Re: Game Day - R10 Western Bulldogs V Port Adelaide

Originally posted by SonofScray
    some of the most manful efforts in RW&B I can recall from Stevens and Wilbur.
    Great call. How Stevens persisted in obvious discomfort and continued to make a contest was a real testament to how tough this kid is and how much he will be prepared to do for our club.

Minson was another who played monster minutes and whilst Port tried their best to run him ragged, they couldn't. His ability to clear the congestion from the hitout late was very important as Port looked to try and take the ascendency from the centre clearance.

Thought our first half was really avg but 3rd was very mature response.. like above has said Koby's effort incredible!! Minson looking All Aus at the half way mark. Liked Dal in the midfield more tonight just added zip away. Libba phenomenal and a really underrated kick. Thought Dale Morris was outstanding, just a star 1 on 1. One of the better games I've seen JJ play. Clay's attack through the contest is scary, he will really hurt someone one day, (that port bloke in the first i can't re call did well to get up). Every time Jake Stringer touches it, something happens. Ryan Griffen you were on another planet tonight, that much better!!

• bulldogsthru&thru

Was Crossy's dropping a wake up call to the other senior players? They have been excellent since

• boydogs
          • Apr 2009

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
          Was Crossy's dropping a wake up call to the other senior players? They have been excellent since
          I reckon it was, Murph & Gia mentioned it last Sunday & you could tell they knew the changing of the guard was on and they needed to fight for their spots. Credit to them though, they really seem to have bought into the whole lead the way for the kids aspect.

Through the week Picken made mention of this as well, as did Talia when referring to the guidance he has received from Morris, and Murph in his weekly article.

• Dry Rot

Gee it's good to come home on a Saturday night for a win.

Thoughts on how our youngest players went please?

Lets wait till we play a good team.
              We've still got a long way to go.
              Signs are positive

I just want to congratulate the club and the boys for their effort tonight, it was one of the best
                wins as a club in a long time. To go up there light on for Senior Runners in Boyd, Cooney and Cross and lose Williams and Stevens early and fight out a win was nothing short of Brilliant.

There was nothing flashy or highly skilled about it, just a dead set scrap where every inch was a battle. We had played C grade footy in the first half and were out on our feet at half time and I do admit I'd just about gave up.

To come out after half time and see the kids lift and fight and some of the more seasoned blokes hold strong. Then completely turn the game and fight out a win was a joy to watch.

Riding every bump with the boys for a win like that just reminded me of why I love the club so much. We are not the most skilled or the quickest team going around but we are Bulldogs and that's just fine with me!

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
                  Not so sure. Giansiracusa looks totally relaxed and has embraced his role as the sub.

• Hotdog60

Not so sure. Giansiracusa looks totally relaxed and has embraced his role as the sub.
                    Maccas press conference when asked if Gia was always going to be sub replied that, "not always but he will be a bit, you can't play forever."

I think it will be Gia last year and will play some part in our VFL side.

• lemmon

Just watching the replay and am up to Clay Smiths hit on Heath, the guy smacks into people like Aaron Hamill used to. Bulk him up and he's going to have a fair old hit reel by the time his careers out

Originally posted by lemmon
                        Just watching the replay and am up to Clay Smiths hit on Heath, the guy smacks into people like Aaron Hamill used to. Bulk him up and he's going to have a fair old hit reel by the time his careers out
                        He's a ferocious animal. I'd hate to play against him.

He seems to be thick enough. Surely they wont bulk him up anymore?

• lemmon

Originally posted by HairyMidget
                            He seems to be thick enough. Surely they wont bulk him up anymore?
                            I think just naturally he will end up bigger and harder, he isn't 20 till September. Has a frame that will pick up weight pretty naturally....and I am partially having dreams about our own Byron Pickett

I think just naturally he will end up bigger and harder, he isn't 20 till September. Has a frame that will pick up weight pretty naturally
                              He can't afford to build up at the expense of his pace. I'm sure he will refine his build over the years but his aerobic capacity needs the most work at the moment.

• Ghost Dog
                                • May 2010

Does the value of Cross in the VFL outweigh his worth in the seniors? If the future are our kids, can't think of anyone better to mentor them. Perhaps they had a chat to him and said, look mate, this is where you will really have an impact in the future and leave a legacy.
                                To be honest, I thought he hadn't been playing too badly in the firsts.