• Ozza

Re: Round 14 - WOOF Selection Table

In: Ward; Williams; Higgins
    Out: Hill, Stack, Eagleton.

I think its fairly clear that those three aren't in our full strength best 22. I like Stack but he isn't getting much of the ball and hasn't for a while.
    Hill has his moments - but has been around for long enough now to know what is required in terms of intensity - and his lack there of will cost him his spot.
    Eagle cashed in when the game was over yesterday - but wasn't sighted in the first half.

Everitt is still pretty unlucky to be missing out. But I'm sure an opportunity will present itself again.

Was great to see Johnno back out there today. Was a good hitout for him.

Originally posted by Ozza

I think its fairly clear that those three aren't in our full strength best 22. I like Stack but he isn't getting much of the ball and hasn't for a while.
      Hill has his moments - but has been around for long enough now to know what is required in terms of intensity - and his lack there of will cost him his spot.
      Eagle cashed in when the game was over yesterday - but wasn't sighted in the first half.

Everitt is still pretty unlucky to be missing out. But I'm sure an opportunity will present itself again.

Was great to see Johnno back out there today. Was a good hitout for him.
      I agree with those changes.

Williams will add some flexibility if we want (need) to throw Lake forward. If Tom isn't right Everitt probably has to come in. Perhaps they might use Hahn in the swing-man role, but I think we need an extra big body in there as well.

Eagleton had just 5 of his 20 touches in the first half and only got into the game when we got on top. With some tough games coming up that output just isn't good enough.

Hill & Stack just aren't doing enough.

Originally posted by Ozza
        Hard to argue against those changes. Ideally I'd like to keep Hill in for a little bit of X factor, but as Johnno gains form and if one of Higgins/Ward plays forward at all times (as you'd expect after a layoff) we should make up in X factor what we gain in class.

Harbrow may be pushed forward at times against the Hawks if Picken goes to Cyril.
        A medium rebounder (Hargrave, Wood, Murphy) can take Osborne as one of the keys to generating some run from the backline; Franklin and Cyril demand pure stoppers and even on current form Roughy can be dangerous if not respected.

• always right

Don't see Harbrow as a forward yet but I liked what i saw on Sunday when he ran through the midfield. With Wood and Murphy going back and Grant looking good up forward, we might see Harbrow spend more time in the middle.

I'd have Murph on Rioli when he goes forward and Picken on him in the middle. Liking the look of Easton. With those Ablett snr-like thighs, I reckon he's going to do some serious damage to an opponent one match. Like the way he takes the game on also...even though he makes mistakes. Has leapfrogged Addison IMO for that fringe spot in the team.

Thought Shaggy looked a lot better yesterday...in fact our entire backline was excellent.
          Last edited by always right; 21-06-2010, 01:18 PM.
          I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• always right

Originally posted by Mofra
            Hard to argue against those changes. Ideally I'd like to keep Hill in for a little bit of X factor, but as Johnno gains form and if one of Higgins/Ward plays forward at all times (as you'd expect after a layoff) we should make up in X factor what we gain in class.

Harbrow may be pushed forward at times against the Hawks if Picken goes to Cyril.
            A medium rebounder (Hargrave, Wood, Murphy) can take Osborne as one of the keys to generating some run from the backline; Franklin and Cyril demand pure stoppers and even on current form Roughy can be dangerous if not respected.
            Agree...but there comes a time when you need to choose between a player with the X-factor and a player you can build your plans around, knowing what you are going to get.

Originally posted by always right
              Thought Shaggy looked a lot better yesterday...in fact our entire backline was excellent.
              They held up well in the first when West Coast were getting their fair share of the ball, but had it pretty easy when we seized control in the 2nd half. The fact that WC had just 11 I50's after half time proves that the supply well and truly dried up.

• always right

Originally posted by Mantis
                They held up well in the first when West Coast were getting their fair share of the ball, but had it pretty easy when we seized control in the 2nd half. The fact that WC had just 11 I50's after half time proves that the supply well and truly dried up.
                Agree...just liked the way Shaggy, Wood, Murphy and Gilbee were running off half back through the middle....with Morris cleaning up anything that got through.

Originally posted by always right
                  Agree...just liked the way Shaggy, Wood, Murphy and Gilbee were running off half back through the middle....with Morris cleaning up anything that got through.
                  Yep, it was good to see that we had a number of options to create some drive from defence as we have been too reliant on Harbrow for much of the season thus far.

