View Full Version : Assistant Coaches

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

16-10-2021, 05:50 PM
After many years of stability with our assistant coaching ranks we are now looking for 2 coaches at the Kennel.

Rohan Smith is currently the sole assistant coach and we also have Jamie Maddocks (Development Manager) Travis Varcoe (Development Coach) and Stewart Edge (VFL Coach) round off the team around Luke Beveridge

Does anyone have any suggestions on who we might or should look at?

Could someone like Sanderson, Sumich, Solomon, Yze or even Mark Williams be in the mix?

17-10-2021, 01:03 AM
Damian Monkhorst might be able to help our rucks

17-10-2021, 08:25 PM
Sanderson is clearly talented and we would be an experienced addition.

I wonder if we could pry Dean Cox out of Sydney?
Troy Chaplin is the dees defensive coach as another option.
I would love to get Joel Corey back or left field let’s poach Jimmy Bartel from the giants board

20-10-2021, 12:11 PM
Has anyone heard anything on this?

20-10-2021, 12:55 PM
Has anyone heard anything on this?

No, still waiting for Bevo to ask me.

20-10-2021, 02:55 PM
No, still waiting for Bevo to ask me.

What is your answer when he does?

20-10-2021, 02:59 PM
What is your answer when he does?

Definitely a yes. But really all I want to do is sit in on match committee so I can have half a clue on how he selects the team each week.

20-10-2021, 03:58 PM
Definitely a yes. But really all I want to do is sit in on match committee so I can have half a clue on how he selects the team each week.

Big assumption!

27-10-2021, 11:53 PM
Tom Brown reporting Ex Hawk Spangher could be new forward line coach.

28-10-2021, 12:28 AM

Has he been coaching somewhere else?

28-10-2021, 12:39 AM

Been involved with Collingwood but I've no idea what he's been doing or if it's in coaching or the admin side.

28-10-2021, 07:34 AM

Sedat finally gets his man?

28-10-2021, 09:36 AM

According to his LinkedIn:

AFL Engagement and VFL Operations Manager - Collingwood Football Club Full-time

Dates Employed Jan 2020 – Present

(https://www.linkedin.com/company/collingwood-football-club/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_profile_view_base%3B7jqi 8C4GT8iXsHyRqNzGeQ%3D%3D&licu=urn%3Ali%3Acontrol%3Ad_flagship3_profile_view_base-background_details_company)

28-10-2021, 09:42 AM
According to his LinkedIn:

AFL Engagement and VFL Operations Manager - Collingwood Football Club Full-time

Dates Employed Jan 2020 – Present

(https://www.linkedin.com/company/collingwood-football-club/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_profile_view_base%3B7jqi 8C4GT8iXsHyRqNzGeQ%3D%3D&licu=urn%3Ali%3Acontrol%3Ad_flagship3_profile_view_base-background_details_company)

Did he coach at Mentone by any chance?

28-10-2021, 10:37 AM
Strange as I can't find anything relating to Spangher ever coaching at any level, but here is some background on what he has been up to post AFL career from when he joined Collingwood:

Former AFL player Matt Spangher has been appointed as AFL engagement manager, with Mannon Johnston coming on board as AFL engagement officer in a role that will specialise in working with our Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and multicultural athletes.

Spangher comes to the club after an 11-year AFL career spread across West Coast, Sydney and Hawthorn. He played 56 games across the three clubs, including the 2014 AFL premiership with Hawthorn.

Since retiring from AFL in 2016, Spangher has held a number of corporate roles within the sporting industry, most recently with Greenroom Digital whilst based in London.

Spangher will join the club with a wealth of further study including a bachelor of business, masters in sports administration and an executive certificate in player development and athlete wellbeing.

Head of player engagement, Chris Dixon, was delighted to have both Spangher and Johnston join the club’s football department.

“We’re extremely lucky to have Matt and Mannon join the player engagement team in 2020,” Dixon said.

“Matt has experienced first-hand the rollercoaster of being an AFL athlete over 11 years at three clubs.

“We were very impressed with his commitment to furthering his knowledge through work experience and further education. As an AFL athlete, he is a great example of someone who maximised their time in the system, and his knowledge will be of great assistance to our AFL players.

Link (https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/209158/spangher-and-johnston-join-pies)

28-10-2021, 10:38 AM
Sedat finally gets his man?

Well he certainly fits the good bloke mantra, so on that basis I am optimistic about this.

28-10-2021, 10:38 AM
Does he have any coaching accreditation? Doesn't seem to say.

28-10-2021, 12:39 PM

I would love to get Joel Corey back or left field let’s poach Jimmy Bartel from the giants board

Agree that Joel Corey who was highly regarded by Bont previously would be good to have back at the Kennel. Dale Morris and Matthew Boyd currently at Freo, being outstanding club men would also be outstanding additions as assistant coaches.
Certainly time for a refresh as Melbourne have proved.

28-10-2021, 12:48 PM
Agree that Joel Corey who was highly regarded by Bont previously would be good to have back at the Kennel. Dale Morris and Matthew Boyd currently at Freo, being outstanding club men would also be outstanding additions as assistant coaches.
Certainly time for a refresh as Melbourne have proved.

Do you mean Bob Murphy at Freo? Morris is still at the Dogs as far as I know.

28-10-2021, 03:06 PM
Well he certainly fits the good bloke mantra, so on that basis I am optimistic about this.
He is certainly is, one of the best blokes going around. I think Bevo was defensive line coach when Spangher was at the Hawks, and he spoke glowingly of Bevo at the time.

