• Ghost Dog
    • May 2010

Re: Round #15 - Slaps and Sledges

I thought Barlow competed his ass off tonight. I'm not expecting miracles from him but he covers a hell of a lot of ground and gets to an awful lot of contests because of his amazing tank. Whilst he didn't take many marks, he certainly did well to prevent his direct opponent from marking it, and in a couple of occasions he made sure the ball dropped to a teammates advantage resultimg in a goal. Structurally we are much more balanced with a player of his skill-set in the team and less of the lumbering tall timber.

Slap - apart from what has already been mentioned, I loved our decision-making abilty all night. We took risks when we needed to pierce the press and we went safety first and played the percentages when we needed to as well. Melbourne played like millionaires by comparison.

Sledge - memo to Tom Williams and Easton Wood, if you're going to leave you man and spoil the ball you need to kill the contest stone dead. Also Jarrad Grant made a couple of half-assed chasing efforts in the first half - he improved significantly in the 2nd half in his defensive work.
    I noticed rocket having a long chat to Easton at the half time huddle. Some things to work on. Did some great things but some poor decisions.
    I don't mind him backing himself to run through a pack, but he needs to be a little more conservative in that area. There were passing options for him but he tried to crash through. A powerful athlete, he needs to train in a way that forces him to use footy smarts rather than athletic power, which he has buckets of.

Barlow - I knew when I logged in he was going to be the whipping boy for tonight. Some criticized him for being slow, but hell, he hardly got much of a rest for the whole night. I like him. He's finding his feet, but he backed himself well a few times and keeps improving. No natural, but fits the team. At one point, he got the ball close to the 50. I watched and waited to see if he would pass it off. He backed himself and went for goal. Didn't get it but I thought 'good on you mate'

In contrast, I think Grant seems a bit overconfident for me - lack of run at times is frustrating when you know how fast he is. Great grab mind you.

• AndrewP6

SLAPS

Griff - just keeps on getting it done.
      Roald Dahlhaus - didn't set the game on fire, but boy he just keeps going and going and going. Great energy and enthusiasm.

Honourable mention to Grant for the big grab in the last, going some way to atone for the earlier blue.

SLEDGES

The Jones-Grant Incident - that bad it deserves capital letters.

Victoria Police for not letting me in the lift at Southern Cross, as 3 of them tried to subdue some bloke with his head split open and arms thrashing wildly. Missed my train, and then after saying I couldn't go through, and making me wait ten minutes, one of them changed his mind and said "Yeah no worries, we'll make some room".

Slap
        Match committee for selecting Markovic. Our backline looked much more solid with him down there. I dont fell the panic when he is near the ball that I do when Williams goes near it.

Sledge
        All those posters getting into Barlow. I thought he tried his ar#e off tonight.

• Ghost Dog
          • May 2010

Originally posted by Petergm
          Slap
          Match committee for selecting Markovic. Our backline looked much more solid with him down there. I dont fell the panic when he is near the ball that I do when Williams goes near it.

Sledge
          All those posters getting into Barlow. I thought he tried his ar#e off tonight.
          Sledge to Boyd for Slapping Griff right on the kisser, and after a goal! funny to watch

• AndrewP6

Forget a slap - to Coons, for a pickup on the wing in the last qtr, colliding with Tommygun. Coons sort of pushed Tom aside, with a "Don't touch that ball, it's mine" look.

• Flamethrower
              • Oct 2009

Slaps:

- Liam Jones - best game of his short career by far. Earned very high praise from Mick Malthouse and Dermott Brereton on SEN.

- Shaun Higgins - completely shut out Sylvia while dominating across half back.

Sledges:

- Look away handballs - why???? Cost both teams goals tonight.

- The slam tackle - someone will end up in a wheelchair. A 3 week suspension is obviously not a deterrent - rub Trengove out for the rest of the season.
              Footscray member since 1980.

• Drunken Bum

Originally posted by Flamethrower
                The slam tackle - someone will end up in a wheelchair. A 3 week suspension is obviously not a deterrent - rub Trengove out for the rest of the season.
                You're taking the piss right?

Last edited by Drunken Bum; 02-07-2011, 03:10 AM.
                My life is a very complicated drinking game.

I thought Barlow competed his ass off tonight. I'm not expecting miracles from him but he covers a hell of a lot of ground and gets to an awful lot of contests because of his amazing tank. Whilst he didn't take many marks, he certainly did well to prevent his direct opponent from marking it, and in a couple of occasions he made sure the ball dropped to a teammates advantage resultimg in a goal. Structurally we are much more balanced with a player of his skill-set in the team and less of the lumbering tall timber.

