Draft Order - 2014
Re: Draft Order - 2014
The consensus seems to be Petracca, Paddy MC and Wright top 3. Then again, Aish and Scharnberg were talked about all season last year.Rocket Science: the epitaph for the Beveridge era - whenever it ends - reading 'Here lies a team that could beat anyone on its day, but seldom did when it mattered most'. 15/7/2023Comment
It will probably go McCartin to St Kilda, Petracca to Melbourne, Brayshaw to GWS, Wright to Brisbane. Leaving us to pick between Lever, Durdin, Goddard, Marchbank & LaverdeIf you kicked five goals and Tom Boyd kicked five goals, Tom Boyd kicked more goals than you.
Formerly gogriffComment
I don't know why GWS would go Brayshaw. They have a myriad of young midfielders. If the draft positions stay the same (which is unlikely with FA compo and trading) I'd see him slip beyond us.Comment
The alternative is Wright, when they already have more KPF's than anyoneIf you kicked five goals and Tom Boyd kicked five goals, Tom Boyd kicked more goals than you.
Formerly gogriffComment
Gotta reckon If Brissie grab Ryder our chances of landing Wright increase.
Might go mid with pick 4Comment
Wouldn't GWS go for a key back ?
They're losing Frost, and Jacksh to tradesComment
Yep Remi, that'd be my thinking moreso, or as GG said, a ruck/forward in Wright with Mummy getting older, Giles future up in the air and the bloke from Swan Districts (forget his name) being an unknown. Still think they'll trade it for a mature body though.Comment
We should be chasing the best player (most potential), nothing to do with height / position / etc. Good players will learn spots, with FA coming in, and a higher propensity to trade these days, it is going to become more and more accessible to trade in mature players to fill gaps. If we just focus on getting the best footballers to our club our options will open up from there.Comment
I agree with that in early rounds. Draft for talent and trade for type. Only let type sway you if you can't split a 2 to 3 way dead heat - which does happen.We should be chasing the best player (most potential), nothing to do with height / position / etc. Good players will learn spots, with FA coming in, and a higher propensity to trade these days, it is going to become more and more accessible to trade in mature players to fill gaps. If we just focus on getting the best footballers to our club our options will open up from there.Comment
I actually think all players selected in the main draft should be best available despite the types we need, sounds bizarre I know, the rookie draft is where you experiment with project types or the best of what is left, Tom Williams and Jesse Wells had little footy experience before being drafted high, Matt Fuller I pigeon hole with Brodie Moles and the likes playing at the level below, again why take a risk so high in the draft when there are plenty of fish in the SANFL, WAFL, VFL sea, watching a few of Wells' s games in the VFL, what the hell did Clayton see in this kid, he just looked terrible at football despite being a good athlete for his height, all perfect hit and miss candidates for the rookie draft.
Back to the main draft, sure we may end up with an overload or imbalance of types on the list, but I'd believe you're more than likely end up with more quality on the list, and that's where trading comes into play, bring in exactly what you need with some of the quality you can spare.
What is the point in drafting Howard who apparently has this "upside" when you can SEE the talent of Fyfe in the under 18`s, even though you want to find a replacement for Lindsay Gilbee.Comment
Great input guys and yes I would have to agree that best available over needs is the way to go for all the reasons stated. With that being said though I was more curious for any ideas at who we may get with our first round pick.Comment