Re: 2010 Fixture - Snippets (Herald Sun)

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
    Why on earth would they schedule Collingwood to be Johnnos 350th?

Our home game against Collingwood will sell out anyway.

They could have made it against Richmond or North and turned a 30-35,000 crowd into a 35-40,000.

Instead they've turned a 47,000 crowd into a 47,500 crowd (a few extra on level 2).

Why don't we play our home games against Collingwood at the G anyway?
    Because the club knows I like my front row seat at Etihad for our home games! Its bad enough losing a few to interstate as it is, replacement games don't guarantee replacement front row seats and home games at the MCG don't either.

• BulldogBelle

Each year when the fixture comes out, I pull out the family diary and stick in the games, then the missus knows not to arrange anything for those days
      I do the same but......

I have two close family weddings to attend which are happening in June next year (consecutive weeks) I am waiting to see the draw on Friday to see which days our matches fall on. Unfortunately, in this instance I can't plan around the weddings.

An article in The Age on Brendan Gale and Richmond's draw, comments at the end that the Bulldogs will be rewarded with their consistency with 5 Friday Night games Great opportunity to get our brand our their across Australia.

• Missing Dog

The article also says we will be playing Richmond on Easter Sunday at the G as an away game.

What we know
            Round 1 home game against Collingwood at Ethiad
            Two games against Sydney (Sydney and Canberra)
            5 Friday night games
            Only one game each against St Kilda and Geelong

Likely but TBC
            A home game against Richmond
            An away game against Collingwood
            A Darwin game againsst Port Adelaide
            Possibly one game in WA and another in SA

Originally posted by dogs_r_barking
              What we know
              5 Friday night games
              10 Sunday games including 4 twilight games (one in Adel) - TCD

Likely but TBC
              Edited.

Originally posted by dogs_r_barking
                What we know
                5 Friday night games

Likely but TBC
                The only top four side the Tigers play twice is St.Kilda.

• soupman

Originally posted by Ozza
                  I must say - personally - I'm very happy we have heaps of Sunday and Night games. Saturday arvo is the only time I can't watch footy - and I suspect there a few more on this site in the same boat.
                  Me too. If I'm playing reserves I can usually make it if I rush but even then I only make it in time for the end of the 2nd quarter/half time. The last two matches I did it for were the West Coast one (I rocked up and we were 0.11 halfway through the 2nd quarter) and the Freo one (I rocked up at halftime and sat through the most boring second half of the year. I've only been to one game that has been more boring and that was against Melbourne last year).

• Ozza

Originally posted by soupaman
                    Me too. If I'm playing reserves I can usually make it if I rush but even then I only make it in time for the end of the 2nd quarter/half time. The last two matches I did it for were the West Coast one (I rocked up and we were 0.11 halfway through the 2nd quarter) and the Freo one (I rocked up at halftime and sat through the most boring second half of the year. I've only been to one game that has been more boring and that was against Melbourne last year).
                    At least you missed the most frustrating 50 minutes of football you are ever likely to be subjected to!!

Personally whilst my ideal time is Sunday arvo at 2 - I'm not too fussed about Twilight games. Sure its not as good as a 2pm game - but there's not much going on on a Sunday between 5 & 8 anyways!

Originally posted by BulldogBelle
                      I do the same but......

I have two close family weddings to attend which are happening in June next year (consecutive weeks) I am waiting to see the draw on Friday to see which days our matches fall on. Unfortunately, in this instance I can't plan around the weddings.
                      Having said that, Easter time my daughter will once more compete in the Australian Kayak Marathon Championships, in Adelaide next year, so we will head over.

• BulldogBelle

Having said that, Easter time my daughter will once more compete in the Australian Kayak Marathon Championships, in Adelaide next year, so we will head over.
                        Good luck with that BAD, your daughter will appreciate the support no doubt.

We live by the fixture and we die by the fixture.

Well, according to the paper today there'll be 6 Monday/Thursday night games next year. Even worse than Sunday twilight games!! I think the AFL are thinking about TV ratings rather than the supporters who actually attend the games. What part of country supporters having to travel, people having to work, students having to go to school or young children having to go to bed don't they understand?

Originally posted by Suz 32
                            Well, according to the paper today there'll be 6 Monday/Thursday night games next year. Even worse than Sunday twilight games!! I think the AFL are thinking about TV ratings rather than the supporters who actually attend the games. What part of country supporters having to travel, people having to work, students having to go to school or young children having to go to bed don't they understand?
                            Your first mistake is that you think that the AFL would care about anything other than itself.
                            Your second mistake is thinking that they have the ability to understand anything.

This is why I don't go to the games very often. It just does not fit in with our lives.