Slap - apart from what has already been mentioned, I loved our decision-making abilty all night. We took risks when we needed to pierce the press and we went safety first and played the percentages when we needed to as well. Melbourne played like millionaires by comparison.

Sledge - memo to Tom Williams and Easton Wood, if you're going to leave you man and spoil the ball you need to kill the contest stone dead. Also Jarrad Grant made a couple of half-assed chasing efforts in the first half - he improved significantly in the 2nd half in his defensive work.
                  Agree entirely, Easton Wood does that to often the kamikaze spoil that misses everything and results in the opposition getting easy ball
                  Originally posted by Stefcep
                  Slaps: Gia Cooney Griffen Ward Higgins. When these guys perform we are a finals side.

Sledges: Barlow-sorry not AFL level. Jones-Remind me what's good about him: can't kick, bad positionally, and possibly the one of the most "football-dumb" players I've seen.

Slaps: Gia Cooney Griffen Ward Higgins. When these guys perform we are a finals side.

Sledges: Barlow-sorry not AFL level. Jones-Remind me what's good about him: can't kick, bad positionally, and possibly the one of the most "football-dumb" players I've seen.
                    Well what's good about Jones . Didn't catch his contested marks tonight?( great asset these days) How many games has he played? Needs to improve his kicking obviously,but KP players take time to develop but unfortunately supporters have no patience and no logic!!Seen plenty of footy over my 43 years of existence and I can assure you Liam will be a very good footballer

Slap - The dudes behind us for starting a "Who's house? Dahl's House!" chant

Sledge - Barlow; reverted back to spud form after showing so much in the past two weeks.

One of the best contested marks in the league already and only going to get better, but he is never going to be a great kick

Originally posted by Drunken Bum
                          You're taking the piss right?

It was a slam tackle(my biggest pet hate ATM) exactly the same as he put on Dangerfield, the only difference was that the shoulder and not the head hit the ground first. We shouldn't wait for the player who is tackled to get injured before doing something about it.

• dog town

Barlow was certainly available as an outlet everytime we needed him which helps us structurally. For the moment that is enough for him and it is making a difference but if he is going to be a long term contributor he needs to do more than just dead weight himself in one on one marking contests. I dont expect him to split sides open with his disposal but I want him to compete a little more ferociously in the air. A few times he needed to go at the ball in the air and take a bit of punishment but he angled his body and stayed flat footed instead. Actually didnt jump a number of times also. He is certainly showing enough to persist with though and his workrate is a massive weapon.

Slap- Coaching staff. Guarded the corridor and made them turn the ball over. First big game this year where it has felt like the game was being played on our terms.

Murphy vs Jurrah- Made Jurrah a liability.
                            Higgins vs Sylvia

Both match ups worked well.

Slap- Mids. It was our clear advantage going into the game and they dominated them. Makes a massive difference having Cooney and Griffen up and going at the same time.

Slap- Wood and Jones for turning around awful starts to the game. Neither dominated but they were horrible early.

Sledge- Jarrad Grants work rate. I would persist with him because he is top 5 in the side in terms of talent but this guy has actually gone backwards with his work rate.

• westdog54

Originally posted by AndrewP6
                              SLEDGES

Victoria Police for not letting me in the lift at Southern Cross, as 3 of them tried to subdue some bloke with his head split open and arms thrashing wildly. Missed my train, and then after saying I couldn't go through, and making me wait ten minutes, one of them changed his mind and said "Yeah no worries, we'll make some room".
                              Excuse the Police for trying to do their jobs. I wonder if you'd be sledging them if one of those stray arms had connected with your head or you'd had blood splattered all over you.

• The Pie Man

Originally posted by SonofScray
                                Made a comment to my mate that his game was neither here nor there, a few really good passages of play but mostly didn't seem to be involved enough. Maybe a break even sort of game for him. I saw a few things that make me think he can be a valuable player for us though.

A few good pieces of play in close, front and square and one very nice handball to Griffen in particular were pleasing. I can't tell yet if he has the goods but there is something about his game that makes him look like a dangerous proposition for opponents. Will need to review the stats to say that with some real confidence but I won't write him off yet.
                                I agree with this, I don't get the Hooper sledges. Will agree that he got sucked up the ground a bit where I thought a Grant might've been better suited, but he had 14 decent touches in what I thought was a somewhat encouraging performance

Not giving him a slap though, they're reserved for Cooney, Griffen, Picken and Ward.

Sledge to this w@nker Dees fan who was giving it to Gilbee for being soft and then came out with 'have you heard of prior opportunity?' when it was a clear holding the ball in the 2nd qtr not given. I blew up at him for 5 seconds, wouldn't normally (and needlessly apologized at half time as he took no offense)