• Maddog37
    • Nov 2010

Re: Brendan McCartney has Brian Lake in his sights

All in all no matter who is to blame the Lake issue was a debacle. Probably no one is completely innocent. I hope the issues are addressed on both sides and we move onwards and upwards.

I would rather have a fit and firing Lake than a fit and firing assistant coach if all things are equal.

I will also admit I am a massive Lake fan not just for the way he plays, but the way he treated our family at a training session when we went down once. He was genuine and friendly where others where aloof and business like. He virtually cemented the loyalty of my kids to the Dogs and if he goes I would be gutted.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
      • Oct 2009

Well is this true or not

Tried to hide the last one?

Anfo27's boss said he came back from holiday and wanted to have the operations after that. Well, he had two ops pre his holiday, according to Mantis and tried to hide the third. So confirmed partially.

Either way, I feel Brian was not handled well by the MC. He may be mentally weak, but you don't ignore that either. You have to deal with it in the right way.
      The Club erred in playing the Lake saga out into the
      Media. Strong clubs have the ability to keep these matters in house. Little point in arguing who was right or wrong. Suffice to say I felt Lake's interview on the footy show last week smacked of a lack of maturity.

Just on Lake.
        Before the start of the season the club and Eade kept confirming that he would be right to go from round one when it was apparent that wasn't achievable. I'm not sure if this weighed heavily on Lake or not but he was in some way set-up to fail or at the very least disappoint a lot of the fans. I don't think he handled things well but mistakes were made by both parties.

I'm taking last year as a one off and I'd expect our new coach to get him back on track pretty quickly. With Lake back anchoring the backline I think we can make a lot of improvement next season.

Just on Lake.
          Before the start of the season the club and Eade kept confirming that he would be right to go from round one when it was apparent that wasn't achievable. I'm not sure if this weighed heavily on Lake or not but he was in some way set-up to fail or at the very least disappoint a lot of the fans. I don't think he handled things well but mistakes were made by both parties.

I'm taking last year as a one off and I'd expect our new coach to get him back on track pretty quickly. With Lake back anchoring the backline I think we can make a lot of improvement next season.
          A mate was talking to Lake pre-round one and Lake said the club was trying to get him to play the following week ie rd 2 or 3, but he said to my mate that he would not be ready for at least 5 weeks.

This was one of Eade's biggest faults as a coach. He persisted with playing injured players; Lake, Johnson and Higgins spring to mind. All three were clearly (and badly) not ready/under performing.

• Topdog

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
              This was one of Eade's biggest faults as a coach. He persisted with playing injured players; Lake, Johnson and Higgins spring to mind. All three were clearly (and badly) not ready/under performing.
              Agreed, although I include our match committee and doctors in the criticism.

Apparently Dunstall said on triple m radio they would love lake but not enough room in the salary cap.

Originally posted by azabob
                  Apparently Dunstall said on triple m radio they would love lake but not enough room in the salary cap.
                  Heard that also. He stated that Lake doesn't fit their Age category as well.
                  I reckon he'll stay, I can't see anyone taking his salary and giving up sufficient picks.

Originally posted by Maddog37
                    All in all no matter who is to blame the Lake issue was a debacle. Probably no one is completely innocent. I hope the issues are addressed on both sides and we move onwards and upwards.

I would rather have a fit and firing Lake than a fit and firing assistant coach if all things are equal.

I will also admit I am a massive Lake fan not just for the way he plays, but the way he treated our family at a training session when we went down once. He was genuine and friendly where others where aloof and business like. He virtually cemented the loyalty of my kids to the Dogs and if he goes I would be gutted.
                    That sounds fair enough too. Good to hear Bryza making the effort.

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                      Heard that also. He stated that Lake doesn't fit their Age category as well.
                      I reckon he'll stay, I can't see anyone taking his salary and giving up sufficient picks.
                      Not even for a flag? Hawthorn could really use him for the next two years as they challenge.

Originally posted by 1eyedog
                        Not even for a flag? Hawthorn could really use him for the next two years as they challenge.
                        Just quoting Dunstall on dribble M.
                        Funny they got Cameron Bruce in ( think they regret that) he'd be near 30

• Ghost Dog
                          • May 2010

lake set to stay, as reoprted in the age today.

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                            Just quoting Dunstall on dribble M.
                            Funny they got Cameron Bruce in ( think they regret that) he'd be near 30
                            Yes indeed. I think he's beyond 30 now. He had a very good year at Melbourne before he went to Hawthorn, looks like the Ds got out of that one very nicely.

Pity to see a favourite son move like that at the end of his career, seeing Doug in a Fitzroy jumper never sat too well.

• Missing Dog

Originally posted by Nuggety Back Pocket
                              The only reason you would play Lake forward is out of sheer desperation. He is simply a natural defender and a good one at that. Providing Lake';s body is fit and well, he should return to his former self in a defence that badly lacks his class and brilliance. McCartney could just be the right tonic to get the best out of Brian Lake.
                              I actually don't think he is a natural defender. He had ONE great season as AA Full-back, (in the season his contract expired).

IMO defenders need to be able to make good decisions under pressure-especially in today's forward-press- more often than forwards. For all his plaudits-and I know he is a fan favourite in these parts- he has a history of doing some of the "dumbest" things you can as a full back.

It wasn't by co-incidence that Eade had so many goes at him, and I've done the same in the stands : he just does some really dumb and costly things at times. His decision-making is BAD.

So as full-forward he has to 1. lead and win a contested mark 2. kick it at the goals. 3. Thats it. More in-line with Brian's decision-making skills.

• Missing Dog

Originally posted by Topdog
                                Agreed, although I include our match committee and doctors in the criticism.

Interesting that Dr Zimmerman on the Grand Final suggested that Podsiadly's shoulder could be popped back in and he should be back for the rest of the game. Pods was stretchered off, a few minutes later it was announced he was gone for the rest of the game, and his shoulder was tightly-bandaged. I think he also down-played the extent of the impact of a few other injuries. I don't expect any doctor to make a diagnosis over a video of an in jury, but that which is exactly i would have expected him to say, yet he was quick on the "She'll be right, Pods will be back in 20 minutes" attitude.

Maybe it suggests our medico's take a less cautious approach to player injuries?