Re: Match Preview- Round 14 Western Bulldogs vs Essendon

Originally posted by Nuggety Back Pocket
    I found the preview prediction by Greystache that we would be defeated by 50+ points extremely disappointing and typical of the negativity that currently dominates the thoughts of many Woofers on this site. We forget that Essendon was defeated by lowly Melbourne a couple of weeks ago or the gutsy efforts of our Club's efforts against last year's Grand finalists.
    Why would Hurley for example who got Essendon over the line last week with 6 goals do likewise against the best key defender going around in Brian Lake.
    Do we really think that Boyd and Griffen are not capable of matching Watson and Stanton in the midfield?
    With due respect it doesn't take a genius to predict Essendon to win after our performanc against the Brisbane Lions, but I would prefer to say that the return of Minson, Hargrave, Sherman and Markovic will strengthen the line up and that we are capable of winning.
    Or you could look at this way- Essendon are a better side than the team that beat us last year by 49 and 55 points respectively, and we are also now without Callan Ward and Barry Hall who was the cornerstone of our forward line. Add in that 2 of our last 3 games have been very poor performances and you could argue that 50+ is a generous prediction.

• F'scary
      • Dec 2011

Great preview - really appreciated it - better than the MSM. I've got my fingers crossed that Esserdon run out on the ground with the same mind set they brought to their Melbourne game. And I've got my toes crossed that we play with a bit more pride than last week.
      Officially on the Bus-wagon

The reality is, the only way we get close is if Essendon are a touch off their game. It's possible given their recent indifferent form and the Perth factor, but a lot would need to go right for us to be competitive. They are strong in all the areas we are weak: speed, run, carry, spread from a contest and disposal.

• Ghost Dog
          • May 2010

Jetta is a pest and quite dangerous around goal. His speed worries me and I can't see on paper how the coach intends to negate him. Our backline is pretty slow.
          Eddie Betts, Jetta ( Sydney or Essendon ) or krakouer - I have these recurring nightmares of being cut apart by indigenous small fowards.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
            Jetta is a pest and quite dangerous around goal. His speed worries me and I can't see on paper how the coach intends to negate him. Our backline is pretty slow.
            Eddie Betts, Jetta ( Sydney or Essendon ) or krakouer - I have these recurring nightmares of being cut apart by indigenous small fowards.
            When has Betts cut us up?
            Don't count pre season games as real games

• ratsmac
              • May 2009

Nice preview, thanks greystache.

Definately agree win the margin and I don't think it's just being negative, it's just fact. The only thing we have going for us is that their form hasn't been great and they're coming back from Perth. On the other hand our form has been woeful hense the 50+ margin.
              Essendon's ability to run and spread will be where they kill us tonight. Their pressure they put on the kicker to get the turnover has been a catalyst to their form and our terrible kicking turnovers has been the catalyst to ours.
              For the bulldogs to have any chance tonight our disposal must improve a lot and for the Bombers to be caught napping. If we bring the intensity of the Collingwood/Geelong games, we can go very close to a win. No passengers!!

• ratsmac
                • May 2009

Originally posted by Chops
                When has Betts cut us up?
                Don't count pre season games as real games
                True! Only in the NAB cup when Dale Morris was on crutches.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
                  The reality is, the only way we get close is if Essendon are a touch off their game. It's possible given their recent indifferent form and the Perth factor, but a lot would need to go right for us to be competitive. They are strong in all the areas we are weak: speed, run, carry, spread from a contest and disposal.
                  We do have a long history of pulling at least one surprise game out of the bag each season. We sometimes win the unexpected, and regularly flop in an unlosable.
                  I can not see this being a draw, or even close unless it is in our favour. Suspect that if Essendon wins, they will flog us.

I can't see Boyd having 2 poor games in a row, and expect him to come out breathing fire.
                  As BB says we are weak where their strengths are. But if we can retain possession once we win it inside, who knows. Maybe this could be one of 'those' games for us.
                  I won't be holding my breath, but will have my fingers crossed.

• SonofScray
                    • Apr 2008

I can't see us pulling one out of the bag tonight, unfortunately. Which is true of the way this club has been for a few years, where form is against us, or where a team has a clear advantage we just haven't plugged one away against the tide. Have we? We might have and I've missed it?

