Round 1 VFL - Footscray Bulldogs v Northern Bullants - Saturday 22 March 2025 • 7:10 PM

• Bigdog
    • Jan 2023

Not much to take from that game against sub standard opposition.

Cooper Craig Peters deserves a go on a afl list tho. I reckon he has the tools to be like Alex Neal Bullen. I reckon he looked better than Dom Brew in our intra clubs.

• doggies ftw
      • Dec 2013

Originally posted by Bornadog
      The fixture is really ridiclous. We have a bye next week then play April 5th followed by April 20th
      It’s actually ridiculous - if the AFL had any sense they’d get the comp wide reserves system going ASAP. We’re going to dampen the talent pool again with a 19th team when we can barely cope with 18. We need consistent footy and a high standard for the players outside of the 22 to improve it’s just crazy, such an easy fix

• doggies ftw
        • Dec 2013

Obviously can’t take a lot out of that opposition but lots of positives. Smith probably best on and the most dominant player on the field. Kennedy not far behind he was super impressive - not sure what position we see him in at AFL level?

Coffield was great and looks more mobile than last year, hopefully getting over his injury issues and I think he could be in pretty soon especially if Doc cant find his feet. We need his type. Buss is ready for a seniors debut, I really really like this kid I’m not sure what he’s missing - he is great as this level, deserves a crack.

Hynes is exciting, really like what he projects as, as a player. Won’t be long before he forces his way in too and long term I can see another key midfield piece here. Degoey clone IMO and another fwd/mid piece is always important.

Croft too is exciting, still don’t think we’ve scratched the surface of his ability I have no idea how good he could be yet. I think he’ll be in this week to be honest.

Theres a lot of young talent on this list and all in positions of need really - hopefully we see Jacques back soon too.

A few senior players are definitely on watch

• lemmon

Originally posted by doggies ftw
          Kennedy not far behind he was super impressive - not sure what position we see him in at AFL level?
          I thought he looked like a specialist inside mid. He was really vocal around the stoppages, did a lot of blocking and directing traffic, which was great to see from a kid on debut. He also looked happy to be around the bottom of packs and winning the footy.

He looks a bit slow on the outside, so I don't think his game necessarily translates to a wing or a flank, but I thought he looked terrific in that inside mid position.

His kicking is also outstanding and that seems like his point of difference. A well-rounded centre square midfielder who is an exceptional kick.

• josie
            • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Aidan7557

I think I am Croft's number one fan on this forum. I would have him in as soon as possible even if he is still a bit raw. Hard to find that wingmen/third forward.
            I second this. He has that I’m gonna be afl standard without being able to pin it down. Some of the run at ball high marks he took were damn good last night, albeit against below par opponents.
            Josie :)

Our day will come
            And we'll have everything.
            We'll share the joy
            Just like '54 again.

• Prince Imperial

It was a really small crowd there last night which is a shame.
              Met a couple of supporters who only follow the VFL side and they'll even go to interstate games.
              The game being on 7 Mate probably led to fewer attending. I would have travelled to it if it hadn't been.

• Hotdog60

Originally posted by doggies ftw
                Obviously can’t take a lot out of that opposition but lots of positives. Smith probably best on and the most dominant player on the field. Kennedy not far behind he was super impressive - not sure what position we see him in at AFL level?

Coffield was great and looks more mobile than last year, hopefully getting over his injury issues and I think he could be in pretty soon especially if Doc cant find his feet. We need his type. Buss is ready for a seniors debut, I really really like this kid I’m not sure what he’s missing - he is great as this level, deserves a crack.

Hynes is exciting, really like what he projects as, as a player. Won’t be long before he forces his way in too and long term I can see another key midfield piece here. Degoey clone IMO and another fwd/mid piece is always important.

Croft too is exciting, still don’t think we’ve scratched the surface of his ability I have no idea how good he could be yet. I think he’ll be in this week to be honest.

Theres a lot of young talent on this list and all in positions of need really - hopefully we see Jacques back soon too.

A few senior players are definitely on watch
                Buss was asked the question about what he has to work on and his reply was to be better one on one (bodying). So it sounds like the club is happy with most of his game just the one on one contests.

Originally posted by Prince Imperial

The game being on 7 Mate probably led to fewer attending. I would have travelled to it if it hadn't been.
                  I think you have nailed the reason why. It was a fantastic night to watch the footy and it wasn't just the time it was scheduled to play. The TV option probably worked against it.

Which players in your opinion put their hand up for a call up

• Prince Imperial

The opposition was so poor it's difficult to put too much weight on performances. NB after Carlton deserted them are completely out of their depth in this competition. We beat them 24 goals to 0 goals in 2023.

From this match and the practice matches I've seen Busslinger is the most deserving but with JOD likely available and Khamis performing well on Friday that won't happen. Buss is way ahead of Gardiner who has been average.

Croft, Smith, Kennedy and Hynes were all good last night but I believe need further development before being promoted. Coffield was also effective but this was his first full game this season.

Poulter has been pretty good in the VFL but he's not banging down the door.

Luke Kennedy is the type of player who is going to step up at AFL level. His inside game is strong, his kicking skills are bloody good the only query is his leg speed. I won’t be surprised if he becomes our Liberatore replacement in the next year or two.

There are a few around the mark but no one really knocked the door down
                          Coffield was solid, seemed to be moving better than last year but it wasn't against strong opposition.
                          Busslinger was quite good but he isn't dynamic with his play. For the right match up he could be worth considering
                          Croft and Hynes were okay
                          Poulter was good but those juggled marks were frustrating. He's close to earning a promotion but I wish he was more desperate.
                          Gardner was solid.
                          Kennedy was great but he's a way off. His athleticism needs some work.

Bornadog commented
                            Editing a comment
                            Thanks, a little disappointing in some ways.
                        • Stevo

Originally posted by jDogs
                          Muratore is a bit a gun!
                          Took the daughter with me last night. She quite liked Muratore

• Hot_Doggies
                            • May 2009

Busslinger still looks troubled by his shoulder. Towards the end of the 3rd quarter he was carrying it a little.

• Scott2016
                              • Dec 2024

Originally posted by kruder

Watching Poulter it just feels like his head isn't in the game, he has some AFL tools but yeah as you say isn't clean enough and more importantly consistent enough.
                              List clogger and taking the spot of a person who could be good in a few years