• BulldogBelle

Re: Draft Order - 2014

Originally posted by jaxson42
    Well yes absolutely Chef. For mine it should be the best available tall back/forward. We all know of our forward line deficiency but our back half isn't a whole lot better and premiership sides are built on a solid defence!..
    We'll said. There should be a good one at pick 5. I hope we can trade for another 1st round pick too.

Cheers Hoopsnake

Is it possible that one of McCartin, Wright or Durdin will slip through to our pick?. Does anyone else have any suggestions?..

Cheers Hoopsnake

Is it possible that one of McCartin, Wright or Durdin will slip through to our pick?. Does anyone else have any suggestions?..
        The consensus seems to be Petracca, Paddy MC and Wright top 3. Then again, Aish and Scharnberg were talked about all season last year.

• Webby
          • Jul 2012

Cheers Hoopsnake

More likely than not. Melbourne will want mids - particularly if Clarke stays.

• boydogs
            • Apr 2009

It will probably go McCartin to St Kilda, Petracca to Melbourne, Brayshaw to GWS, Wright to Brisbane. Leaving us to pick between Lever, Durdin, Goddard, Marchbank & Laverde

Originally posted by gogriff
              It will probably go McCartin to St Kilda, Petracca to Melbourne, Brayshaw to GWS, Wright to Brisbane. Leaving us to pick between Lever, Durdin, Goddard, Marchbank & Laverde
              I don't know why GWS would go Brayshaw. They have a myriad of young midfielders. If the draft positions stay the same (which is unlikely with FA compo and trading) I'd see him slip beyond us.

• boydogs
                • Apr 2009

Originally posted by M.R.M
                I don't know why GWS would go Brayshaw. They have a myriad of young midfielders. If the draft positions stay the same (which is unlikely with FA compo and trading) I'd see him slip beyond us.
                The alternative is Wright, when they already have more KPF's than anyone

Gotta reckon If Brissie grab Ryder our chances of landing Wright increase.
                  Might go mid with pick 4

Originally posted by M.R.M
                    Wouldn't GWS go for a key back ?
                    They're losing Frost, and Jacksh to trades

Yep Remi, that'd be my thinking moreso, or as GG said, a ruck/forward in Wright with Mummy getting older, Giles future up in the air and the bloke from Swan Districts (forget his name) being an unknown. Still think they'll trade it for a mature body though.

• Maddog37
                        • Nov 2010

I reckon we should just continue to get gun mids and have a full team mosquito fleet.

We should be chasing the best player (most potential), nothing to do with height / position / etc. Good players will learn spots, with FA coming in, and a higher propensity to trade these days, it is going to become more and more accessible to trade in mature players to fill gaps. If we just focus on getting the best footballers to our club our options will open up from there.

• Webby
                            • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Murphy Contradicts Law
                            We should be chasing the best player (most potential), nothing to do with height / position / etc. Good players will learn spots, with FA coming in, and a higher propensity to trade these days, it is going to become more and more accessible to trade in mature players to fill gaps. If we just focus on getting the best footballers to our club our options will open up from there.
                            I agree with that in early rounds. Draft for talent and trade for type. Only let type sway you if you can't split a 2 to 3 way dead heat - which does happen.

• mighty_west
                              • Feb 2008

Originally posted by Webby
                              I agree with that in early rounds. Draft for talent and trade for type. Only let type sway you if you can't split a 2 to 3 way dead heat - which does happen.
                              I actually think all players selected in the main draft should be best available despite the types we need, sounds bizarre I know, the rookie draft is where you experiment with project types or the best of what is left, Tom Williams and Jesse Wells had little footy experience before being drafted high, Matt Fuller I pigeon hole with Brodie Moles and the likes playing at the level below, again why take a risk so high in the draft when there are plenty of fish in the SANFL, WAFL, VFL sea, watching a few of Wells' s games in the VFL, what the hell did Clayton see in this kid, he just looked terrible at football despite being a good athlete for his height, all perfect hit and miss candidates for the rookie draft.

Back to the main draft, sure we may end up with an overload or imbalance of types on the list, but I'd believe you're more than likely end up with more quality on the list, and that's where trading comes into play, bring in exactly what you need with some of the quality you can spare.

What is the point in drafting Howard who apparently has this "upside" when you can SEE the talent of Fyfe in the under 18`s, even though you want to find a replacement for Lindsay Gilbee.

Great input guys and yes I would have to agree that best available over needs is the way to go for all the reasons stated. With that being said though I was more curious for any ideas at who we may get with our first round pick.