The Footy Show
Re: The Footy Show
Sorry for imposing, but the whole Akermanis sacking led me to the club website. After sifting through various Aker related links I ventured upon some intersting videos, Bulldogs cribs which I think is a great idea from the club and it's young hosts.
Next thing I stumbled across were the Hall of Fame videos, our own Bob Murphy embodying evrything we as a club stand for. Then Charlie's inspirational speech, full of fight and passion despite his age.
But what stood out for me the most was when he was questioned, which is your favourite player? His response was and is what all Bulldog supporters should consider before
hanging the club out to dry and threaten with the memberships.
It's the team that will be a success, not an individual.You don't develop courage by being happy in your relationships every day. You develop it by surviving difficult times and challenging adversity. ― EpicurusComment
All this talk about rules and processes and how Geelong or other teams have stronger leadership and etc etc is irrelevant just forget it all.
This is AKER we are talking about.
We have no idea if ANY type of leadership group or any club could handle him.
I think it's a case of 'give him enough rope..........'
He starts well but eventually people just seem to have a gutfull.
He lost the team at Brisbane. They had strong leadership I would have thought?
He lost the team at the Dogs who I believe have strong leadership.
Now he's in the public arena, support for him is already starting to slip.
A poll in the Age today is running at 49.8% support for the clubs decision.(28,675 votes)
Thats already a massive turn around in 3 days.
The more Aker blabs on, the more he unwittingly reveals his duplicity.
Now there is no 1 great sin, but as Leigh Matthews says its death by a thousand cuts.
Another thing. Aker says he was sacked for stuff he hasn't even written yet, but other people involved in the book say some of his current team mates don't come out looking too good.
(or words to that effect)
I'm pretty sad about the whole thing, but the more Aker blabs on, the more I think to myself,
no wonder they kicked you out.
His attack on Rohan Smith was pathetic.
Isn't Rohan allowed to say things in the media? Aker?
Smithy wasn't even attacking Aker.
All he said was 'it'll be sad if he's remembered for the sackings and not the great player he was."
By the way Jason, I will remember Rohan Smith.
Now piss off (only joking)Comment
All this talk about rules and processes and how Geelong or other teams have stronger leadership and etc etc is irrelevant just forget it all.
This is AKER we are talking about.
We have no idea if ANY type of leadership group or any club could handle him.
I think it's a case of 'give him enough rope..........'
He starts well but eventually people just seem to have a gutfull.
He lost the team at Brisbane. They had strong leadership I would have thought?
He lost the team at the Dogs who I believe have strong leadership.
Now he's in the public arena, support for him is already starting to slip.
A poll in the Age today is running at 49.8% support for the clubs decision.(28,675 votes)
Thats already a massive turn around in 3 days.
The more Aker blabs on, the more he unwittingly reveals his duplicity.
Now there is no 1 great sin, but as Leigh Matthews says its death by a thousand cuts.
Another thing. Aker says he was sacked for stuff he hasn't even written yet, but other people involved in the book say some of his current team mates don't come out looking too good.
(or words to that effect)
I'm pretty sad about the whole thing, but the more Aker blabs on, the more I think to myself,
no wonder they kicked you out.
His attack on Rohan Smith was pathetic.
Isn't Rohan allowed to say things in the media? Aker?
Smithy wasn't even attacking Aker.
All he said was 'it'll be sad if he's remembered for the sackings and not the great player he was."
By the way Jason, I will remember Rohan Smith.
Now piss off (only joking)Last edited by Ghost Dog; 24-07-2010, 11:24 AM.You don't develop courage by being happy in your relationships every day. You develop it by surviving difficult times and challenging adversity. ― EpicurusComment
Not one for poles in the paper, as a small minority seem to ring in a dozen times each.
I wonder how many of the voters are members of their respective clubs.
Not sure but IMO the Doggies have the members vote (all be it not unanimous}.
Can we have one on Woof ?
That would be a poll that matters.It's better to die on our feet than live on our knees.Comment
That's a disgraceful thing to say about one of our own! I'd hang my head in shame if I thought something like that. If I SAID something like that about a bloke who faced the media and took the bullets from the imbecile brigade on behalf of the club and did it so well I would be ashamed of myself. But then that's me-you can think what you like.
Call me naive, call me gullible, call me worse if you want, but at the end of that segment, I felt Aker to be the more believable, and the Club to have added NOTHING more to the information already presented
Yes, I'm peeved. I did laugh when he shook Rose's hand at the end (which I'd have struggled to do) and then said "Now piss off"...
And you're laughing along with these morons? Good for you mate! Laugh until your sides hurt.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
That's a disgraceful thing to say about one of our own! I'd hang my head in shame if I thought something like that. If I SAID something like that about a bloke who faced the media and took the bullets from the imbecile brigade on behalf of the club and did it so well I would be ashamed of myself. But then that's me-you can think what you like.
OK, you're naive, You're gullible and you've bought into the snivelling pathetic act that Aker and Sam put on fully. Do you remember what Sam said about one of our own not so long ago when he laid the boots into Susan Alberti. Still you choose who you want to believe.
Had a laugh did you? What exactly was funny about it? Was it Aker's lack of class or was it the denigration of a man who has saved our footy club from financial disaster and the had the guts to go on defend the club's decision against a bunch of idiotic bogan morons.[COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]Comment
Had a laugh did you? What exactly was funny about it? Was it Aker's lack of class or was it the denigration of a man who has saved our footy club from financial disaster and the had the guts to go on defend the club's decision against a bunch of idiotic bogan morons.
And you're laughing along with these morons? Good for you mate! Laugh until your sides hurt.
Anyway, I'll do a collective quote from many here and say let's "Move on"[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment
Aker is never going to struggle for support in a society that forces the election debate to another time for a reality TV show.
You'll never go broke appealing to the lowest common denominator.Comment