• Ghost Dog
    • May 2010

Re: Channel One Tonight - Year of the Dog Doco

I dont and I never have. Sure the manner of his departure was messy but it came at the right time and in my opinion Wallace is still one of the greats of our club. He gave 100% as a player and a coach over nearly 15 years.

As a player he never left anything on the field and as a coach he took as from an underacheiving self doubting group of individuals to a coherent successful team. We were good for him and he was good for us.

I hold Terry Wallace in very high regard and I'm grateful for the contribution he made to us.
    Id' like to see him at the club sometime. That would be fitting.

• Maddog37
      • Nov 2010

First time I have seen any of the doco. The things that stood out to me were how underrated bubba smith was and how young johno looked yet still shuffled when he ran.

Off field wise, I could nt believe the amount of schlongs on show and just how totally in love with the camera Terry Wallace was. The man should have been an actor.

Originally posted by Doc26
        Largely based on what went down with Wallace's departure I will find it very hard to categorise him as one of our Greats, not close, although prior to his exit I was more than pleased to be a part of the spoils that he no doubt contributed to. During his time he did play a significant part in elevating the Club's standing even if he did eventually sell us out for personal reward.

btw Did have a laugh listening to Greg Denham last week claiming that Wallace really never had a good chance at Richmond because they didn't have the finances to pull together a decent football department, the primary reason he was giving at the time for leaving the Bulldogs.
        Also refused the Hawks job because Richmond had a better list.... then there was Sydney..

Originally posted by Greystache
          This film also has to make you admire Chris Grant even more (if possible), he had an opportunity to leave a crumbling disaster of a club, for more money, and to go to what was supposed to the new superpower of the AFL, yet he stayed anyway.
          And this makes him simply the greatest man alive.

• BornInDroopSt'54

Year of the Dog 2
            Mitch Wallis and Tom Liberatore involved as the Bulldogs fight to gloriously claim premiership flag against the odds.
            Footscray Football Republic.

Originally posted by BornAScragger
              And this makes him simply the greatest man alive.
              Ditto BornAScragger.......a great man with principles, loyalty and incredible skill on the field. They should give him that Brownlow he won!

• AndrewP6

I hadn't seen the doco for a long time, was glad to tune in last night. Great to see the inner workings of the club, and the cameraderie amongst the boys. Was talking to a mate at work (Filth fan), who hadn't seen it, and he was remarking how much times had changed. Seemingly little things, like the fact that players were in 'casual' gear during meetings (was it Richard Osborne in that fetching pink fleecy number? )... and the way the players seemed to just shower and leave afterwards (the comment "see you back at the social club" Notice Plough went from a pink singlet, to a suit and tie once he took over?

I was impressed with the heart shown by the likes of Libba, Southo, Wally and Grant, even as the club was down, you could tell they were doing everything to change things. Great film, thanks for the heads up about it!

• The Adelaide Connection

Just a heads up, Channel One are backing up from last night by playing the NAB cup final from last year. It is 1am hewre in SA (assume it would be the same over there) so may want to set the recorder.

• Bulldog Revolution

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                    Let's not forget that Alan Joyce won two premierships at Hawthorn and took over from us when we were pretty ordinary early in 94 and took us to the finals in 94-95.

Joyce did not give one iota for what was going to happen tomorrow but he was actually very good at today. He was the perfect person to take over temporarily from Allan Jeans while Jeans was sick but was completely the wrong person for us at the time.

From memory there was a bit of talk around about Tom Hafey coming back and coaching us but we thought he was too old, I would have loved to have had the T-shirted one.

Wheels, as good as he had been up to 92 and completely lost it but the start of 94 and I was calling for his head at the end of 93, you could see the fall coming. Sydney had won one game in 93 and they beat us fairly easily in R1 of the the pre-season cup. Then Geelong and Ablett did a number on us at Easter. Wheels' time was up.
                    Joyce inherited a great side at Hawthorn, and part of me wonders how much he actually had an impact with them. But you could be right that he was a good coach for a veteran group. Clearly the editing in Year of the Dogs made Joyce look like a guy who couldn't communicate and seemed to have few ideas - basically a man at the end. How much that reflects reality I dont know.

I think we made the finals in 94-95 because we had quite a lot of talent, and not because of Joyces coaching. Now maybe thats unfair, but I think Joyce inherited a far superior playing list than the general public might have thought and that group, similar to the one Wallace got, had enough talent to rise.

