Beveridge and the Dogs are up against it to keep in touch with the top eight.

Fremantle, on the other hand, are brimming with confidence having belted Melbourne by 92 points prior to the bye. That win looks less impressive than first thought after the Demons’ King’s Birthday loss, but the Dockers’ form since a six-goal loss in the WA Derby is solid.

Justin Longmuir’s troops have come to Melbourne twice since to record impressive wins against Richmond and St Kilda, while a draw against Collingwood also reads well.

But also nestled in that block of contests was the last time Fremantle met the Bulldogs. It was less than two months ago when Fremantle posted a four-goal triumph over the Dogs at home.

With the margin just five points at the final break, Longmuir’s men kicked away in the last to record a comfortable win. Given the Dogs’ physical state, with Alex Keath the latest to succumb to injury in Round 13, Fremantle will enjoy a clear mental edge in the last term in a close contest.

Yet Beveridge has proven time and time again, even in 2024, that his Dogs are not to be underestimated and with Ed Richards (concussion) and Cody Weightman (elbow) a chance to return from injury, the home side will be up for the fight.

Tip: Fremantle by 11 points.

Seb Mottram

Dogs by 11
        First Goal Weightman
        BOG Adz

Freo by 26.
          FG Lobb
          BOG Treloar

Ominous signs with Bont being ill and not training. I also hate how we match up against them defensively. Jones plays loose at times but to do that he needs better support around him. Problem is Khamis plays even looser and JOD is still green.

We would need to win the midfield battle but we don't look overly potent forward. Cody back helps but they're a well drilled defensive unit.

Reckon this has all the hallmarks of being a dog of a day and one that ends our season.

• westbulldog
            • Sep 2009

Freo by 30
            FG Vandermeer
            BOG Serong

Freo by 25
              FG Marra
              BOG Treloar

• Scorlibo

Dogs by 1 point (I don't tip against but would if I did)
                First goal to Bontempelli starting forward
                BOG English
                'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

Won't be able to watch this until the match is finished sadly. Hopefully that's a good omen

• The Pie Man

It’s not going to rain Saturday - anyone interested in joining me to lobby the stadium / league to open the roof so that this could feel like a real game of footy?

For those interested:

Luke Beveridge will speak to the media this morning ahead of our Round 14 match against Freo on Saturday.

�� You can listen via Twitter Spaces from approx. 9:45am.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Dogs by 35
                        First goal: West
                        BOG: Richards

Them by 20+

I have a real hard time actively wanting the team I support to lose, especially one with Bont in the team. I hope he is a late withdrawal, and we get beat which gives more credence to a coaching change at the end of the season

I've tried to be positive and was hopeful that our selection integrity would improve, which I thought was given early season indicators, but it still remains a ''boys club'' and given we've been stuck as a bog avearge team for a 3rd successive year (when really we should be better), well there's the door.

• HOSE B ROMERO
                            • Mar 2012

All emergencies playing for Footscray.

I love Sarurday arvo games. I can get here and home around dinner time. Perfect!!