Re: AFL reaches in-principle agreement with Tasmania for 19th team

What happens to gather round, one team misses
    You just clocked the internet.

Seriously though, by then it will be held in Victoria so we'll get the bye and have to travel to Perth each side of it. Which is only fair.

20 teams probably - they maybe have one year where a team just goes and does clinics or something before the 20th team comes in.

• jazzadogs
          • Oct 2008

I believe the indigenous name for Tasmania is Iutruwita.

How about some other indigenous fauna, combined with Iutruwita...The Iutruwita Dragons? The Iutruwita Wombats? The Iutruwita Bandicoots? The Iutruwita Scrubtits?

Or if Iutruwita is too much, google tells me (and the people in charge would need to do more research!) that the indigenous name for the Tassie Devil is purinina. So the Tasmanian Purinina, with an emblem of a 'Tassie Devil'.

As a country we do a poor job of promoting and learning the indigenous languages, and the history of genocide in Tasmania in particular is shocking. This could be used as a stepping stone to larger conversations and appreciation of first nations culture.

Love it.

I personally like the idea of having both the indigenous and current names.

Like Iutruwita Tasmania Wombats.

Although it's probably not practical in terms of length.

Also love the idea of Wombats.

Totally under appreciated marsupial. I mean they have square crap. You can't top that.
            Last edited by Grantysghost; 04-05-2023, 10:04 AM. Reason: name wrong

While it's still a few years away there was some talk that a home team might play on a Thursday and then front up again on the following Wednesday.

• The Underdog

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                I believe the indigenous name for Tasmania is Iutruwita.

How about some other indigenous fauna, combined with Iutruwita...The Iutruwita Dragons? The Iutruwita Wombats? The Iutruwita Bandicoots? The Iutruwita Scrubtits?

Or if Iutruwita is too much, google tells me (and the people in charge would need to do more research!) that the indigenous name for the Tassie Devil is purinina. So the Tasmanian Purinina, with an emblem of a 'Tassie Devil'.

As a country we do a poor job of promoting and learning the indigenous languages, and the history of genocide in Tasmania in particular is shocking. This could be used as a stepping stone to larger conversations and appreciation of first nations culture.
                If you think the Channel 7 commentary team are going to be able to pronounce Iutruwita or say Scrubtits without giggling like 11 yo boys you just don't know them. Besides, doing this would be more like action rather than lip service, and that's not how the AFL works.

Originally posted by The Underdog
                  If you think the Channel 7 commentary team are going to be able to pronounce Iutruwita or say Scrubtits without giggling like 11 yo boys you just don't know them. Besides, doing this would be more like action rather than lip service, and that's not how the AFL works.
                  I thought the Iutruwita Footy Factory was almost as strong as the Calder Cannons?

It's great that a heartland state will now have a team but the hard work is now in front of all concerned
                    For starters they'll need to fix and strengthen the local competition and develop a strong junior football program.
                    Then set-up a VFL side and in time start drafting and recruiting players.

5 years sounds like a lot of time but there is so much to get done and they'll need to get things set-up quickly.

It's true.

I like Wurundjeri Footscray Bulldogs as a name. I focus grouped it with some bogans I know (good ones) and they said it's too long.

Probably right.

• bulldogsthru&thru

You mean like how Tom Browne said last night that it'd be wonderful to have the 20th team in the NT as an indigenous all-star team would be fantastic?

• The Underdog

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
                          You mean like how Tom Browne said last night that it'd be wonderful to have the 20th team in the NT as an indigenous all-star team would be fantastic?
                          It's well known that all indigenous players are from the NT and would be happy to go back there to play. Tom is very smart.
                          Of course Eddie Maguire mentioned that it will be difficult due to the current social upheaval in the NT, because he watches lots of Sky after Dark.

• The Underdog

Tasmania Forests, Tasmania Loggers, Tasmania Bob Browns, just spit balling.

Or (stay with me here)...the Lambies

• jazzadogs
                              • Oct 2008

I did have a giggle to myself about how bogan white Australia would react - 'woke culture GONE MAD' - but I think we can do better than Melbourne renaming themselves Naarm for one week each year.

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                                I did have a giggle to myself about how bogan white Australia would react - 'woke culture GONE MAD' - but I think we can do better than Melbourne renaming themselves Naarm for one week each year.
                                Melbourne :