A Retrospect: Essendon Won 2017 Trade Week, They Score A+ ...

Re: A Retrospect: Essendon Won 2017 Trade Week, They Score A+ ...

I think that the bus has left the land of potentially legendary AFL footballers and Jake wasn't on it. He's too far behind the 8-ball to make his body into a weapon like Ablett or even Brad Johnson did. A few years ago they were comparing (and not undeservedly) to GAS saying that he was tracking the right way to emulate some of Ablett's feats and game style and a similiar career wasn't out if the question.

Can you see Jake ever getting to that stage again? Where people will be calling him the new Ablett? I can't, I just don't think he has it in him. My view is he will probably sign one more contract at Essendon an then maybe squeeze a couple more years out of bottom clubs or play local footy for a motza like Fev.

And trying to rise above club loyaltys and all the rest out of it that's just a tragedy for us, for footy and for Jake. A fit, firing and confident Jake Stringer is an excitement machine but there is just something in Jake that won't give that side of himself a sustained go.
    Yeah largely agree with you, but he is still young so you never know (though it would be surprising).

• Prince Imperial

I'd rate the trading period a C for them at this stage. Certainly not comparable to Rawlings, Koops, Street and Morgan for 6, 19, 20 and 35. That was pretty much an E-!

• boydogs
        • Apr 2009

Originally posted by Prince Imperial
        I'd rate the trading period a C for them at this stage. Certainly not comparable to Rawlings, Koops, Street and Morgan for 6, 19, 20 and 35. That was pretty much an E-!
        Their trade-ins are not the problem. Stringer would be our leading goalkicker by 8 goals. They have other weaknesses they didn't address but the players they got have been OK

We also brought in 3 players who are best 22 - but gained a first round pick.

We used our first rounders on Richards and Naughton who are definitely best 22 players. 5 best 22 players vs 3 best 22 players, plus Gowers as a rookie. I'm far more comfortable with our trade period now after thinking Schache was a last minute 'face saving' trade, I'm a convert.
          Wasn't keen on taking Naughton either as a KPD but he is incredible. Intercept marking defenders are the new CHFs - McGovern is a very good one and earns a million a season. Naughton will get to that level, I'm convinced.

So let’s compare our players and their player v player draft picks this year
            Stringer / gowers , stringer would win that, Richards/ Saad , Saad win,
            Smith / Naughton, Smith win.
            That’s going on this years output.
            I think that what your seeing out of Essendons 3 isn’t bad but it’s probably about all
            You will get from them . Consistent but nothing more than that , they will hold their own that’s about it.
            Our three are up and coming and still have a lot more upside to come, I expect our three to be a lot better in the long run even as early as next year.
            I wonder if we can compare players they delisted or traded to the three they got in, as pointed out they are actually lower on the ladder than last year so it’s a fail in that respect, but so Is ours if judged by ladder position.
            What’s Essendons injury list been like this year ? That also is something to take into account. I hate the bombers more than any other team but I try not to let that get in the way of facts.

In all honesty, Smith has been excellent for them and has an unparalleled work rate, they probably got Stringer for unders but he’s continued his prolonged stagnation, and Saad is a headless chook and not all that good.

Others have said it but these guys aren’t the problem and in a vacuum represent a good-not-great trade period. It’s that none of them assuage the Dons weaknesses. I personally think they should get back to their brand and find new and exciting ways to cheat.

• Bulldog Joe
                Premiership Moderator
                • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Happy Days
                In all honesty, Smith has been excellent for them and has an unparalleled work rate, they probably got Stringer for unders but he’s continued his prolonged stagnation, and Saad is a headless chook and not all that good.

Others have said it but these guys aren’t the problem and in a vacuum represent a good-not-great trade period. It’s that none of them assuage the Dons weaknesses. I personally think they should get back to their brand and find new and exciting ways to cheat.
                So what you are saying is that they should play to their strengths.

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
                  So what you are saying is that they should play to their strengths.
                  Pretty much. No one’s tried deflating footballs in the AFL yet so maybe they can workshop that over summer.

Originally posted by ledge
                    So let’s compare our players and their player v player draft picks this year
                    Stringer / gowers , stringer would win that, Richards/ Saad , Saad win,
                    Smith / Naughton, Smith win.
                    That’s going on this years output.
                    I think that what your seeing out of Essendons 3 isn’t bad but it’s probably about all
                    You will get from them . Consistent but nothing more than that , they will hold their own that’s about it.
                    Our three are up and coming and still have a lot more upside to come, I expect our three to be a lot better in the long run even as early as next year.
                    I wonder if we can compare players they delisted or traded to the three they got in, as pointed out they are actually lower on the ladder than last year so it’s a fail in that respect, but so Is ours if judged by ladder position.
                    What’s Essendons injury list been like this year ? That also is something to take into account. I hate the bombers more than any other team but I try not to let that get in the way of facts.
                    I don't agree that Stringer has been better than Gowers or that Saad has had a better year than Richards. I don't think I've seen Saad hit a target by foot in his life, and for value and output, Richards wins that race by miles I reckon, and maybe Stringer a neck ahead on some counts but Billy is so far out in front on others it's not funny,

Going on stats Stringer has been better , Saad better than Richards ,as in consistent and naughton/ smith both different players and I have no doubt in the coming years we will get a better return out of all three.

• Ozza

Originally posted by boydogs
                        Their trade-ins are not the problem. Stringer would be our leading goalkicker by 8 goals. They have other weaknesses they didn't address but the players they got have been OK
                        Tend to agree.
                        Devon Smith has played his career best footy this year, and they didn't over pay on the other two.

I guess the failure is in overrating their list that they thought that topping up with these three would make them a top 4 side.