Re: TAC Cup 2009

With a full squad, both are starting 18 in the biggest game of the year with another year of u/18 to go. That is truely delicious.

• Missing Dog

I have been exited about these 2 since my young bloke went to watch them play under 14s and came home saying nothing but Wallis Wallis Liberatore for 2 weeks have seen them play a couple of times and am also getting very keen for them to don the mighty tri-colours

I was talking to my mate Sean Tighe who plays for the Jets. Apparently Trent Mckenzie is actually keen on going up to Queensland and playing for the Gold Coast. He is a Bulldog supporter from Altona who is in Year 11 at St. Paul's College. I was always hoping we would draft him, he's going to be a good player.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
          There's another kid called Ward who can play a bit, too, they reckon.
          Nah, just some 20-game rule made up by some bloke. Will turn out to be a dud after all.

• The Coon Dog

GEELONG FALCONS - 15-5-95
            def
            CALDER CANNONS - 13.14.92

Geelong Falcons

Goal Kickers: J. Grabowski 4, J. Rock 3, M. Sodomaco 2, B. Cunnington 2, G. Rohan, A. Christensen, P. Flanagan, D. Semmens

Best Players:
            B. Cunnington, M. Sodomaco, L. Thompson, L. Dahlhaus, M. Fisher, B. MacLeod

Calder Cannons

Goal Kickers: L. Mitchell 3, T. Lucin 2, M. Wallis 2, J. Melksham, J. Carlisle, D. Talia, T. Hunter, A. Duhau, B. McCann

Best Players: M. Wallis, T. Liberatore, J. Carlisle, D. Tydell, T. Lucin, T. Hine

The boys just keep performing! Just think, they both still have another year at this level, hopefully they'll continue to improve. It's back to school footy for them now for a while.

Is anyone getting excited by these 2?

I AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If Mal Lynch isn't there in 2011 then the numbers 24 & 39 can be given due homage.

Result - Sporting Pulse

TAC Cup
            Author - Unknown
            [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Am rubbing my hands already TCD.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by JH40
                Am rubbing my hands already TCD.
                I think a few of us are.
                [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• Scorlibo

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                  The boys just keep performing! Just think, they both still have another year at this level, hopefully they'll continue to improve. It's back to school footy for them now for a while.

I AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  I AM TOO!!

I'm itching to get a report from comrade! Absolute dream this is to have two top quality players spend their junior playing days together in the midfield.

Who needs Gary "Son of God" Ablett when you've got Mitch and Tom "Sons of Sons of the West" Wallis and Liberatore!
                  'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by Scorlibo

I'm itching to get a report from comrade!
                    I got a text from him at half time & he said they were both quiet, so it came as a bit of a surprise to read the results from Sporting Pulse.

More & more I think the Football Department looked very long term last draft. 3 talls & usually it takes a few years before they develop. I reckon they pretty much knew that in 2010 they would draft 2 quality mids in Wallis & Libba. They'll come into their own around the time the 3 talls do, so this draft is about fitting in the additional needs.

GEELONG FALCONS - 15-5-95
                      def
                      CALDER CANNONS - 13.14.92

Geelong Falcons

Goal Kickers: J. Grabowski 4, J. Rock 3, M. Sodomaco 2, B. Cunnington 2, G. Rohan, A. Christensen, P. Flanagan, D. Semmens

Best Players:
                      B. Cunnington, M. Sodomaco, L. Thompson, L. Dahlhaus, M. Fisher, B. MacLeod

Calder Cannons

Goal Kickers: L. Mitchell 3, T. Lucin 2, M. Wallis 2, J. Melksham, J. Carlisle, D. Talia, T. Hunter, A. Duhau, B. McCann

Best Players: M. Wallis, T. Liberatore, J. Carlisle, D. Tydell, T. Lucin, T. Hine

I AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If Mal Lynch isn't there in 2011 then the numbers 24 & 39 can be given due homage.

Result - Sporting Pulse

TAC Cup
                      Author - Unknown
                      I received a brief report from 'comrade' yesterday that these 2 boys had played very well and he had thought they were the best 2 players on the ground. He should be on later today so hopefully he can give us a good run down on their performances.

• Scorlibo

I got a text from him at half time & he said they were both quiet, so it came as a bit of a surprise to read the results from Sporting Pulse.
                        Originally posted by Mantis
                        I received a brief report from 'comrade' yesterday that these 2 boys had played very well and he had thought they were the best 2 players on the ground. He should be on later today so hopefully he can give us a good run down on their performances.
                        A stellar second half?

I agree TCD in that it's an interesting draft for us having already secured KPPs the last 2 years and midfielders in Wallis, Libba in 2010. I'm inclined to think that we will simply take the best available players.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by Scorlibo
                          A stellar second half?

I agree TCD in that it's an interesting draft for us having already secured KPPs the last 2 years and midfielders in Wallis, Libba in 2010. I'm inclined to think that we will simply take the best available players.
                          We look pretty even over the team projecting 5 years ahead.

I'd like 1 or 2 medium defenders. 190-192cm flankers who play small. Someone who can replace Ryan Hargrave and help out with matchups because of their flexibility.

• Scorlibo

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                            the team projecting 5 years ahead.
                            B - Harbrow - (Boumann) - Addison
                            HB - Everitt - Williams - Picken

C - (Wallis) - Ward - Reid
                            Foll - (Roughead) - Cooney - Griffen

HF - Higgins - (Grant) - Hill
                            F - (O'Keefe) - (Jones) - (Cordy)

I - (Stack) - Minson - (Liberatore) - (Wood)

Those in brackets are players who are unproven at senior level.

Looking at that, we could use some small crumbing forwards, hopefully Stack and Lynch can come on towards the latter half of this year and stake their claim, but if not then a player such as Gary Rohan (he'll be gone by our pick I know) could be a wise pick.

Don't be surprised if Chris Ogle sneaks into that 22.

Originally posted by JH40
                                Don't be surprised if Chris Ogle sneaks into that 22.
                                What have you seen from his games to say that?