Re: Callan Ward jumps Bulldogs ship to join GWS

Originally posted by Suz 32
    Callan looks just awful in orange!!
    Which do you prefer, GWS or GC's uniform?

I think they are both horrible. Its funny, all the teams that have joined the AFL since 1925, couldn't design a better jumper than people from 100 years ago.

Which do you prefer, GWS or GC's uniform?

I think they are both horrible. Its funny, all the teams that have joined the AFL since 1925, couldn't design a better jumper than people from 100 years ago.
      Suns looks far better, the all red is not that bad. Orange & Grey is terrible IMO

• Ghost Dog
        • May 2010

Originally posted by Anthony
        Suns looks far better, the all red is not that bad. Orange & Grey is terrible IMO
        With you Anthony. It's by far the worst AFL branding in the history of the league IMO.
        But, then again, sums up the GWS pretty much. lacking in soul, spirit, whatever you want to call it.

BA in Graphic design here.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
          With you Anthony. It's by far the worst AFL branding in the history of the league IMO.
          But, then again, sums up the GWS pretty much. lacking in soul, spirit, whatever you want to call it.

Freo and Eagles jumpers not too crash hot either.

• AndrewP6

Freo and Eagles jumpers not too crash hot either.
            I reckon the Freo jumper is really good. Simple, understated, just works.

Originally posted by AndrewP6
              I reckon the Freo jumper is really good. Simple, understated, just works.
              I wasn't talking about the current one, I meant when they first joined.

• AndrewP6

I wasn't talking about the current one, I meant when they first joined.
                Ah yes, well, that was indeed a shocker!

Originally posted by AndrewP6
                  Ah yes, well, that was indeed a shocker!
                  Port and Eagles original jumpers were not much better.

Fair enough on the SBS logo ripoff that Port came up with, but Yellow Peril is a ripper, much better than anything that the Eagles have come up with since.

• Ghost Dog
                      • May 2010

Sorry, stand corrected. Bris Bears Ver 1. designed by a first year TAFE student who had never seen a game of AFL in their life.
                      Close second, GWS.

I like Ports new strip and also Freo.

• Rocket Science

Interesting if vehement appraisal.

Speaking as someone with a background in industrial/graphic design, can I confess I'm rather partial to their guernseys and the colour scheme altogether?

The simplicity, and those colours in tandem really pop on their uniform, though the orange socks are a bit of overkill, I reckon charcoal socks would ground the whole thing more effectively and lend a little more steel and class.

Must say their website's a pleasure to view as well. Imagine when they get some content!

I find their branding refreshing, simple, unified and distinctive within the AFL landscape. It successfully suggests freshness/modernity but in a suitably pared back manner so as minimise any tendency to date quickly. Although I get why some may perceive it as somewhat clinical, and there's a hint of 'corporate report' about it too I suppose.

Alternately I find the Suns' guernseys/colours/branding exceedingly dull, cheesy and generic. Their logo/crest is comedic - all it's missing an 80's chrome-effect shading, and that wave motif on the guernsey is a rolled gold eyesore. They look like they're wearing a cross between a piece of crap surfwear and a contestant's top from some 'It's a Knockout' style television variety-cum-game show, with just a hint of major retail chain supermarket about it for good measure. Bleh.

Subjectivity's a glorious thing.

• Ghost Dog
                          • May 2010

Originally posted by Rocket Science
                          Interesting if vehement appraisal.

Speaking as someone with a background in industrial/graphic design, can I confess I'm rather partial to their guernseys and the colour scheme altogether?

The simplicity, and those colours in tandem really pop on their uniform, though the orange socks are a bit of overkill, I reckon charcoal socks would ground the whole thing more effectively and lend a little more steel and class.

Must say their website's a pleasure to view as well. Imagine when they get some content!

I find their branding refreshing, simple, unified and distinctive within the AFL landscape. It successfully suggests freshness/modernity but in a suitably pared back manner so as minimise any tendency to date quickly. Although I get why some may perceive it as somewhat clinical, and there's a hint of 'corporate report' about it too I suppose.

Alternately I find the Suns' guernseys/colours/branding exceedingly dull, cheesy and generic. Their logo/crest is comedic - all it's missing an 80's chrome-effect shading, and that wave motif on the guernsey is a rolled gold eyesore. They look like they're wearing a cross between a piece of crap surfwear and a contestant's top from some 'It's a Knockout' style television variety-cum-game show, with just a hint of major retail chain supermarket about it for good measure. Bleh.

Subjectivity's a glorious thing.
                          Horses for courses. A footy jumper os not a 'brand'.
                          It's a totem, wearing which, you may lose your kidney.
                          The dog is loyal, it is fierce, the blue, white , red is Australia, and so on.
                          How does GWS strip represent their turf, people, place? Perfectly actually. Corporate. Could be a mobile phone company. Insurance company.
                          Gold coast reminds me of cornetto ice cream logo.

How does GWS strip represent their turf, people, place? Perfectly actually. Corporate. Could be a mobile phone company. Insurance company.
                            Gold coast reminds me of cornetto ice cream logo.
                            This GD. It' a blank canvas for a big corporate, positioned that way on purpose.

Originally posted by KT31
                              Seen as though I have not been back to Victoria for 12 months it was then.
                              Although my 80 year old Mum was hit an ran over by a scooter rider,in front of the Paisley St Clinic, 2 weeks ago.
                              Can't have changed that much.
                              Was a lot better place when it had the Bowling Alley, Coles cafeteria and Bunny's.
                              Ahhh Bunny's, the only nightclub where it was compulsory to be under 18..
                              Bit safer than the old Totty Hotel ( paradise Club)

• Desipura

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                                Ahhh Bunny's, the only nightclub where it was compulsory to be under 18..
                                Bit safer than the old Totty Hotel ( paradise Club)
                                Too true went when I was 16 yo