My top 20 players - 2012 Draft

Ok, well here is a list of my top 20 players for the 2012 draft. Keep in mind I've only seen limited amounts of the players and done a lot of research - I'm no expert and I'm bound to get a heap wrong. I also managed to sneak 5 South Aussie's in my top 11 - no bias at all!

1. J. Daniher, 201cm 89kgs - The standout in this years crop, massive tall forward who can be a top line AFL player. A Kurt Tippett style forward who'll be a very difficult match up, but also combines his unique size with strong football ability and good athletic ability. Great hands and a good shot for goal. Bargain for Essendon.

2. L. Whitfield, 184cm 77kgs - best 'live' player, talented midfielder who can run all day and play all over the park, will play early 2013 and should end up an A grader - GWS will take him at 1.

3. J. Toumpas, 182cm 78kgs - the third best player, will play early 2013, has played SANFL seniors, can run and kick and loves a goal, should end up an A grader and hard not to see GWS snaring him at 2 or 3, but if he slides past then Melbourne should grab him. If he somehow slipped through I think we'd have to take him, though I bet our plans revolve around him being gone.

4. B. Grundy, 202cm 100kgs - the fourth best player for mine, potentially elite ruck/forward, hasn't been playing the game for long so has scope to improve. I think he'll develop into a strong tap ruck who can work well around the ground with clean ball handling. Expect he can become a good option resting forward and should be capable to 25+ goals a year in that role, maybe more, once he develops. Hard to see GWS going past him, but if they do Melbourne are a chance, couldn't see us taking him but Port at 7 also a chance.

5. J. Viney, 178cm 81kgs - strong inside midfielder, leadership potential, solid user without perhaps being elite by foot, can run all day and has some pace. A pretty complete player who should play early 2013 and become a high level midfielder at AFL level. A huge steal for Melbourne at 27.

6. T. Menzel, 187cm 77kgs - a standout talent, but he is a risky proposition with his knee. Utility who can run, kick and loves a goal, good one on one and has all the ability to be a long term AFL player and potential A grader. Could see him start forward and develop into a midfielder. I think he's right in contention from us onwards as has been reported, if he does slip GWS and Collingwood are both big chances given they have a number of early picks. Really hard to read where he may end up and will be heavily dependent on clubs medical opinions.

7. B. Kennedy, 174cm 74kgs - I really rate Kennedy, I'd take him with pick 6 even though he's very small, he's quick, he kicks long and accurate, he kicks goals, he can play forward and midfield, and I think he could be Dahlhaus Mk 2 with better, more penetrating kicking. I think he'll get selected between 10-20 and the Crows will be hoping he slips, they nearly spent the MD pick on him last year. GWS, North, Crows and Collingwood all big chances.

8. O. Wines, 188cm 90kgs - tough midfielder who can play forward or back, versatile, neat player who should become a 200 gamer. He is good inside and out, not blessed with huge pace but has endurance, he'll land at Melbourne or with us I'd think, but if he slips through hard to see Port passing.

9. J. O'Rourke, 183cm 73kgs - a slightly vanilla player if that makes sense, but on the times I've seen him he's hard to fault, he just gets it done with no fuss, he's not a flashy player but should play 200 games and be a good inside/outside running player, I think he'll go inside the first 7 picks, not certain GWS will jump although it's appearing more and more likely they might, and not sure Melbourne will, I think we're a good chance if he gets through. He's a safe bet and I'd be pretty happy with him.

10. J. Macrae, 189cm 76kgs - really improved as the year went on which is a trait I like, dynamic midfield/forward who can run and kick goals, has some improvement in him and isn't a certainty but based on his potential I have him at 10, think he'll go inside the top 10 on draft day, we'll look pretty closely, as will Brisbane and Richmond, if he lasted to Carlton, they'd jump.

11. S. Mayes, 187cm 78kgs - I have a couple of minor concerns over Mayes, but I still like him as a player, he's a smart runner, he can kick long and likes a goal, has played senior finals footy. He appears to struggle for decision making/execution under pressure a little but I think this can be ironed out, could play off a flank next year although needs to add bulk to his frame, eventually should be an inside/outside midfielder and has a high ceiling. I can't see him slipping past Richmond on draft day and think us, Port and Brisbane will strongly consider him.

12. L. Plowman, 192cm 84kgs - he's not easy to place for me but I have him here at 12, third tall defender who can run and carry, maybe some concerns over his athleticism. Is he going to be a KP? If not, can he play on genuinely quick small/medium forwards? Can he take a turn in the middle or go forward? GWS are a chance for him, perhaps Melbourne, we should be right in the mix and at worst can't see him slipping past Brisbane/Richmond.

13. D. Garlett, 180cm 75kgs - I don't know about his issues, but on talent he is a top 10 pick, runs and kicks well, will be damaging at AFL level finding space to receive and then what he does when he has space, should also develop the ability to win his own ball consistently. No idea where he'll go but if not Freo at 17, then Collingwood and Adelaide are perhaps well positioned to take a risk on him. I know there is speculation he won't be selected in the top 20 which is probably accurate but I'm just not sure....St Kilda rumoured to be interested and at worst, WCE at pick 46?

Re: My top 20 players - 2012 Draft

14. N. Vlastuin, 186cm 85kgs - Another player who I like quite a lot, wins ball, uses well, works hard - does most things well. Perhaps a little on the vanilla side too, but I think he'll be a very good inside/outside midfielder at AFL level and could develop off a flank early in his career. Should play 200 games and will be a great get for whoever snares him, I probably have him a little low but just have a few others ahead of him. Brisbane, Richmond, Carlton and Geelong may be the most keen, see him going between 8-16.

15. J. Stringer, 190cm 94kgs - I struggle to rate Stringer, but can't have him any lower than this. Not convinced he's a Pavlich clone as some reports I've read suggest, but think he can become a good midfield/lead up forward at AFL level. He'll need to get his tank right up and hopefully his movement off the first couple of steps continues to improve. I think we're very much in the mix at 5/6, I can see Brisbane, Richmond and Carlton also being interested. At worst, can't see him slipping past GWS or Collingwood who both have a number of selections before pick 20.

16. J. Simpson, 184cm 73kgs - a good athlete who can run, good skills and an exciting talent. Think he can develop into a long term AFL player and could potentially be an A grade player if it all clicks for him. He's very hard to place in the draft, but I think Fremantle at 17 could be in the mix and wouldn't discount Collingwood, Adelaide or Sydney taking a punt on him in the first round. Should be gone by pick 30 at the latest I'd think.

17. N. Graham, 183cm 78kgs - a midfielder who has improved over the course of the year, not bad overhead and has some good traits to transition to AFL level. I think Collingwood will look at him late first round, and Geelong and Adelaide could also be a chance. Another who I think should be gone by 30 at the latest.

18. T. Garner, 187cm 77kgs - a midfield forward who should develop into a versatile player at AFL level. Good overhead, can win his own ball and can get it done defensively. I think a few teams will be interested in the package he offers and think he could go anywhere from 12 onwards, but Collingwood and Adelaide could be good chances later in the first round.

19. T. Membrey, 189cm 88kgs - a powerful third tall/medium forward who is a good mark on the lead and in a contested situation. I'm not sure he'll have the ability to take a turn through the middle but it might be something he can add as he develops over his career. I think, North, Freo, Collingwood and Adelaide are all chances. St Kilda at the mid 20's would be the latest I'd say.

20. M. McDonough, 180cm 84kgs - ok, so not a more likely top 20 selection but one who I've liked when I've seen him this year. Concerns are his ability to play his role at AFL level, does he have enough pace, is his work rate good enough, can he improve his defensive stuff? I'm not sure, but I think most of his issues are fitness related and if he wants to make it he'll put in at training and develop this. He's a great mark for his size, strong bodied player who plays tall. Smart leads, good shot at goal. Potentially has the size and skill to run through the middle as his fitness improves. I'm not convinced on him, but I'd love to see a club take a punt and think he has a few skills that could see him transition to a pretty good AFL player if he can make some improvements to other areas. He's probably in the range from 3rd round to rookie on draft day, but any club looking for a small/medium marking player could do worse.

Unluckies:

Clurey, Jaksch, Lonergan, Haynes, O'Brien, Paparone, McIntosh, Wright, Atkins, Colquhoun

Great stuff Griff.

Do you expect Daniher to play next year, or will it take a few years due to his position (key forward) similar to Cordy?

What are your thoughts if we take Grundy with one of our first two picks?

Awesome write up man, great to read.

Just on Grundy, I think clubs shifting towards "trading in" ruckmen rather than cultivating their own will affect his draft stock more than anything he can do on the park, which is why I think he'll slide.

Guessing you're not as enamoured with Stringer as our coaching staff apparently is?

• wimberga

Props Griff - excellent analysis there.

You may not know, but where would last years MD picks slot into this years crop? (Jaeger-Bomb and Crouch)

Fantastic write up mate.

Thanks for taking the time to put it together. From what I've seen/read I'd be happy with taking one of Stringer and Menzel, though not both with pick five or six.

Wines, McCRae, Mayes and O'Rourke filling up the spot not taken by either of the above would land us a solid outcome IMO.

Fantastic write up mate.

Thanks for taking the time to put it together. From what I've seen/read I'd be happy with taking one of Stringer and Menzel, though not both with pick five or six.

Wines, McCRae, Mayes and O'Rourke filling up the spot not taken by either of the above would land us a solid outcome IMO.
              If we go Wines, I think we really need the other pick to be an outside running player with supreme foot skills which would be a McCRae type.

What type of player will Stringer be in the long run? Out of Menzel and Stringer, Menzel seems to be the guy I'd go for, but he also seems the one most likely to be more injury prone.

• Throughandthrough

Great thread Griffo. You still rate Ben Kennedy higher than i do, but i hope you are correct!

And for no particular reason, here's some of my photos of the lads named above.

Brodie Grundy Rhys Nickalls Glenelg Tigers SANFL u16 u18 April 2012 805 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Brodie Grundy SA under 18 v SA under 20 May 2012 288 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Josh Walhuter Troy Menzel SA under 18 v SA under 20 May 2012 035 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Max Proud Troy Menzel SA under 18 v SA under 20 May 2012 197 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Ben Kennedy Glenelg vs CDFC Central Districts June 2012 SANFL 757 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Jake McKenzie Ben Kennedy SA vs Vix Metro u18 2012 AFL SANFL 002 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Sam Mayes SA vs Vix Metro u18 2012 AFL SANFL 296 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Sam Mayes by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Nick Vlastuin SA vs Vix Metro u18 2012 AFL SANFL 024 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Matthew McDonough SA vs Vix Metro u18 2012 AFL SANFL 727 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Tom Starkey Matthew McDonough Maccas Cup Finals Glenelg Tigers v WWT Eagles 2012 460 by FlashGordon Photography, on Flickr

Great stuff Griff
                  I see us getting Stringer/ Menzel and O'Rourke Macrae combinations.
                  It's going to be what GWS do.
                  Just gotta feeling they're going to go with Stringer or Menzel and pass Grundy.
                  Great result if they get Garlett.
                  Is there a relationship with Hansen and Garlett?

Terrific stuff there T&T. Gee Mayes and Griffen have similar builds at the same age.

• dog town

Originally posted by Griffen#16

9. J. O'Rourke, 183cm 73kgs - a slightly vanilla player if that makes sense, but on the times I've seen him he's hard to fault, he just gets it done with no fuss, he's not a flashy player but should play 200 games and be a good inside/outside running player, I think he'll go inside the first 7 picks, not certain GWS will jump although it's appearing more and more likely they might, and not sure Melbourne will, I think we're a good chance if he gets through. He's a safe bet and I'd be pretty happy with him.
                      I think there is a tendency for everyone to want players with the flashy burst into space or a 60 metre kick. O'Rourke doesn't really have that eye catching sort of burst but he does everything pretty well and is well rounded. Should become a death by a thousand cuts type mid and I dont think we should pass him by if he is available.

Nice write up. So much depends on what GWS do.

• Throughandthrough

I suspect that gws will take Grundy. But there is an interesting interview with Brodie in today's Sunday mail, when he was getting interviewed by them he turned the question round and asked why would he want to go to a club that's one year old. Sounds like that threw them a bit

Grundy is a bit of a strange cat.

Thanks all for the responses, cheers.

Originally posted by azabob
                          Do you expect Daniher to play next year, or will it take a few years due to his position (key forward) similar to Cordy?

What are your thoughts if we take Grundy with one of our first two picks?
                          I think Daniher will take some time to fully develop but I wouldn't be surprised to see him play a few games next year. If we stick with Roughead as a defender, I can see him having a number of good duels with Danhier over the next 10 years.

Don't think we'll look at Grundy because we have enough with Minson, Campbell, Roughead and Cordy on the list. My preference is definitely go small.

Originally posted by Happy Days
                          Just on Grundy, I think clubs shifting towards "trading in" ruckmen rather than cultivating their own will affect his draft stock more than anything he can do on the park, which is why I think he'll slide.

Guessing you're not as enamoured with Stringer as our coaching staff apparently is?
                          The trading in of rucks is a good point. I just think the really good ones often go early and Grundy can be one of the really good ones, dominant in ruck and as a forward. If GWS don't take him, can definitely see him drifting out a bit.

I don't mind Stringer but I think there are other options who are more likely to make it, even not taking into account Stringer's injury concerns. It seems he's being pegged as a tall forward by some, and inside midfielder by others, but really a type who could play anywhere. I'm just not sure what role I'd see him filling and combined with the injuries he dropped a bit. We'll probably take him and he'll win 3 Brownlow's and captain us to a flag showing me up as an idiot.

Originally posted by wimberga
                          You may not know, but where would last years MD picks slot into this years crop? (Jaeger-Bomb and Crouch)
                          I've got no idea on Jaeger, but Crouch had a good year in the SANFL so would probably slot in just after Whitfield for me.

Agreed with all of that. I'm happy if we take a punt on one of Stringer/Menzel and then we can get a good player with our other pick too. We're going to walk away with a couple of kids who can become high level players in time.

Originally posted by Throughandthrough
                          You still rate Ben Kennedy higher than i do, but i hope you are correct!
                          Yeah, I'm pretty confident about him ability wise. I wish we were considering him but I don't think we will. Got a nice little mention in the paper today in the Grundy article, they've started training together with the mind frame that those already on a list have started so they should too.

Originally posted by Throughandthrough
                            I suspect that gws will take Grundy. But there is an interesting interview with Brodie in today's Sunday mail, when he was getting interviewed by them he turned the question round and asked why would he want to go to a club that's one year old. Sounds like that threw them a bit

Grundy is a bit of a strange cat.
                            He certainly appears to be.

Im worried taking ruckman so early, he is well developed and pushes the opposition around due to his size.

Does he have the confidence and temperament and strength to do that at the next level in time?

Is his big strength his agility? How does it compare to Natanui and how does his footballing ability compare to Natanui?

• Ghost Dog
                              • May 2010

Not sure about both Stringer AND Menzel.

Would not the club be wise to with either and then get O'Rourke?

Two players with significant injury concerns is a bit much. It's such a critical draft for us.