Goldstein decision 'wrong'

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Bornadog
    WOOF Clubhouse Leader
    • Jan 2007
    • 67706

    #16
    Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

    Originally posted by HairyMidget
    someone set me straight on this ^
    I was under the impression a mark is deemed "prior opportunity" ? By that I mean if a player marks the ball he has a free kick, from there if he plays on then he "had" prior opportunity? A player hasn't played on untill the umpire has said "play on" so as soon as that happens, any incorrect disposal is a free to the opposition player?

    In this case it is either holding the ball, or 50m because the umpire didn't call play on.
    That is not the case. A player who takes a mark and plays on (like Goldstein) is considered the same as a player who receives a hand ball on the run. Just by taking a mark, does not automatically imply you've had a prior opportunity.

    If a player takes a mark, goes back, takes his time, and is called to play on by the umpire and then tackled, he is considered to have had a prior opportunity.
    FFC: Established 1883

    Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.

    Comment

    • LostDoggy
      WOOF Member
      • Jan 2007
      • 8307

      #17
      Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

      Originally posted by NoseBleed
      Goldstein decision 'wrong'
      No shit.

      Comment

      • ratsmac
        WOOF Member
        • May 2009
        • 3975

        #18
        Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

        Originally posted by Lantern
        No shit.
        haha you stole my thunder Lantern! My thoughts exactly.
        They've done studies you know, 60% of the time, it works every time!
        Brian Fantana.

        Comment

        • Before I Die
          Senior Player
          • Jul 2008
          • 1033

          #19
          Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

          Originally posted by bornadog
          That is not the case. A player who takes a mark and plays on (like Goldstein) is considered the same as a player who receives a hand ball on the run. Just by taking a mark, does not automatically imply you've had a prior opportunity.

          If a player takes a mark, goes back, takes his time, and is called to play on by the umpire and then tackled, he is considered to have had a prior opportunity.
          But as HairyMidget points out, if the umpire hasn't called 'play on' then it would be a 50 metre penalty, and if they have had time to call 'play on' then the player has had enough time to be deemed to have had 'prior opportunity.
          The Angels have the phone box. [SIZE="2"]Don't blink![/SIZE]

          Comment

          • jazzadogs
            Bulldog Team of the Century
            • Oct 2008
            • 5853

            #20
            Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

            Originally posted by bornadog
            That is not the case. A player who takes a mark and plays on (like Goldstein) is considered the same as a player who receives a hand ball on the run. Just by taking a mark, does not automatically imply you've had a prior opportunity.

            If a player takes a mark, goes back, takes his time, and is called to play on by the umpire and then tackled, he is considered to have had a prior opportunity.
            I've also heard that explanation over the last few days and it is, IMO, absolutely ridiculous.

            If someone takes a mark, they have the opportunity to go back and take the kick. They decide to play on and not take that opportunity. To me, that HAS to be seen as prior opportunity. Crazy of the umpiring department to see it otherwise.

            Comment

            • Flamethrower
              Senior Player
              • Oct 2009
              • 1401

              #21
              Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

              Originally posted by jazzadogs
              I've also heard that explanation over the last few days and it is, IMO, absolutely ridiculous.

              If someone takes a mark, they have the opportunity to go back and take the kick. They decide to play on and not take that opportunity. To me, that HAS to be seen as prior opportunity. Crazy of the umpiring department to see it otherwise.
              Common sense would see it umpired like this, but unfortunately the AFL rule book doesn't - it states that a player who is awarded a mark or free kick is not automatically deemed to have had prior opportunity if they choose to play on. It is umpired the same way as if they receive a handball or gather a loose ball.

              Regardless of this, Goldstein had ample opportunity to dispose of the ball correctly and should have been penalised for incorrect disposal. The umpire stuffed it up, plain and simple.
              Or maybe he was feeling sorry for Lindsay "Couldn't hit water if he fell out of a boat" Thomas.
              Footscray member since 1980.

              Comment

              • Bornadog
                WOOF Clubhouse Leader
                • Jan 2007
                • 67706

                #22
                Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                Originally posted by jazzadogs
                I've also heard that explanation over the last few days and it is, IMO, absolutely ridiculous.

