If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
I had a mate text me at 3 quarter time. He was watching the game on tv and he said it was like watching a Melbourne Victory game, where are all the goals? Made me laugh.
It's boring and stupid. And it's outsmarted us, yet again.
With some of our players, it doesn't take much to outsmart them unfortunately.
Originally posted by Rocco Jones
I would cop any type of Dogs footy that gets the results as much as Saints Footy.
Didn't do them much good in the GF last year.
Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
I'm not certain it was Saints footy that won it for them tonight. I reckon there would be a number of other teams out there that if in the position we were in with 12 minutes left would've either taken the opportunities that presented and or would not have made the critical errors that allowed the Saints to score.
Not at Etihad. The Pies have lost twice to them this year (NAB cup and round 3) in very similar games. That game plan doesn't work quite as well outdoors or on the larger grounds like AAMI, Subiaco or more importantly, the MCG.
I agree Flamey, that style of game is very Taxing, doesnt work to well on the bigger grounds. I suspect though without Reiwoldt, they will play more of that style of game, Shame, Shame. They cannot depensd on Kosi, he is a crab. Cost them the game last week, dropped a sitter in the square.
Everyone knows that saying of how you go for two teams - your team and whoever's playing <insert hated team/country> yeah?
I sort of morphed into that last night - I was probably more passionate about St Kilda losing than us winning....though the comforting thought of 'well at least we'll bank the 4 points' did persist throughout the game.
So once the points were dropped, about 30% of my issues are with Grant/Gia et al and the other 70% is with that god awful style of footy that just did not deserve to get rewarded.
Poor kid sitting in front of me near the standing room was balling his eyes out after that game - and I haven't seen a group of adults (us - as in WB fans) so shaken and stunned to lose a game of footy...the prelim hurt but it was in the balance, and I wasn't nervous last night until Armitage kicked his goal...the bitterness of last night will linger until first bounce vs Melbourne (who are currently getting a reality check at the hands of North)
To borrow part of a Terry Wallace phrase, if we end up missing a top 4 spot by one game, I'll spew up
I hate St Kilda
Last edited by The Pie Man; 01-05-2010, 03:28 PM.
Reason: clarifying who I meant by 'us'
Wondering what Andrew Demetriou is thinking with viewers turning off the product in droves Friday night!I know Lyon is just in the business of winning,but the AFL would be worried if the consumer stops watching out of frustration.The new rights deal on the table could be interesting times.
However, what's the point in playing pretty and losing all the time? I'm not saying I want us to carbon copy St. Kilda's game plan, but IMHO we need to devise a different one to the free flowing stuff that breaks down in big games/moments.
In all seriousness, if we won the flag this year, how many would follow the AFL as vigorously next season?
I was having this conversation with someone the other day, and given all the inequalities in the game and new teams, the draw, the stadium deals, everything...if the Bulldogs won the flag this year, I would just about stop following the AFL.
The game's administrators care more about profit than the product, although the 2 should be directly linked together.