Tall Forwards we Chased - where are they now?

• Scorlibo

Re: Tall Forwards we Chased - where are they now?

Originally posted by DOG GOD
    I'd stay away from Mitch. Too slow and too injury prone. No thanks. I have a hawks mate who really goes overboard with rating hawks players (he rated ladson as good as dale morris), and he doesnt rate thorp at all. Said he will be heading down delist road very shortly.
    Gold Coast bound I feel, he was one of Clayton's fabourites.
    'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• mighty_west
      • Feb 2008

What would Mitch Thorp add to our list apart from another develping all, and we have enough of those coming through in Cords, Jones, Boumann, Grant, Roughead & Everitt.

We would be in the market for a tall forward this is ready to play NOW, and if Thorp was ready, he'd play in the Hawks team this year, unless he's been injured all year????

Kenny McGregor was one that was linked to us as well, and he is well & truly gone, another bullet dodged.

• Pedro Sanchez
        • Jan 2008

What about the 2 Beau's that play at the Hawks - does anyone think they have game? Anyway I think if we jag Hall for a couple of seasons it will ride nicely with our young KPs coming through now - Cordy, Roughy, Grant and Bouy.

Mitch should be calling Fantasia on a weekly basis. A club that is looking for a tall, and a talented kid behind two of the best tall forwards in the AFL. If he doesn't make a move, he is also on his way to football oblivion.
          I have seen him a couple of times and I don't think he can recover and improve enough to be a key forward. At best a tall defenders spot might work for him.
          I hope he proves me wrong but he has been disappointing.

I have seen him a couple of times and I don't think he can recover and improve enough to be a key forward. At best a tall defenders spot might work for him.
            I hope he proves me wrong but he has been disappointing.
            His development has been very poor, and that also means his price tag is reduced. I think he needs to do a Farren and walk away and hope he can find improvement in a new club, either back or forward, but another season at Hawthorn would be the end of his career.

Originally posted by Mofra
              Glad you didn't mention Tim Boyle to be honest.

Interesting question though - do you think Robertson would be getting a game for us at the moment?
              no I think he's done . Looks overweight goes to ground to often, I also reckon there might be outside influences now [so called music career]

• Topdog

Good thing we don't listen to some of our fans at times I guess.

• Desipura

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                  Some players are really dumb.

A few years back Fergus Watts wanted to come back to Melboure so he picks St. Kilda because he baracked for them as a kid. They already dad Riewoldt, Koschitzke and Gehrig and now he's playing metro footy.

Campbell should have simply walked out on Freo last year. he'll spend another year in the WAFL next year before oblivion. Tim Boyle will never be heard from again.

If I was Mitch Thorp, I would be asking for out.
                  Totally agree and Thorp was the one I wanted last season.

• Dancin' Douggy

Pavlich must have had an absolute gutfull of playing for that lame rabble.
                    I would love to make a serious pitch for him.

• Topdog

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
                      He is someone I would seriously give up anyone in our team for.

Did we chase Kepler Bradley?

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
                          During the last qtr today, well yesterday looking at the time...i said to Matty he should come and wear a bulldogs jumper next year, he heard, kinda looked over, smiled then looked at the jumper he was wearing, it was like he was thinking, can i swap jumpers now please hahah.

Id have Matty in our team any day of the week.

• The Pie Man

Originally posted by minson27
                            During the last qtr today, well yesterday looking at the time...i said to Matty he should come and wear a bulldogs jumper next year, he heard, kinda looked over, smiled then looked at the jumper he was wearing, it was like he was thinking, can i swap jumpers now please hahah.

Id have Matty in our team any day of the week.
                            Almost anyone in our team - we'd have our limits, but Pav at the Dogs would be a dream

I just re-read an earlier post of mine and I mentioned 'Colin Miller' instead of Brad Miller, thanks for being classy guys and not drawing attention to it

The only reason I'm bringing it up is I want your thoughts on Hale, Miller & McGuire as possible targets over the summer.

• Topdog

Brad Miller is more of a lead up HF much like Murphy, except Murphy is better so no for Miller.

Hale has never really come on and I believe is 25. He is the kind of player I wouldn't mind going after, someone who hasn't realised their potenttal but has the ability.

McGuire I'm not sure how old he is but he'd have to be pushing 30 by now. If so I'd stay clear.

Originally posted by Topdog

McGuire I'm not sure how old he is but he'd have to be pushing 30 by now. If so I'd stay clear.
                                He's 25 actually.