• Dry Rot

Re: Predict who we will draft

Originally posted by mjp
    Yep. I know all of that.

When you have a player who conducted himself impeccably in a team environment though - AND delivered the goods on the field - then why is he being dismissed?

Were the instagram photos his greatest ever idea? I wouldn't have thought so, no. But none of that means he isn't team focussed or that he doesn't train hard. They are a sign of immaturity and the fact that Dayle still doesn't 'GET' a lot of stuff, but for goodness sake.
    I am very surprised that no club picked him, even with a late crappy pick. Why do you think this happened?

FWIW, I reckon we should have rolled the dice with him with our last pick. If we promote Jong, can we take him as a rookie?

Again I'd roll the dice.

• Missing-Dog

Originally posted by mjp
      Probably not. But to be fair, I didn't start it. I was told the poster was happy to trust the footy department and wanted to ask what that opinion was based on. The players I listed were draft picks and rookie elevations over the past couple of seasons who have not given me much confidence in the footy and recruiting department - and further, they were selections I screamed about at the time only to be told I should trust the club.

Right now I am very happy with the Stringer selection, so-so with the Macrae selection, unhappy with the Hrovat selection and bordering on extremely displeased with the Prudden selection. Stringer - and I have said this before - really is our Joel Selwood selection. Quality 16 yo who got injured and slipped down the rankings accordingly. We have either gotten the best player in the draft or a kid who will never overcome his injury fully...I actually suspect it is the former. Macrae might be OK and is classy but certainly has not 'done it' against high quality opposition for very long - I am worried about his ability to step up to the next level but can see what they were thinking here - basically I don't disagree with the selection.

With Hrovat and Prudden we seem to have gone for one scoop of plain vanilla (Hrovat) and another of wild cherry with triple flavor topping (Prudden). I don't understand these selections at all unless Hrovat has been picked with the idea that he might become a Picken like midfield tagger. But Metro favored Temay in that role so maybe not? Prudden? Just a roll of the dice on someone who just seems to be another player. Let me show my WA bias by suggesting if we wanted Prudden then why not Tim Kelly or even someone like Marvin Warrell who was also overlooked somehow. Both have better track records and Warrell in particular better hands and kicking skills. If you like JJ you would love Warrell.
      Fair enough mate. I can completely understand your frustrations and to be honest share quite a few of them. I also entirely agree with your assessment of Stringer and Mcrae. I have trouble seeing Mcrae's game translate to AFL level, hopefully for our own sake we are both incredibly wrong.

I will have to take your word on Hrovat and Prudden as I wouldn't know them from Adam but from all i've heard about Hrovat is that he has really good disposal and chooses the right option, that is something we really need.

You have piqued my interest with Warrell. Any idea why he was overlooked? Any chance in the PSD?

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by theimmortalmike
        Fair enough mate. I can completely understand your frustrations and to be honest share quite a few of them. I also entirely agree with your assessment of Stringer and Mcrae. I have trouble seeing Mcrae's game translate to AFL level, hopefully for our own sake we are both incredibly wrong.

I will have to take your word on Hrovat and Prudden as I wouldn't know them from Adam but from all i've heard about Hrovat is that he has really good disposal and chooses the right option, that is something we really need.

You have piqued my interest with Warrell. Any idea why he was overlooked? Any chance in the PSD?
        According to Emma Quayle in today's Age in relation why no team listed Worrell "Nor could they find a way to add Shannon Taylor, Chris Yarran or Marvin Worrell, talented teenagers who lack a strong work ethic".

• Dancin' Douggy

Originally posted by mjp
          He is/was with the guys at Swans tonight. Have spoken to Swans but not yet to Dayle - hopefully tomorrow...been a lot of players to talk to tonight (both happy and sad).
          Hi mjp.
          You obviously have some connection to Dayle.
          Can you get in the clubs ear at all and convince them to give him a chance?

What would you say to them if you could?

Would love to have that talent on our list if he was going to be a solid citizen for the club.

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
            According to Emma Quayle in today's Age in relation why no team listed Worrell "Nor could they find a way to add Shannon Taylor, Chris Yarran or Marvin Worrell, talented teenagers who lack a strong work ethic".
            B-Mac really seems focussed on the "quality person" ethic - his interview on SEN, where he mentioned it was easier to teach skills to someone with an excellent attitude sums up how he wants Dalrymple to rate potential draftees.

Time will tell whether it's the best approach - this approach would have passed on a Karl Norman, but also perhaps on a Buddy Franklin.

• mjp

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
              And there is the problem. Marvin Warrell (I know I am spelling it correctly) and Chris Yarren are not in the same ball-park re- work ethic. Marvin is very hard working.

Shannon is in a different boat entirely and a club will need a very well established support system to manage him. I am almost certain he will be rookied.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by Mofra
                B-Mac really seems focussed on the "quality person" ethic - his interview on SEN, where he mentioned it was easier to teach skills to someone with an excellent attitude sums up how he wants Dalrymple to rate potential draftees.

Time will tell whether it's the best approach - this approach would have passed on a Karl Norman, but also perhaps on a Buddy Franklin.
                Appears that most teams are thinking the B-Mac way now.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by mjp
                  And there is the problem. Marvin Warrell (I know I am spelling it correctly) and Chris Yarren are not in the same ball-park re- work ethic. Marvin is very hard working.

Shannon is in a different boat entirely and a club will need a very well established support system to manage him. I am almost certain he will be rookied.
                  Sound like Emma's not doing her homework. Always thought her info was reliable too.

• Ghost Dog
                    • May 2010

Originally posted by paulv
                    mjp, I don't think anyone is arguing that the kid can't play. Clearly he has prodigious talent.
                    The problem lies in the fact that we are talking about a team not an individual sport.
                    The history of our game is littered with amazingly talented guys who never did make it, for reasons other than the skills with which they were born.
                    Unfortunately talent alone, no matter how exceptional, will simply never be enough without the correct attitude.

Many with exceptional talent simply never make the grade, while players with far less ability, but majorly better attitudes and commitment who get the most out of themselves do, names like Picken, Cross and Boyd spring to mind.
                    That's a funny comment.

Was best and fairest in 2008 VFL.
                    Played as a Junior in a senior grand final and kicked 5 goals.
                    Check out the mark V port in the UK. That's clearly not something that says I' man in and under tagger type, full story. Can do some freaky things.
                    Anyway, Rant over. Picken's skills are highly underrated. Not seen as a silky player, but rarely gets the chance to show us what he has.

• wimberga

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                      That's a funny comment.

Check out the mark V port in the UK. That's clearly not something that says I' an in and under tagger type, full story. Can do some freaky things.
                      Anyway, Rant over. Picken's skills are highly underrated. Not seen as a silky player, but rarely gets the chance to show us what he has.

Agree with this GD - I can remember him kicking a goal from 55 when we really needed it in one of our big games a few years ago. Doesn't get to show us all his tricks but when he does he usually makes it count.

• Ghost Dog
                        • May 2010

The Dogs have a tradition whereby, after each game, the players rate their best teammate. The winner gets the match ball signed by all the other players. Liam Picken has won the match ball five teams this season, more than any other player.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                          That's a funny comment.

Check out the mark V port in the UK. That's clearly not something that says I' man in and under tagger type, full story. Can do some freaky things.
                          I've backed you up on this before and I'mma doing it again. Picken is a very good footballer. His skillset is greater than many give him credit for.