I'm going hoping for a change in fortunes, a bit more fight in adverse situations and hopefully a win. We have the ability in the squad, I believe that, but it just doesn't look likely.

• kruder

I found the preview prediction by Greystache that we would be defeated by 50+ points extremely disappointing and typical of the negativity that currently dominates the thoughts of many Woofers on this site. We forget that Essendon was defeated by lowly Melbourne a couple of weeks ago or the gutsy efforts of our Club's efforts against last year's Grand finalists.
                      Why would Hurley for example who got Essendon over the line last week with 6 goals do likewise against the best key defender going around in Brian Lake.
                      Do we really think that Boyd and Griffen are not capable of matching Watson and Stanton in the midfield?
                      With due respect it doesn't take a genius to predict Essendon to win after our performanc against the Brisbane Lions, but I would prefer to say that the return of Minson, Hargrave, Sherman and Markovic will strengthen the line up and that we are capable of winning.
                      Mate,

the Doggies have close to the worst list in AFL, I'm not sure how you sugar coat that fact. I'm praying that this draft is as good as they say because things are going to get even worse in the next two years before they improve. Just keep buying your membership thats all we can do no matter what is said on this site.

We have older players coming close to the end of the careers and youngsters coming up (1st and 2nd years) and thus we are struggling. We need to draft well and more importantly develop these draftees for us to come up the ladder again. We have definitely fallen from the heights of 2008-2010. All we can do is stick with our team no matter what as that is what being a supporter is all about. Also congrats to Higgins in his 100th game tonight.

• Scraggers
                          Premiership Moderator

Let me start by saying, fantastic preview Greystache ...

I love your optimism NBP ... and if this season has taught me anything, its the fact that there are no certainties in AFL this year. I have thought all season that Essendon were the 'Great Pretenders', but they keep winning week-in, week-out. Whilst my heart is saying I hope you are correct, and we do stand a chance tonight, my head is telling me Bombers by 4 goals !!

Originally posted by kruder
                          Mate,

the Doggies have close to the worst list in AFL, I'm not sure how you sugar coat that fact. I'm praying that this draft is as good as they say because things are going to get even worse in the next two years before they improve. Just keep buying your membership thats all we can do no matter what is said on this site.
                          You're kidding aren't you ?? We've got 5 players playing tonight that are All Australian, (another two on the list that aren't playing tonight), another that will go close to winning his first All Australian nomination this year in Griff; A Brownlow Medallist, a current Rising Star nomination (touted as favourite for the medal), two nominations from 2011 ... Close to the worst list ???

• kruder

Originally posted by Scraggers
                            Let me start by saying, fantastic preview Greystache ...

I love your optimism NBP ... and if this season has taught me anything, its the fact that there are no certainties in AFL this year. I have thought all season that Essendon were the 'Great Pretenders', but they keep winning week-in, week-out. Whilst my heart is saying I hope you are correct, and we do stand a chance tonight, my head is telling me Bombers by 4 goals !!

You're kidding aren't you ?? We've got 5 players playing tonight that are All Australian, (another two on the list that aren't playing tonight), another that will go close to winning his first All Australian nomination this year in Griff; A Brownlow Medallist, a current Rising Star nomination (touted as favourite for the medal), two nominations from 2011 ... Close to the worst list ???
                            Scraggers, i'd happy to be wrong make no mistake about it.

But have a look at our so called All Australians and Brownlow Medallist and tell me how many have their best footy in front of them? How many of them are currently playing at their best? Then look at the middle age bracket which has a massive hole in it and you start to get very close.... I think we have some good junior talent coming through but I'm struggling to attach a potential elite tag on any of them.

• Desipura

Pathetic effort Lake, you should be leading the way. Goes to ground at a crucial stage.

• Bumper Bulldogs
                                • Apr 2008

Originally posted by Desipura
                                Pathetic effort Lake, you should be leading the way. Goes to ground at a crucial stage.
                                Couldn't agree more, from a guy who put a gun to our head and asked for big bucks to stay, and has done nothing since the contract has been signed.

Sorry brian love you as a bulldog but I fall to see how you can continue to keep going down this way..... Even standing on the mark and jumping to make the guys kick over your head would be good when we are looking for some direction out on the park.

I suppose the coaching staff are happy with this or they would have done something about it.
                                BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.