TF is this?.........Obviously you're not a golfer.Comment
Re: AFL reaches in-principle agreement with Tasmania for 19th team
I believe the indigenous name for Tasmania is Iutruwita.
How about some other indigenous fauna, combined with Iutruwita...The Iutruwita Dragons? The Iutruwita Wombats? The Iutruwita Bandicoots? The Iutruwita Scrubtits?
Or if Iutruwita is too much, google tells me (and the people in charge would need to do more research!) that the indigenous name for the Tassie Devil is purinina. So the Tasmanian Purinina, with an emblem of a 'Tassie Devil'.
As a country we do a poor job of promoting and learning the indigenous languages, and the history of genocide in Tasmania in particular is shocking. This could be used as a stepping stone to larger conversations and appreciation of first nations culture.Comment
Love it.
I personally like the idea of having both the indigenous and current names.
Like Iutruwita Tasmania Wombats.
Although it's probably not practical in terms of length.
Also love the idea of Wombats.
Totally under appreciated marsupial. I mean they have square crap. You can't top that.BT COME BACK!
Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
I believe the indigenous name for Tasmania is Iutruwita.
How about some other indigenous fauna, combined with Iutruwita...The Iutruwita Dragons? The Iutruwita Wombats? The Iutruwita Bandicoots? The Iutruwita Scrubtits?
Or if Iutruwita is too much, google tells me (and the people in charge would need to do more research!) that the indigenous name for the Tassie Devil is purinina. So the Tasmanian Purinina, with an emblem of a 'Tassie Devil'.
As a country we do a poor job of promoting and learning the indigenous languages, and the history of genocide in Tasmania in particular is shocking. This could be used as a stepping stone to larger conversations and appreciation of first nations culture.Park that car
Dream about meComment
If you think the Channel 7 commentary team are going to be able to pronounce Iutruwita or say Scrubtits without giggling like 11 yo boys you just don't know them. Besides, doing this would be more like action rather than lip service, and that's not how the AFL works."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
It's great that a heartland state will now have a team but the hard work is now in front of all concerned
For starters they'll need to fix and strengthen the local competition and develop a strong junior football program.
Then set-up a VFL side and in time start drafting and recruiting players.
5 years sounds like a lot of time but there is so much to get done and they'll need to get things set-up quickly.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
If you think the Channel 7 commentary team are going to be able to pronounce Iutruwita or say Scrubtits without giggling like 11 yo boys you just don't know them. Besides, doing this would be more like action rather than lip service, and that's not how the AFL works.
I like Wurundjeri Footscray Bulldogs as a name. I focus grouped it with some bogans I know (good ones) and they said it's too long.
Probably right.BT COME BACK!
If you think the Channel 7 commentary team are going to be able to pronounce Iutruwita or say Scrubtits without giggling like 11 yo boys you just don't know them. Besides, doing this would be more like action rather than lip service, and that's not how the AFL works.Comment
Of course Eddie Maguire mentioned that it will be difficult due to the current social upheaval in the NT, because he watches lots of Sky after Dark.Park that car
Dream about meComment
Tasmania Forests, Tasmania Loggers, Tasmania Bob Browns, just spit balling.
Or (stay with me here)...the LambiesPark that car
Dream about meComment
If you think the Channel 7 commentary team are going to be able to pronounce Iutruwita or say Scrubtits without giggling like 11 yo boys you just don't know them. Besides, doing this would be more like action rather than lip service, and that's not how the AFL works.Comment
BT COME BACK!