Game Day - R1 Western Bulldogs vs Collingwood
Re: Game Day - R1 Western Bulldogs vs Collingwood
Didn't get to the game today (and safe to say I won't be watching the replay) but I'm not surprised that our defensive pressure has been listed as one of the main reasons we were so poor today.
I know it's a long year but statements made at the start of the season set the tone for the remainder of that season. If our players were self-satisfied with a successful pre-season campaign and did not turn up with the necessary defensive frame of mind today (as has been alluded to), that is really disappointing. Conceding 8 goals in our first qtr of football for the year, and 33 scoring shots for the match, are numbers that would have our coaching staff tearing their hair out. Disappointing that we got into a shootout with a well-drilled team - we rarely beat even half-decent teams (ie: Carlton) when adopting such a game style. Hopefully we can find that balance between breakneck attack and uncompromising defence in the coming weeks."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Totally agree, we are not a 6 goal worse side than the Pies! I think today was perhaps in part a total reality check for all of us? Did the boys get a little bit ahead of themselves in their headspace? I guess the proof for all of us will be the way the group rebound, next week, and the week after, etc., etc. It was disappointing to start the season this way - I guess I don't have to worry too much about basking in euphoria or keeping a lid on it anymore!
It's just down to normal business, toughnin it out as a dedicated dog supporter!
Good point about lack of tackling - I guess it is all part of a lack of intensity/confidence.Does anyone know what the clearances were like?
I was at the game and everytime it looked like we were going to get a clearance, we just fumbled it and the pies pounced on the footy and made us pay big time! And what happened to the tackling pressure that we applied SO WELL in our nab cup matches! There was minimal today...
We were our own worst enemy this arvo imo...
I didn't like having Huddo, Willy and Hall all on together esp as Willy had a shocker. Made us too slow
Tommy had a shocker too - one of the commentators picked up that he was not playing with confidence. Shaggy and Harbrow disappointing but so were most of them.
Good to get that one out of the way.Comment
Actually 6 goals flattered us. They missed a lot of sitters.Comment
Not having a go but I did laugh...it was only his kicking, marking and handball that let him down then?What should I tell her? She's going to ask.Comment
Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
I find Everitt a concern, to me he doesn't look a defender. OP say he did a reasonable job and that may be so, but he was just as guilty of letting the collingwood players be free in attack.
I think if we are going to play Dre, he would be far better being in the position to make space or lead up for the ball. I think the HF line would be better for him.Don't piss off old people
The older we get the less "LIFE IN PRISON" is a deterrent...Comment
Gia played - not sure it is a personnel issue as our forward line defensive pressure in the NAB cup final was fantastic
I wonder whether our guys thought the same thing - the defense seemed very lost and unsure of themselves without him
There were a lot of soft goals from a very disorganised defenseI know you can't tell much from 2 minutes of highlights, but Collingwood seemed to kick a number of 'soft' goals. I guess once I have seen the game I can look for the lead up work, but it seemd Didak and Davis were un-apposed on quite a few occassions.
Never good to lose the first one, but there is still plenty of time to re-find our mojo.
Quelled Pendlebury early too - not the worstIf you kicked five goals and Tom Boyd kicked five goals, Tom Boyd kicked more goals than you.
Formerly gogriffComment
I was very disappointed with Higgins today. Most worringly, i saw him take too many easy options and short steps, when he needed to really attack the contest and assert himself. Really didnt like what i saw. Not sure if anyone else saw the same thing.
I was very critical of Everitt being played down back, but in fairness, i thought that he did relatively well. Would love to see him played forward of centre though. He looked very dangerous when he had the ball on the wing and running forward.Comment
I know how bad it sounds, but really two of those are usually a lot better, and the signs were there. It wasn't the actual results that were encouraging, but his positioning, his ability and willingness to go for those marks, and whilst he didn't execute well I always felt like he was on the verge of making a good piece of play.
What I mean is that, unlike a lot of other players today, he looked like he was going to do something to our favour nearly everytime he was around the footy, unfortunately his disposal was lacking. I think if things had of gone his way a bit more today, just in terms of holding his marks (which he is usually good at) and disposal by foot (which he has been complimented on this very site about) he would have been classified as having a good game.
The signs are there.I should leave it alone but you're not rightComment
Not overly concerned even though that was a poor performane. We were down in a lot of areas and i was just waiting for us to go up a gear or two but it never happened. I can't understand how we can average 60+ tackles in the NAB cup but only muster up 46 tackles when the real stuff comes along.
Just didn't work hard enough defensively and we were just woeful in defense. Can't remember Harbrow playing as bad as that. Tommy Tommy Tommy that was awful mate. hell i don't think any of our defenders would have got a pass mark.
Murphy i thought was clearly our best, didn't waste a possie. Hudson was good value.
Everitt gets to many pats on the back on this forum. He wasn't crap but i wouldn't have him in our best and everytime he gets the ball i have my heart in my mouth. There is so much to like about him but he just does not do it for me. Nowhere near our best 22 at the minute.
Barry Hall had tunnel vision a couple of times in that 2nd half when he could have easily passed it off to a team mate in a better spot but chose to go himself and waste some oppourtunities. Because we won the NAB cup i think people are expecting too much. Its still going to take time for us to get used to Hall and vise versa.
As long as we get enough wins to get us a top 4 spot then thats all that matters and once there our team is good enough to take from there.Comment
Everitt is taking some good steps forward. You can see a few areas that are being coached into him that he struggling with though. His decision making isn't very fluid, he almost comes to a complete stop before he decides what to do, particularly if the first option isn't there. Stuff like moving the ball on quickly or giving quick hands off at the stoppage he just hasn't got right yet.
The good sign is, that he is giving it a go whereas he could be hanging out and not getting involved.Time and Tide Waits For No ManComment
A bad day for the dogs, lack of intensity and a glove. Some of our weaker links were showed up today. Addison needed to make more of the opportunity and although I am a big fan, Minson should have a rest for Roughy against the tiges. We had a lot of momentum in the third and should have been ahead but we couldnt make it count on the scoreboard, then they kicked the last 3 which killed us going into the last change.
A reality check yes, Johno underdone yes, but I hear that Gia, Aker and Harbrow all were suffering symptoms of the Morris viral strain. They certainly looked like it on the day. Across the ground we were playing well under our best, except for Will who probably rated in the pies best players.Comment