                If someone takes a mark, they have the opportunity to go back and take the kick. They decide to play on and not take that opportunity. To me, that HAS to be seen as prior opportunity. Crazy of the umpiring department to see it otherwise.
                My explanation is from an umpire
                FFC: Established 1883

                Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.

                Comment

                • NoseBleed
                  WOOF Member
                  • Jun 2008
                  • 202

                  #23
                  Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                  Originally posted by bornadog
                  Who are these?
                  Gia, Grant, Jones, Campbell.

                  They all spent the first part of the season trying to highlight illegal contact instead of just getting on with marking/getting the ball.

                  This week, it was get the ball first, get noticed for the illegal contact second.

                  Result? More marks in the forward line, more free's in the forward line, more forwards keeping their feet and wining the ball rather than lying down and whining about perceived frees, more forwards available to help each other get the ball and score goals.

                  N.B.

                  Comment

                  • jazzadogs
                    Bulldog Team of the Century
                    • Oct 2008
                    • 5853

                    #24
                    Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                    Originally posted by bornadog
                    My explanation is from an umpire
                    Not disputing that it is the way umpires view it. Just that it's ridiculous that is the way they are taught.

                    Comment

                    • Bornadog
                      WOOF Clubhouse Leader
                      • Jan 2007
                      • 67706

                      #25
                      Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                      Originally posted by jazzadogs
                      Not disputing that it is the way umpires view it. Just that it's ridiculous that is the way they are taught.
                      They are taught to follow the rules. I understand what you are saying, the rule is incorrect.
                      FFC: Established 1883

                      Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.

                      Comment

                      • Ghost Dog
                        WOOF Member
                        • May 2010
                        • 9404

                        #26
                        Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                        Originally posted by jazzadogs
                        Not disputing that it is the way umpires view it. Just that it's ridiculous that is the way they are taught.
                        But it was the wrong call. Giesch said so. They are not taught to make decisions like that.
                        You don't develop courage by being happy in your relationships every day. You develop it by surviving difficult times and challenging adversity. ― Epicurus

                        Comment

                        • LostDoggy
                          WOOF Member
                          • Jan 2007
                          • 8307

                          #27
                          Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                          Originally posted by bornadog
                          That is not the case. A player who takes a mark and plays on (like Goldstein) is considered the same as a player who receives a hand ball on the run. Just by taking a mark, does not automatically imply you've had a prior opportunity.
                          I'm not going to say you are wrong, but I'd like to see the rules of that one?
                          Every time you see a player take a mark, play on, then get tackled, it's a holding the ball decision. I really thought you are forfeiting "prior" if you play on.

                          Comment

                          • soupman
                            Bulldog Team of the Century
                            • Nov 2007
                            • 5161

                            #28
                            Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                            Originally posted by jazzadogs
                            I've also heard that explanation over the last few days and it is, IMO, absolutely ridiculous.

                            If someone takes a mark, they have the opportunity to go back and take the kick. They decide to play on and not take that opportunity. To me, that HAS to be seen as prior opportunity. Crazy of the umpiring department to see it otherwise.
                            I understand that this isn't your opinion but it is bullshit.

                            It should realistically be exactly the same as the ruck contests where if you grab it you are deemed as having prior. If you take the mark and play on immediately you are immediately forfeiting the right to go back and have your kick. It isn't like you accidentally play on.
                            I should leave it alone but you're not right

                            Comment

                            • jazzadogs
                              Bulldog Team of the Century
                              • Oct 2008
                              • 5853

                              #29
                              Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                              Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                              But it was the wrong call. Giesch said so. They are not taught to make decisions like that.
                              Giesch only said it was the wrong decision because he ran a couple of metres after he played on, which would have been his prior opportunity.

                              If he'd only taken one step, the rule book/interpretation seems to be that it is not prior opportunity, and therefore should have been play on.

                              Comment

                              • LostDoggy
                                WOOF Member
                                • Jan 2007
                                • 8307

                                #30
                                Re: Goldstein decision 'wrong'

                                Originally posted by jazzadogs
                                If he'd only taken one step, the rule book/interpretation seems to be that it is not prior opportunity, and therefore should have been play on.
                                If he had taken one step it wouldn't be play on. One step is still in the momentum of the mark.
                                Last edited by LostDoggy; 17-05-2012, 06:57 AM. Reason: quote

                                Comment

                                Working...