Originally posted by becmatty
                    As for the Eaglton bashing, take a look through the archives and you will find that many posters are highly critical of him with constant and repetitive calls for his axing. The 'offenders' names are listed above their postings and i am sure you have the detective skills to work this one out mate.
                    It's unfair you you to call it 'Eagle bashing' when many people have made reasoned cases for Eagleton to be dropped and for good reason.

Originally posted by hujsh
                      It's unfair you you to call it 'Eagle bashing' when many people have made reasoned cases for Eagleton to be dropped and for good reason.
                      Yep, 'becmatty' is having real trouble differentiating between 'bashing' and reasoned posting.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
                        • Oct 2009

Originally posted by Mantis
                        I agree with those changes.

Williams will add some flexibility if we want (need) to throw Lake forward. If Tom isn't right Everitt probably has to come in. Perhaps they might use Hahn in the swing-man role, but I think we need an extra big body in there as well.

Eagleton had just 5 of his 20 touches in the first half and only got into the game when we got on top. With some tough games coming up that output just isn't good enough.

Hill & Stack just aren't doing enough.
                        Agree with your thoughts on Hill and Stack. There seems to be a reluctance to play Everitt by the match committee. We shouldn't discount Akermanis who is still good enough to be in our best 22. At the risk of being howled down I thought Johnno apart from his two goals yesterday looked very underdone. The emergence of Grant and now Wood together with the recruitment of Hall would suggest that we should be better than last year. Harbrow was a revelation on the ball yesterday and should be retained in the midfield. Hawthorn will be a good test to see whether we have advanced on 2009.

• Bulldog Revolution

Wood, Hargrave, and Muprhy have been injected to the backline recently, and Williams has gone out for a week and will be selected when available.

Hahn whilst perhaps getting a bit more involved against the Eagles is struggling. I think Everitt could be adding more in the utility role he is playing.

Whilst I think Stack is improving its a gradual process and Ward or Reid would add more clearance ability to the team, midfield run, and more footy smarts, but not necessarily the same forward presence, but if Johno gets fitter, and Hill does more lead up work like he did sunday then I think we can cover it.

In: Williams, Everitt, Ward
                          Out: Hahn, Stack, Eagleton

• Desipura

Nobody can say that Stack has not been given opportunities to prove himself at AFL level. If nothing else, getting games into him gives him more experience, and should make him realise how hard he needs to work.
                            It also gives us more depth should we cop an injury to a forward at the business end of the season.
                            Having said that, he would want to show some more improvement as he has hardly grabbed his opportunity.

• BornInDroopSt'54

Originally posted by becmatty
                              Thanks for the advice Mantis, but I think I'll carry on speaking if that is okay with you.

I apologised for wrongly assuming someone hated Eagleton, if you don't mind.

As for the Eaglton bashing, take a look through the archives and you will find that many posters are highly critical of him with constant and repetitive calls for his axing. The 'offenders' names are listed above their postings and i am sure you have the detective skills to work this one out mate.
                              Bravo. Stated with two great human attributes, Poise and Dignity as opposed to two human vices, Pride and Prejudice.
                              Mantis you are clearly intelligent and articulate yet frequently show an inability to reflect on your own prejudice against Eagleton. Yours is not the nasty prejudice that likes to see the blood of a weakened victim. But yours is the prejudice that is powered by your own pride in your prejudice that Eagleton does not meet your standards. Even though Eade and the professional opinion of our club is that you are wrong and that Eagleton meets the standards of the club and the needs of the team, you think no, they are wrong, I am right (pride). All you need to do is question your standards: "maybe I don't know the full picture, maybe I don't know as much as the professionals????" It;s not strange to other people that maybe that's true. Hey maybe you, as I and everyone else, has prejudices, but maybe others take more responsibility for theirs and temper them, whereas you go full pelt at them like your opinions are infallible.
                              Eagleton offers a lot to the side or else he wouldn't be in it.
                              Footscray Football Republic.

Originally posted by Desipura
                                Nobody can say that Stack has not been given opportunities to prove himself at AFL level. If nothing else, getting games into him gives him more experience, and should make him realise how hard he needs to work.
                                It also gives us more depth should we cop an injury to a forward at the business end of the season.
                                Having said that, he would want to show some more improvement as he has hardly grabbed his opportunity.
                                He only had six disposals this week, been though he kicked a couple. Needed to do more in the first three quarters. At least he has had some game time and valuable experience.

I thought Hill was also very poor and also lucky to hold his spot. Hahn played a better game and looked ok in the backline against weak opposition.