Re: TAC Cup 2010

Thanks for your report comrade, good read.

Originally posted by Griffen#16
      Thanks for your report comrade, good read.
      Ditto, thanks mate.

According to the final team list for 2010, Wallis is 185cm - a 2cm increase over summer. Pretty good size for a midfielder, and he'll have some growth left you'd think.

Libba is currently at 182cm.

Originally posted by chef
          Does anyone know if Lachlan Hunter is a chance to play any TAC footy this year?
          What years draft will he be available in if he's good enough?

Originally posted by comrade
            According to the final team list for 2010, Wallis is 185cm - a 2cm increase over summer. Pretty good size for a midfielder, and he'll have some growth left you'd think.

Libba is currently at 182cm.
            Comrade, based on what you have seen, could either of Wallis or Libba play off a flank? I'm guessing based on what I've gleamed from your reports that Wallis would probably be more likely.

Obviously this isn't where they've been played at TAC level. I'm just thinking along the lines of, we may need someone who can play a role up forward in 2011 and beyond. At Wallis' height, he could (potentially) fill a role. Is his marking any good?

Originally posted by Griffen#16
              Comrade, based on what you have seen, could either of Wallis or Libba play off a flank? I'm guessing based on what I've gleamed from your reports that Wallis would probably be more likely.

Obviously this isn't where they've been played at TAC level. I'm just thinking along the lines of, we may need someone who can play a role up forward in 2011 and beyond. At Wallis' height, he could (potentially) fill a role. Is his marking any good?
              Libba played a some minutes up forward last year and kicked 3 against Oakleigh in one game - he's definitely clever around the sticks. That being said, he's not a natural forward and probably doesn't have the physical tools (agility and explosive speed) to perform the role at the highest level.

Wallis is better suited to the role in that he's a better mover and quicker than Tom, so is more likely to get separation as a leading forward. His over head ability is good (I saw him take a ripper in a pre-season game last year) but he's no Shaun Higgins, despite having a similar physical attributes.

Tom will always be an inside midfielder - he was born for it. Wallis, I can see performing a number of roles. Because he is such a good, creative kick I think he'd make a super half back flanker, setting up play from behind the ball.

Once he gets stronger and faster, he'll eventually play an inside/outside midfield role, and might spend some time up forward at times.

Hopefully guys like Grant, Rose, Stack and Panos develop over the next 2 years to fill the mid sized forward role.

Thanks a lot for that comrade, as always very informative descriptions.

Can't wait to add both of these guys to our list come seasons end.

Metro Week - Round 10

Calder Cannons vs. Western Jets
                  Sunday 21st March
                  Visy Park at 10:00 AM

Calder Cannons

B Robortella Watson Talia

HB Dale Kefford Prestia

C Hunter Wallis McLeod

HF Meli Grenfell Guthrie

F Atkinson Wright Schroder

R Daniher Liberatore Murphy

Int Angus Sheridan Wallace Sullivan Potter Iudica Tydell Huntley Said

Western Jets

B Allan Fairley Raftopoulos

HB Casley Garland Hoskin-Elliott

C Kavanagh Conway Hylton

HF Mead Sortino Del Papa

F Fortune Sneddon Allen

R Giles Gray Morton

Int Jones McKenna Stephens Grosso Hernandez Borg Smith Kennedy

-----------

The other two games of the triple header are:

Eastern Ranges vs Oakleigh Chargers @ 12.15PM

Sandringham Dragons vs Northern Knights @ 2.30PM

Thanks for the reports Comrade, much appreciated.

Comrade a few names there with football pedigree would they be father sons too?
                      Wallace,Grenfell,Watson, Daniher?

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                        Who's a Greenfell ever played for?
                        Bombers?
                        Grenfell not greenfell

Yep must have been grenvoldt, cross grenfell off the list.

I'm at Visy and thought I should report that young Wallis didn't play and is on crutches.
                            Tom Libertore played but was quiet. Libba snr was there as well looking as fit as ever.

I'm at Visy and thought I should report that young Wallis didn't play and is on crutches.
                              Tom Libertore played but was quiet. Libba snr was there as well looking as fit as ever.
                              Sprained ankle, going for scans this week apparently. Libba was quiet but some of his work in heavy traffic was superb.

Good effort by Calder to win by 50 odd despite not having their best mid and key forward available. I thought Prestia and Grenfell were impressive.

• BulldogBelle

There was a number 51 - Smith, who played close on Libratore in the second half. He did a good job quietening him down. I think they were about even possession wise for the time they played on each other. Smith and Cannon's Grenfell played together at Seymour last year. No pedigree in either, but both handy players. Smith is bottom age too.