Whether Wheelers time was up I dont know. Sometimes teams have a down year under a perfectly good coach. If given a choice I would have have stuck with Wheeler rather than hire Joyce because I was more convinced he was the right person to coach. Sometimes I think you have to let a coach, learn on the job and experience some tougher times, but you only do that if you think they are the right person for the job. There are many examples of current coaches who have been through tougher times and emerged the other side with their coaching reputations in tact. I think we were too quick to pull the trigger on Wheeler.

• Scraggers
                      Premiership Moderator

Originally posted by The Adelaide Connection
                      Just a heads up, Channel One are backing up from last night by playing the NAB cup final from last year. It is 1am hewre in SA (assume it would be the same over there) so may want to set the recorder.
                      Got home at 3:30pm yesterday arvo (in Perth) to be pleasantly surprised that the game was on ... it was great to see Barry slot through a lazy seven !!

• Desipura

Originally posted by Bulldog Revolution
                        Joyce inherited a great side at Hawthorn, and part of me wonders how much he actually had an impact with them. But you could be right that he was a good coach for a veteran group. Clearly the editing in Year of the Dogs made Joyce look like a guy who couldn't communicate and seemed to have few ideas - basically a man at the end. How much that reflects reality I dont know.

I think we made the finals in 94-95 because we had quite a lot of talent, and not because of Joyces coaching. Now maybe thats unfair, but I think Joyce inherited a far superior playing list than the general public might have thought and that group, similar to the one Wallace got, had enough talent to rise.

Whether Wheelers time was up I dont know. Sometimes teams have a down year under a perfectly good coach. If given a choice I would have have stuck with Wheeler rather than hire Joyce because I was more convinced he was the right person to coach. Sometimes I think you have to let a coach, learn on the job and experience some tougher times, but you only do that if you think they are the right person for the job. There are many examples of current coaches who have been through tougher times and emerged the other side with their coaching reputations in tact. I think we were too quick to pull the trigger on Wheeler.
                        A very well known ex player (off the record) said at the time that Wallace met up with the playing group behind Joyce's back and told them "If you get rid of the current coach, I can take you guys where you want to go". This is why Joyce has no respect for Wallace.

Terry did alot of good things for our club, raised our profile (as well as his own) by coming up with new initiatives and getting us within 2 points of a grand final.

Unfortunately he continued to do things behind the scenes as coach of the dogs (agreed to coach the Swans), only this time the supporters of the Swans strongly voted for Roos and Wallace was left without a team to coach.
                        Last edited by Desipura; 15-02-2011, 03:20 PM.

I too was wrapped with Wallace when he was our coach, he took us from a rabble to a decent side.
                          I can't forgive him for how he left us, but will always be thankful for what he did for us while he was coach. So I can forgive him enough to welcome back if he were to be around the club again. When I watched The Year of The Dogs when it was released I never thought anything of Terry being involved with Alan Joyce's demise, but knowing what has happened since then and watching again I view it as Terry backstabbing Joyce.
                          I also remember watching the movie when it was realeased being a great experience as it was released around the finals I think in 1997, it was great to see where we had come from. If we had still been in that state, the film would have been depressing.

• Johno

I remember seeing this as kid with my old man when it came out. I remember being disappointed because there wasn't enough footy shown. The whole Wallace/Joyce relationship, the boardroom dealings - all the off-filed stuff in general - went straight over my head. I'd love to see the movie again and judge it from today's perspective.

Originally posted by The Adelaide Connection
                            If anyone missed it or would just like to download it PM me and I will point you in the direction of a torrent.
                            I would really appreciate the torrent AC.

• The Adelaide Connection

Originally posted by Johno
                              I remember seeing this as kid with my old man when it came out. I remember being disappointed because there wasn't enough footy shown. The whole Wallace/Joyce relationship, the boardroom dealings - all the off-filed stuff in general - went straight over my head. I'd love to see the movie again and judge it from today's perspective.

I would really appreciate the torrent AC.
                              No worries mate, I sent the link in a PM. It took me a bloody long time to track it down!
                              Enjoy

• Bulldog Revolution

I dont worry about how Terry left the club or about what role he played in getting Joyce axed.
                                Terrys time with us was up, and he knew it. Maybe Terry just understood his time in the game was limited and wanted to capitalise. Some view him as a mercenary, others might think him somewhat a realist. He wasn't perfect but he got us very close and almost every player you can ever ask will all insist he was a good coach.

I look back fondly at the Wallace years, the 97-98 campaigns were extremely exciting and ultimately heartbreaking but I'd rather them than the pain of 1996 where I felt utterly depressed most of the year.

However, at the end of his time, we sucked, we didn't play the dome well, he didn't play or develop the kids enough

The big problem was that we hired Rhode