• Throughandthrough

Re: Peter Gordon Does it Again

ESSENDON
    SLOGAN: Essendon will launch a new membership slogan in the new year.

That will never catch on.

• BulldogBelle

Having just watched Breaking Bad, I fully endorse changing our slogan from Gather the pack to We are the danger. By far the greatest football club slogan ever

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
        True, but when you factor in how little success we have had, the thrashings and our demographic, it's still amazing we are only a few thousand behind North, Dees and St Kilda.
        North are a joke. Not much a silver lining.
        Dees should've been deregistered and with their last decade, that they have more members, ain't a silver lining.
        Saints are a rabble. The constant off field of their club is an embarrassment for the league. Again, not a silver lining.

We are a proud, ethical and responsible citizen in the football world. We leak members higher than any other club. We have horrible issues in membership that do not seem to be able to be rectified. I remember a decade ago we were said to be losing 6,000 members each year. Peter Gordon recently said that over the past 6 years, we've lost more members than our tally. If we could but that loss by 50% over that period we would have around 45,000 members.

There is so much to be excited about this season, but we are in deep debt, have less footy dept spending than the big clubs, relied on our president giving a million dollars and a membership problem that won't fix. It's not about half full, OR half empty. I'm half full about the season, but I'm half empty on our dollars and especially membership, hence why I advocate looking at Tassie games. We shouldn't let onfield excitement wallpaper over the cracks, but I'm not suggesting you are, but we can't ignore the problems as even at our peak 5 years ago, we only saw a fractional rise in membership, and then lost more than the rise within a few years. Success onfield is only a small part.

Originally posted by St 07
          Having just watched Breaking Bad, I fully endorse changing our slogan from Gather the pack to We are the danger. By far the greatest football club slogan ever
          Maybe we could drop Cede Nullis and replace it with whatever the Latin is for We Are The Danger?

• Ghost Dog
            • May 2010

Nice one T and T.
            Bombers - "whatever it takes" should be " We take whatever!"

B-Tragic, I guess that's the point with 'gather the pack', to try and get these members back. Here's hoping Peter will charm them back. He does a pretty good job on Radio.

If they gave awards for 'most improved club' I think it would be us. You go down to Whitten Oval these days and it just keeps getting more professional. The number of AFL memberships is at an all time high, and if we can win more games, keep improving the brand and get a high profile player, the numbers will grow.
            Last edited by Ghost Dog; 10-02-2014, 06:15 PM.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
              Nice one T and T.
              Bombers - "whatever it takes" should be " We take whatever!"

B-Tragic, I guess that's the point with 'gather the pack', to try and get these members back.
              Exactly, we've taken the coolade so it's tapping into the psyche of people who are for some reason willing to join and equally willing to not renew. This is what frustrates me so much, because I don't see it in my mind, I can't understand if it's the club or the types of mind sets of members not renewing. I have numerous family members in that boat, and it shites me to tears... I genuinely think if we can stem the losses then things can turn around. The club needs members now, not just when were playing deep into September, another 10,000 members makes us far more competitive off field with the top teams, not to mention paying our debts.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
                • Oct 2009

Dees should've been deregistered and with their last decade, that they have more members, ain't a silver lining.
                Saints are a rabble. The constant off field of their club is an embarrassment for the league. Again, not a silver lining.

We are a proud, ethical and responsible citizen in the football world. We leak members higher than any other club. We have horrible issues in membership that do not seem to be able to be rectified. I remember a decade ago we were said to be losing 6,000 members each year. Peter Gordon recently said that over the past 6 years, we've lost more members than our tally. If we could but that loss by 50% over that period we would have around 45,000 members.

There is so much to be excited about this season, but we are in deep debt, have less footy dept spending than the big clubs, relied on our president giving a million dollars and a membership problem that won't fix. It's not about half full, OR half empty. I'm half full about the season, but I'm half empty on our dollars and especially membership, hence why I advocate looking at Tassie games. We shouldn't let onfield excitement wallpaper over the cracks, but I'm not suggesting you are, but we can't ignore the problems as even at our peak 5 years ago, we only saw a fractional rise in membership, and then lost more than the rise within a few years. Success onfield is only a small part.
                Equalization and sustained on field success would seem to be our best options in turning the Club around. I like your Tassie thoughts but realistically doubt whether it will happen.The AFL needs to get serious if it wants the WB North Demons and Saints to remain a viable part of the competition not helped by the generous draft concessions given to GWS and Gold Coast Suns.
                Clearly our Board led by Peter Gordon, Coaching and MC plus Recruitment, needs to be the best possible for us to overcome the odds.

• doggies ftw
                  • Dec 2013

I know its frustrating so many supporters aren't still signed up but I see that as a positive, it means we have the support there we just need to convince them to sign up, which is easier than convincing people to support the club. All we need to do is keep on going the way we are and with some decent success the member base will rise quickly, then with some exciting footy and TV exposure we should be able to pick up some more, especially from the west.

BT makes some salient points.
                    What annoys me is the annoyance of the draw, the Free to air exposure( lack of it)
                    Yes we have some apathetic fans, and we just can't afford it.
                    Yesterday's tally was at 21,000 and I think 35,000 is obtainable( we need a good start)

Thanks guys.

The problem with 'equalisation' is I don't think it will be a genuine attempt at what I think equalisation should be. Giving us some money to let us exist so the top teams can play a variety teams is not what is going to bring the club anything relevant. I may be reading the tea leaves wrong, but I don't get a sense it's genuine access to full equalisation.

As for TV, and ultimately attendances, we got screwed this year. The teams we play twice won't draw crowds, and the Sunday afternoons will hurt membership. Look at the thread from the time, upper level doggies members are considering dropping levels because it just doesn't work. Good Friday could have been given to us this year for instance. Going to Cairns puzzles me.

As far as I see it, the club seems to able to attract members but not retain them. Success will bring more in, but like 5 years ago, they leave when we really need them. That said I'm excited, pumped even for this year, but I have one eye glued to membership and then the flow on such as expenditure, debt etc. I think we have Hhe team off field to do it, but membership leakage could kill us.

• Ghost Dog
                        • May 2010

What I think Peter brings is a more nuanced understanding of the 'community' aspect of Bulldogism that fell away for a while and hasn't really returned for many fans. I must say that the process in the past of getting a membership wasn't always smooth, or even just renewing. I sometimes would go shopping at the Bulldogs shop at Whitten oval and the staff were not Bulldogs fans, or that enthusiastic. Just small things, but they all add up. It felt like something very corporate had taken over the club. I think Peter really gets the culture, and what it means to be a member. I can see changes in small ways, positive changes.The Museum, which is small but very important, even spiritual. They new photos of the players, taken in the old style. Trying to make the cheersquad a family friendly zone. These are small things but very important and ( I don't know for sure, but suspect ) they have the touch of Peter about them.

Has Peter gone too far with these words? Has he put the pressure on like Smorgo did to Rocket?
                          No. And No. I reckon it's actually a pretty good summary of 'where we are at'. There will be some surprised sides, and some who will struggle the next week after playing us, this coming season.

Maybe we could drop Cede Nullis and replace it with whatever the Latin is for We Are The Danger?
                            Not quite the literal translation but;

"periculum non Bulldogs nos periculum"

• BulldogBelle

Originally posted by Greystache

Fantastic! How about "we are the one who knocks" (on the door to the top 8)

BB people will know it.

Originally posted by Greystache

What does it actually mean?