Re: Footscary Recruits for 2018

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
    It wouldnt' be too hard to do as well. I like anything that adds a bit of sentiment. Each team gets to nominate say two guys from state league. Would also help the state league sides, players knowing going there instead of local comp could help their chance to get into or back to the AFL.
    If we spend a year or 2 coaching and developing a player, providing them with our IP etc I feel we should have first crack at them. Maybe adding in a threshold of x amount of games played as the criteria. It disadvantages the teams that don't have a stand alone VFL side but eventually, that won't be an issue.

It wouldnt' be too hard to do as well. I like anything that adds a bit of sentiment. Each team gets to nominate say two guys from state league. Would also help the state league sides, players knowing going there instead of local comp could help their chance to get into or back to the AFL.
      I've thought about it before. I can see ultra cashed up clubs with heaps of 'off the books' cash or jobs at sponsors buying the best talent for the VFL team, then by having them on their VFL list to then get them on the cheap into their AFL side (ie by bidding advantages at the draft). I'm not sure how that gets ironed out to have an equal and fair state league drafting process for all the clubs.

There's always that danger, and perhaps you'd cap it to one player a year.

• soupman

Simple.

The player must have previously nominated for the draft, meaning the only players that are eligible have been knocked back in the past already and the VFL experience has seen them improve to a draftable standard.

Originally posted by soupaman
            Simple.

The player must have previously nominated for the draft, meaning the only players that are eligible have been knocked back in the past already and the VFL experience has seen them improve to a draftable standard.
            There's something like 400 players nominate for the draft every year from memory (?). So previously having nominated for a draft will cover most, if not all of candidates. Then it's that the VFL experience to elevate them to draftable standard. So that's potentially as many as you can buy, unless there's a cap per year as comrade floated.

What about 23rd man players? Would they count? Or is there a minimum games played requirement? Or if players develop 'injuries' yet still get drafted by their club, is there any scrutiny?

What I'd do to rort a state based draft benefit is look at bringing in as many young players who have been offered a season to play overage in TAC and other junior comp's. Instead of them potentially developing as an overage player and having to pay full draft pick price, I'd bring them into a VFL set up and hope success happens inside my club and get them in the cheap. If I had lots of sponsors or jobs at sponsors, I'd hopefully get some players at some fraction of the draft pick required.

Not all clubs have their own VFL team so there can't be anything across the board in Victoria. Even if they could, for me a VFL team is about control of our listed players playing in roles we want them to, etc. I'm not sure there should be a benefit beyond this. I just see cashed up (and lacking in ethics) clubs using it worsen the current relative draft equity. Players should want to come to Footscray and train the house down and help around our afl players because of Hannan, Long & Gowers. Give 100% and you're a chance to be drafted by someone. But imagine all three of them if they were in the Essendon VFL set up, and Essendon getting them all on the cheap because some sponsors had some well paid day jobs going for them all.

Thinking more, I'd support what happens with father-sons if they don't get picked up in National Draft. That is, clubs could automatically pick them up using their last pick in the rookie draft. That's some benefit and reward for the club developing them.

• Rocco Jones

Definitely would need to be a cap on how many, as I said in my previous post, two players. Also, a cap on how much you could play them and DEFINITELY have to have been passed on in a draft.

We are working quicker than the AFEL or parliament on working on a policy.

Although I’d tweak it and go with one ND & one auto last pick rookie RD maximum per year. Not including 23rd players &/or otherwise on a junior list, and other restrictions/safeguards. Two years or more service to the state club too.

• Rocco Jones

We are working quicker than the AFEL or parliament on working on a policy.

Although I’d tweak it and go with one ND & one auto last pick rookie RD maximum per year. Not including 23rd players &/or otherwise on a junior list, and other restrictions/safeguards. Two years or more service to the state club too.
                  I definitely agree no more than one in the ND. They aren't automatic anyway, like father/son and academy.

comrade mentioned disadvantaged to teams without own VFL team. They could get the guys from VFL/state league club they have link to. Peel for Freo, Casey for Melbourne etc.

As long as you have rule that they must be passed over in one draft, I think safeguards aren't that important. Would a player sit out a year to play VFL footy just so he could get to club of choice?

I definitely agree no more than one in the ND. They aren't automatic anyway, like father/son and academy.

comrade mentioned disadvantaged to teams without own VFL team. They could get the guys from VFL/state league club they have link to. Peel for Freo, Casey for Melbourne etc.

As long as you have rule that they must be passed over in one draft, I think safeguards aren't that important. Would a player sit out a year to play VFL footy just so he could get to club of choice?
                    Moreso safeguards against less ethical clubs trying to rort a benefit. The players should have every right to an AFL opportunity at any club, it seems this is a mechanism that supports clubs that invest in VFL players to get a benefit from the effort. If clubs who don’t invest in their own VFL clubs, should they get the benefit of developing players that their affiliates do?

• The Doctor

Originally posted by The Doctor
                      Paul Amy linking Angus Monfries to Footscray
                      he's going again with it. In a playing/coaching/welfare role. Nothing official, yet!
                      Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

he's going again with it. In a playing/coaching/welfare role. Nothing official, yet!

I missed you posting last time. Monfries would be a great acquisition at VFL level as a player. He'd kick a few.

• The Doctor

sound like he's getting a job similar to what Brent Prismall had. What happened to Prismall?
                          Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

sound like he's getting a job similar to what Brent Prismall had. What happened to Prismall?
                            He got banned due to the drug scandal then I think he retired as a player.

• Bulldog Joe
                              Premiership Moderator
                              • Jul 2009

Prismall was working in the role in 2017, without the playing side.

Yep playing welfare officer.