• Scorlibo

Re: Game Day - R1 Western Bulldogs v Brisbane Lions

Originally posted by HairyMidget
    This guy is a spud and shouldn't be allowed to post on here!

Impressed with everyone today (with the exception of one, but now is not the time for negativity especially after the winning drought we've had).
    Hope this sort of effort keeps up.
    You flog Midg!

Haven't posted on here in a while, but felt compelled to express how overjoyed I am by today's result! So great to see such an even spread across the board and so many new faces apparently gelling so well.

I buy my membership every year come rain come shine, and I think it's the only way to be if you're to call yourself a true supporter, but for those who need convincing, I can't imagine the boys could have done any more to impress today! A great win for the club, get behind them.

#GatherThePack.
    'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• Ghost Dog
      • May 2010

This is the thing that really shocked me today. Ball use, decision making, structure, ball movement, all the best shown by us since 2010. The big question is how much of this was caused by us and how much were we allowed to dictate terms due to the insipid opposition on the day? I reckon Brisbane played like millionaires today and were not interested in working hard for the 4 points.
      Why shocked? I've been wondering about the pessimism so far in the media and broadly this season. In patches of the NAB we looked sensational. We really put it to the Hawks, despite them missing some good players. It was just a matter of a four quarter effort, and people starting to recognize a few unknowns, like Lower, Goodes and Stevens.
      We are seriously underrated by all the 'experts' in the papers / radio. Today proved that.

Nice surprise win today and didn't drop off at all. I thought the backline was solid and Goodes was so carm and confident. Big difference with Murphy in the forward line and both Cordy and Jones presented well and did some of the little things that supporters don't see. Tom Young also seems very mature for a player almost 21 years old.

Jones still leads under the ball, he doesn't seem to know how to judge the flight and the only blemishes from Cordy were the two dropped chest marks, otherwise if he can kick two every single week I would be happy with that.

Higgins seems to have gained some pace, and Lower taking over the tagging role is a real bonus.

Overall, very happy and lets all enjoy the win before even thing about next week.

• LongWait
          • Sep 2009

Nice surprise win today and didn't drop off at all. I thought the backline was solid and Goodes was so carm and confident. Big difference with Murphy in the forward line and both Cordy and Jones presented well and did some of the little things that supporters don't see. Tom Young also seems very mature for a player almost 21 years old.

Jones still leads under the ball, he doesn't seem to know how to judge the flight and the only blemishes from Cordy were the two dropped chest marks, otherwise if he can kick two every single week I would be happy with that.

Higgins seems to have gained some pace, and Lower taking over the tagging role is a real bonus.

Overall, very happy and lets all enjoy the win before even thing about next week.
          Goodes looks like an inspired selection in fact.....

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
            Why shocked? I've been wondering about the pessimism so far in the media and broadly this season. In patches of the NAB we looked sensational. We really put it to the Hawks, despite them missing some good players. It was just a matter of a four quarter effort, and people starting to recognize a few unknowns, like Lower, Goodes and Stevens.
            We are seriously underrated by all the 'experts' in the papers / radio. Today proved that.
            Had a brutal couple of months at work and have basically missed the entire pre-season campaign so my modest expectations were based on last year's horrendous finish. What I saw today was very encouraging but I think we were given some extra latitude today but an opponent that was not mentally ready for a fight. Next week will be very interesting against probably the best match day coach going around whose teams rarely lack intensity for a contest let alone a match.

Originally posted by LongWait
              Goodes looks like an inspired selection in fact.....
              Mate if you want to rub it in fine, because I know you are trying to stir me up.

I will stick with what I said all along, I have nothing against Goodes and wrapped he is playing so well, but pre-season, I would have gone for another young player as part of the rebuild. Please don't bring this up every time he plays well.

BAD, for basically the last spot on the list, give me the 29yo who uses it well and picks the right option 9 times out of 10 every day of the week over the 18yo Hail Mary selection.

• always right

Just got back from the game.....what an enjoyable day at the footy!

Sure the lions were not on their game but I was so impressed with our tackling, our intensity and our organisation. And what about our kicking? Wow!

Minson needed to dominate Longer and he did. Griffey had a huge influence and Murphy led from the front.

Yes it's only one game but today we saw the gameplan that McCartney has been developing....and it was impressive.
                  I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

Originally posted by Scraggers
                    Great pressure !!
                    You mean cracking in don't you?

Originally posted by firstdogonthemoon
                      I never doubted macca for a second.
                      He can't shave the beard now.

BAD, for basically the last spot on the list, give me the 29yo who uses it well and picks the right option 9 times out of 10 every day if the week over the 18yo Hail Mary selection.
                        Has there ever been a better game by a 29yo on debut?

• angelopetraglia

Just got back from the game.

Wow ... just wow! I kept waiting for the fade, kept waiting for them to come at us. We didn't give them an inch all day. What a turn around from when we played them last year at Etihad when they belted us by 10 goals.

Can't wait to see how we go against Freo .... not getting completely carried away, but so many positive things to take out of today's game.

• lemmon

Pumped after that one. Consistency across the board was brilliant. Boyd must spewing he missed that one

• Hotdog60

We even won the toss

Pessimistic Midget says:
                                Lions by 107 (Looking at the selected team I think this one is going to hurt)
                                BOG: Goodes (he basically is playing for his career every game)
                                First Goal: Cordy (12 mins into the second Qtr).

Optimistic Midget says:
                                Lions by 38pts
                                BOG: Griffin
                                First Goal: Dickson
                                This guy is a spud and shouldn't be allowed to post on here!

Impressed with everyone today (with the exception of one, but now is not the time for negativity especially after the winning drought we've had).
                                Hope this sort of effort keeps up.

This is the great thing about football on a forum because there is always a chance your words will come back and bite ya.

You got Dickson right didn't you?

By the way, I think someone hacked your account earlier today