The Footy Show
Re: The Footy Show
I think anyone who says Rose came out better than Aker was watching some other Footy show in an alternate reality. Aker won in the Court of Public Opinion. Easily!!
One MAJOR reason why Aker came out looking better than Rose is because IMO Rose looked like every bit the A-hole boss in a suit giving an employee the arse. Rose achieved this by being evasive, and by not being specific about any of the details. He just kept repeating the tired, scripted and rehearsed line that "the club and players no longer trusted Aker". Rose didn't actually say anything more than that. Why go on the show!!!!! And his feeble "my son wears Aker's number" was just embarrasing.
Everyone knows someone or- maybe first hand- who's got the arse because of an A-hole boss, and Rose played that part magnificently.
IMO Aker did Rose over by challenging him with "which players, you wanna see the text messages". He also called Rose on the fact that he had done everything the club had asked of him when playing at Willi, and asked why did they make him go through punishing his body, when they had already decided to sack him. Rose replied by saying he has little to do with the actual football department. playing list and team selection, his role was marketing, budgeting etc. So why the F was he there talking to Aker? Aker was also successfull in describing the sacking as an ambush by a pack of gutless administrators, people who wouldn't even look him the eye. Rose's manner, tone, and club role did nothing to dispel that.
Why the club sent in an administrator; bean counter, and spin doctor to go against Aker is beyond me. Smorgo should been there with Johno as the captain beside him, but IMO the club should not have been there in the first place.
Aker came across as an ordinary bloke who just wanted to play football. He connected with the salt of the earth "ordinary" footy fan. And he "stuck it to the man" by telling him to "piss off" to boot.
Not the Clubs finest hour.Comment
I don't agree. But even if I am wrong, it was more like 5 minutes rather than an hour. However, I am sure it doesn't matter. I have seen more anger on this board about Everitt not getting a game. As for the opinions of supporters from other teams, "Well frankly my dear, I don't give a damn". And I am pretty confident, neither does the club.The Angels have the phone box. [SIZE="2"]Don't blink![/SIZE]Comment
Despite all his onfield success, I believe Aker will always be the kid with acne who had has dad walk out on him deep down inside.Comment
We have two new players to market the club next year...
Liberatore + Wallis...........Comment
I think there's a lot of truth in that. But i don't hold it agianst him. IMO its a big reason for all the confused boys we have in our a society as wellComment
I think anyone who says Rose came out better than Aker was watching some other Footy show in an alternate reality. Aker won in the Court of Public Opinion. Easily!!
One MAJOR reason why Aker came out looking better than Rose is because IMO Rose looked like every bit the A-hole boss in a suit giving an employee the arse. Rose achieved this by being evasive, and by not being specific about any of the details. He just kept repeating the tired, scripted and rehearsed line that "the club and players no longer trusted Aker". Rose didn't actually say anything more than that. Why go on the show!!!!! And his feeble "my son wears Aker's number" was just embarrasing.
Everyone knows someone or- maybe first hand- who's got the arse because of an A-hole boss, and Rose played that part magnificently.
IMO Aker did Rose over by challenging him with "which players, you wanna see the text messages". He also called Rose on the fact that he had done everything the club had asked of him when playing at Willi, and asked why did they make him go through punishing his body, when they had already decided to sack him. Rose replied by saying he has little to do with the actual football department. playing list and team selection, his role was marketing, budgeting etc. So why the F was he there talking to Aker? Aker was also successfull in describing the sacking as an ambush by a pack of gutless administrators, people who wouldn't even look him the eye. Rose's manner, tone, and club role did nothing to dispel that.
Why the club sent in an administrator; bean counter, and spin doctor to go against Aker is beyond me. Smorgo should been there with Johno as the captain beside him, but IMO the club should not have been there in the first place.
Aker came across as an ordinary bloke who just wanted to play football. He connected with the salt of the earth "ordinary" footy fan. And he "stuck it to the man" by telling him to "piss off" to boot.
Not the Clubs finest hour.
This was a turning point, where Rose could have finished the whole segment by saying thanks but no thanks, Aker if you HAVE any messages then I would not want you to lose the trust of the only players left on the list. Quickly followed by a nice little YOU JUST DONT GET IT MATE!!!!Comment
For me it comes down to who do I trust. Smorgon, Eade, Johnson, at least the vast majority of players, Darcy etc. or Aker? Let's see, a man who brought this club back from the brink of death (just about), a coach who has taken us to 4/6 finals series (after this year), our club game record holder/AA captain/the epitome of loyalty, a bunch of guys who had to put up with him all the time and a former club captain, or Aker, the guy who whether he admits it or not, got kicked out of two clubs. It's a toughy, I must say
That Footy Show interview proved to me why I love players like Morris, Boyd, Hargrave and so on. Some of the things he said were just disgusting. For starters he tells our CEO to piss off (in jest or not, I believe the latter), accuses Johnno of conspiring against him, takes a cheap shot at a club legend in Smith, basically compares the VFL to some sort of hell hole, that telling a 'mate' club secrets is OK (after we were led to believe it was 'overheard')...and these Aker-lovers reckon we should keep this bloke? Turn it up. He only believes in on field trust, but what he fails to understand is that it is a whole lot easier to respect someone on field if you respect (but not necessarily like) them off field. This is true on every level of sport, hell, I'm sure it's true in any workplace where you work in a team. He is simply deluded. He was clearly a great player, but when the negatives have long outweighed the positives (think of it this way, Dale Morris is only 2 goals behind him this season, scary thought), it's time to say good-bye. I only wish he'd retired last year.
Edit- This is not directed at anyone, just needed to ventComment
[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment
Is there anything more serious than a loss of trust? I don't think we should underplay jsut how important trust is in a team. Its not some small insignificant factor, but pretty much the essence of what being in a team is about. To me it seems that the media has trivialised the issue of trust when in reality it is central to team cohesion. I think what this whole episode does is provide an example of just how important trust is to a group.
As for your comment's on Rose I think they are wide of the mark.
On C. Rose, they're just my opinions. Right or wrong, that's how he comes across to me.[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment
I would have liked to have said nothing at all and avoided the shit storm and publicity this pathetic show got but if we went that way we would have been bagged even more. Throw anyone else out there and they would have been ambushed like Campbell Rose was tonight. Rose was the best guy for the job. He knew what he should or shouldn't say and didn't get caught up in the dribble Aker and Same were spewing out through the whole segment.[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment