Re: VFL Qualifying Final - Footscray Bulldogs v Williamstown Seagulls

I took the Charlie's bar option , pay an extra $10 and sit in level 1, got in there "no bar!" We laughed about it but what a great place to sit and watch the game, I turn to my left and there's Doug getting interviewed right next to me.
    I hope they have the Charlies bar at every game next year with two improvements, an actual bar and a cleaner /bins, great initiative but no thought into the necessities.
    Awesome day, awesome crowd , great game, I went to every home game this year it definitely brings a Tear to your eye with the memories.

• Webby
      • Jul 2012

I called it 'Angry Ayce'. I've never seen him look angry and hit bodies as hard as hard as he can and try to hurt opponents. When he did this he looked great. I like this Ayce, if that's there next year then that's an immediate improvement.
      I'm very very excited about Ayce after yesterday's performance. There's no doubt in my mind now that he'll make the grade. He's clicked. His bump in the third quarter, followed up by a ripping goal sparked us. Real leadership. He's going to nudge 200+ games of AFL footy. I'm expecting to see an impressive player in April next year. And good on him.

• Ozza

I couldn't make it to the VFL game - but from the sounds of it a pretty gutsy win. Down two rotations in the second half with Hunter injured and Darley crook.

Plenty of upside with presumably Campbell and Young to come back. Will be interesting to see which players come back from the seniors and which go under the knife early.

• neddie

Did Howard play?,or is he not worth mentioning.

Originally posted by neddie
            I didn't see him on the ground.

Originally posted by neddie
              Didn't play. Not sure if he's injured or just didn't get selected.

For those that didn't get to the ground:

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/vi...-for-vfl-final
                  Thanks BAD.

Originally posted by Webby
                    I'm very very excited about Ayce after yesterday's performance. There's no doubt in my mind now that he'll make the grade. He's clicked. His bump in the third quarter, followed up by a ripping goal sparked us. Real leadership. He's going to nudge 200+ games of AFL footy. I'm expecting to see an impressive player in April next year. And good on him.
                    I'm now starting to agree with what you are saying. It's been a long time coming but the last few times I've seen him something has changed. He gets into good positions, is able to affect more aerial contests because he is fitter and is more aggressive so is obviously more confident in using his size.

• anfo27

Was there on Sunday and gee it brought back some memories. I can remember seeing Chris Grant and Brad Johnson in their first game as well as the hawks record breaking game against the cats when Mitch' old man knocked out Adrian Hickmont on Dougies wing.

Really was impressed with Ayce Cordy and thought he was best on ground. Kicked a ripper in the third when he sold some candy and was really instrumental in grabbing the momentum for us in the third. Oh and loved that hip and shoulder he gave as well. First time that I have ever thought with Ayce that maybe we have a player here.

Lin Jong. I am a fan of this kid and hope he gets elevated. I would have had him next best for us. His grunt work and second efforts were Herculean, the kid has no fear and I love that. Yeah he lacks polish but if he had polish he wouldn't be available in the rookie draft.

Jones like everyone else has said was simply breathtaking in the last quarter. Others that did well were Goodes, Russell, Honey and tutt was ok as well. The boys dug deep when it was needed and that was impressive cause 22 points was not a safe margin with that breeze.

Thought the big difference in the last was how we used the footy against the wind which was completely different to the second quarter. Some players just don't have any footy smarts when they have the footy and I would put Greenwood and Talia in that category. Was also amazed at the players who kicked at goal into the breeze and thought they would kick it as high as they can, incredibly stupid and proves you don't need common sense to play this game.

• Bulldog Joe
                        Premiership Moderator
                        • Jul 2009

Originally posted by anfo27

Was also amazed at the players who kicked at goal into the breeze and thought they would kick it as high as they can, incredibly stupid and proves you don't need common sense to play this game.

What stood out was the kick by Redpath in the 2nd qtr. The first goal into the breeze for the game and it was described by someone sitting near me as being like a Bobby Skilton pass.

Kicked it low and hard to minimise the impact of the wind. Big Jack may have some deficiencies but he knows how to kick.

In the 3rd he let go from just forward of centre and it would have been a goal except for Ayce marking on the line.

• always right

I stood on the fence on the opposite side of the ground in the first half which gave me a different persective being so close to the players. Not surprisingly the thing that stood out for me was the physical aspect, particularly at the stoppages.....and obviously Ayce was in the middle of it.

You don't appreciate watching from the stands what a buffeting the ruckmen take. The Williamstown ruckman wasn't tall but was built like a brick shithhouse and was giving it to Ayce. To my surprise Ayce was giving as good as he got which he would not have been capable of in previous years. It showed me that perhaps he's not a write-off for a career in AFL just yet. The fact he was able to handle the physical stuff and play so well (BOG IMO) gives cause for optimism.
                          I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by always right
                            I stood on the fence on the opposite side of the ground in the first half which gave me a different persective being so close to the players. Not surprisingly the thing that stood out for me was the physical aspect, particularly at the stoppages.....and obviously Ayce was in the middle of it.

You don't appreciate watching from the stands what a buffeting the ruckmen take. The Williamstown ruckman wasn't tall but was built like a brick shithhouse and was giving it to Ayce. To my surprise Ayce was giving as good as he got which he would not have been capable of in previous years. It showed me that perhaps he's not a write-off for a career in AFL just yet. The fact he was able to handle the physical stuff and play so well (BOG IMO) gives cause for optimism.
                            You must have great balance.

• always right

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
                              You must have great balance.
                              I almost jumped the fence when that pathetic umpire 4 paid holding the ball against Dickson when he was tackled on the boundary line in front of me.
                              I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

Originally posted by always right
                                I almost jumped the fence when that pathetic umpire 4 paid holding the ball against Dickson when he was tackled on the boundary line in front of me.
                                That was a shocker, Dickson was over the boundary line at the time. I was just around the pocket towards the point post, lots of out on the fulls with that howling wind.