• Ghost Dog
    • May 2010

Re: Lost Dogs home plea

Originally posted by alexxx
    Strongly agree. The supporters don't want a random person from the membership department calling them asking why they hadn't signed up again and if they were interested. If it was someone like Bob Murphy or Boydy, I think it would be a different story. Maybe listen to the reasons why they haven't signed up again and ask if they are interested, highlight some positives for joining up as a member.

If I didn't rejoin due to this years performance so far, and Bob called and asked me why I hadn't and wanted me to sign me up over the phone, I would find it hard to say no because I would appreciate the players using their time to assist the club.
    Lost Dog: Hello?
    Barry Hall: G'day , Barry here
    LD: um, who?
    B: Bazza, you know, former Bulldog full forward also known as Baz.
    LD: Jeezus..I mean g'day Bazza
    B: Just calling to see why the *BEEP* you haven't re-joined the dogs...mate
    LD: * silence*
    B: *Heavy breathing*...... By the way, got your address son.
    LD: (Fumbles for credit card. )

Like it ^^^^^. We need a version of the Kray Brothers

Originally posted by Mantis
        That's your opinion and an opinion not shared by all.
        I buy a membership for 2 reasons:

1. To support the club.
        You agreed with me.

Not shared by all is why we have less than 30,000 members.

Performances like we saw on Saturday where we kicked 2 goals up until junk time in the last qtr do nothing to entertain me and have me thinking that there is better ways to spend my time and money... And I'm not alone with these views.
        Yes hard to watch a game like that, but true supporters stick through thick and thin.

What a crock.

All supporters are free to do whatever they want with their money.

1. To support the club.
            2. Use the ticket to gain access to games I attend.

The reason I go games is to be entertained. Performances like we saw on Saturday where we kicked 2 goals up until junk time in the last qtr do nothing to entertain me and have me thinking that there is better ways to spend my time and money... And I'm not alone with these views.
            I'm kind of glad I didn't drive the 3 hours each way to watch that performance we put on.

• westdog54

1. To support the club.
              2. Use the ticket to gain access to games I attend.

The reason I go games is to be entertained
              . Performances like we saw on Saturday where we kicked 2 goals up until junk time in the last qtr do nothing to entertain me and have me thinking that there is better ways to spend my time and money... And I'm not alone with these views.
              I'm left wondering which order these are prioritised for you.

If we were to win a premiership by playing a boring, un-entertaining style of football would you forgo the celebrations owing to your lack of amusement?

Originally posted by chef
                I'm kind of glad I didn't drive the 3 hours each way to watch that performance we put on.
                I only had to walk (45 minutes each way) and still feel like I wasted my time.

Any weekends I get in Melbourne are precious, and every game I get to is a bonus, but that left me wondering why I bothered, which is really sad. There have been pretty bad days (some of those losses to the Eagles in the late 2000s, various prelims), but spending 3 hours watching that on the weekend was up there in the "this is all getting too hard" stakes.

Players and coaches have a natural shelf-life at a club, so they can give their all for 5-10 years then walk away. Some of us paying fans have been fronting up for decades, I think it's natural we get a bit tired/over it after 20-50 years of disappointment.

I think it's amazing that a club that hasn't won anything for a long time and has no prospect of winning anything for a while still gets nearly 30,000 people to give it a significant amount of money every year... if there's any club's supporters that need to be congratulated, not berated, for sticking through a lot of thin, it's Dogs fans.

Originally posted by westdog54

If we were to win a premiership by playing a boring, un-entertaining style of football would you forgo the celebrations owing to your lack of amusement?
                  Thought the same thing myself when I read Mantis's post!

Saints footy, anyone?

ps. I want to be entertained, but winning ugly entertains me so that's my two cents.

Winning is entertaining.

Originally posted by Lantern
                      Thought the same thing myself when I read Mantis's post!

Saints footy, anyone?

ps. I want to be entertained, but winning ugly entertains me so that's my two cents.
                      My point was also about being a member of a club, not just membership to go to games. The club needs to create this and give more bang for your bucks as part of the membership. So members feel they are part of the exclusive club of the Westernbulldogs.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by G-Mo77
                        I think it's fortunate for us that we do have a pretty loyal foundation of members. If we lost every game this year you'd probably get 20-22k that will still sign up regardless. I remember reading we have a pretty strong social club as well although I'd be interested to see the numbers in that now that a grand final seems so far away.
                        They say there are 'still packages available' for SC. Based on the first couple of games at home this year, it's been pretty well attended. They've had Baz (Rd 1) and Christian Howard (Rd 3) interviewed pre-game, which was good - or I should say, would've been good if people hadn't talked through it! That really bugged me, people complain about not getting value out of SC membership, the club tries to add value to it, and they rudely talk. At least Kevin Hillier had a go at them (several times).

My brothers team Collingwood something I admire with them is that there supporters sign up no matter how they are going. They are very loyal. It is disappointing when we are going bad and people drop out and don't care anymore. Being a supporter you have to go through the highs and lows of the club not just the good times. That is what it is to be a supporter.

• AndrewP6

My point was also about being a member of a club, not just membership to go to games. The club needs to create this and give more bang for your bucks as part of the membership. So members feel they are part of the exclusive club of the Westernbulldogs.
                            They tried to do this by interviewing people in the social club, and people just talk through it.

Do you think bornadog obviously we are not going to go back to it and I don't want to discuss this issue but if we had success and got supporters as a result do you think we would have stayed as the Footscray Football Club and never changed to the Western Bulldogs.

Originally posted by westdog54

You tell me what is boring, un-entertaining footy and I'll tell you if I like it.

If it's anything like I witnessed the other night then the answer is yes... I hate it.