We just need to get Jay Schulz and bring Ed Barlow back and we will have a coaching panel the envy of the competition.

28-10-2021, 03:54 PM
He is certainly is, one of the best blokes going around. I think Bevo was defensive line coach when Spangher was at the Hawks, and he spoke glowingly of Bevo at the time.

We just need to get Jay Schulz and bring Ed Barlow back and we will have a coaching panel the envy of the competition.

Dammit, I was about to whip out the Ed Barlow reference.

28-10-2021, 05:13 PM
What's Doogs up to these days?

28-10-2021, 05:27 PM
What's Doogs up to these days?

He's a fairly prominent player manager.

28-10-2021, 06:46 PM
Interesting development

28-10-2021, 10:48 PM
Interesting development

If Tom Brown is correct

28-10-2021, 11:59 PM
Do you mean Bob Murphy at Freo? Morris is still at the Dogs as far as I know.

Apologies for any confusion, I am aware Dale Morris is employed in the Marketing area at the Club. Matthew Boyd is with Fremantle.

29-10-2021, 09:16 AM
If Tom Brown is correct

Yes, all innuendo at this stage, but he will have his sources

29-10-2021, 11:08 AM
Part of an article I posted in the list management thread:

Two key figures at Whitten Oval did not recommit, in long-term assistants Steven King and Ash Hansen.

King, who served as senior assistant for the past three seasons after stints in charge of the midfield and defence, will reprise his role at Gold Coast under Stuart Dew.

Hansen will take over the Carlton forwards having last season looked after the Dogs’ attacking line, and offer the Blues the experience of having coached his own reserves premiership team.

“We recognise and understand in the case of both those guys that they’ve delivered lengthy service to the club,” Bains acknowledged.

“Ash was here for nine years, Steve was here for 10 years, and were part of the coaching line-up for the premiership in 2016.”

The Dogs have promoted from within and rotated assistants before, and reserves coach Stewart Edge could make the step up after leading Footscray to the minor premiership.

Hawthorn premiership player Matt Spangher has also been linked with Hansen’s former role; his time at Waverley coincided with Luke Beveridge’s tenure as the Hawks’ defensive coach.

Bains revealed both King and Hansen had a year to run on their contracts at Whitten Oval, but went with the club’s blessing.

“It’s always disappointing when you see good people leave,” he lamented.

“But at the same time, we understand for their own careers and senior coaching ambitions, sometimes you do need a change of scene and working with a different group to progress.

“In the spirit of supporting our people and particularly those who have been with us for a long time, we were happy to see them spread their wings.”

29-10-2021, 04:03 PM
Part of an article I posted in the list management thread:

100% for the best to have a refresh of the assistance like we're doing, one year to go on their contract or not. Just hope whoever we get in can bring some new ideas in and not just sit comfortably as yes-men.

29-10-2021, 07:07 PM
Seems like we’ve been left without a chair a bit in the Assistant coach stakes. I wonder how much negotiation was underway with our group while the finals were in flight?

Glad we are refreshing just feels like we’ve been caught on the hop and no one we have had a crack at has nibbled.

04-11-2021, 11:26 AM
Have it on very good authority that Matt Sphanger has been signed as an assistant.

04-11-2021, 08:03 PM
Have it on very good authority that Matt Sphanger has been signed as an assistant.

Jesus Christ (pun intended)

07-11-2021, 01:41 PM
So it looks like Spangher and maybe Edge replace King and Hansen. Does it mean Rohan Smith is the senior assistant coach?

I get letting one of the signed coaches going with a year to run on a contract but promoting Hansen to senior assistant and then grant him a leave pass is a bit curious.

07-11-2021, 06:36 PM
So it looks like Spangher and maybe Edge replace King and Hansen. Does it mean Rohan Smith is the senior assistant coach?

I get letting one of the signed coaches going with a year to run on a contract but promoting Hansen to senior assistant and then grant him a leave pass is a bit curious.

It's all very uninspiring to me. I wanted an experienced assistant from another club along the lines of Caracella or Yze when appointed by the Dons and Dees.
It's been an area of concern for me for a while and honestly feel like so far we've gone backwards.

07-11-2021, 06:51 PM
It's all very uninspiring to me. I wanted an experienced assistant from another club along the lines of Caracella or Yze when appointed by the Dons and Dees.
It's been an area of concern for me for a while and honestly feel like so far we've gone backwards.

Posters have said this since Monty left, yet we have made 2 grand finals plus played in two other final series.

No one on this forum that I can remember rated Hansen and King.

I for one wouldn't have a clue how good Smith is or Edge or even Spangher. Hopefully they are what Bevo needs.

07-11-2021, 06:59 PM
Posters have said this since Monty left, yet we have made 2 grand finals plus played in two other final series.

I for one wouldn't have a clue how good Smith is or Edge or even Spangher. Hopefully they are what Bevo needs.

I think you might have misunderstood that while many were wanting some changes to the coaching ranks and to bring in some IP from other clubs as people specifically not rating King and Hansen and I don't think that is accurate reflection.
Hansen was particularly impressive while at the Dogs and seeing him in his early years coaching the VFL side was a good insight to his communication and tactical skills.

King was a very low profile for a senior assistant coach and not that impressive when interviewed but we've had a united coaching unit for a long while which means they've all worked together well.

07-11-2021, 07:03 PM

I guess it's early days because Edge hasn't been appointed yet but we do seem to have an a promote from within philosophy.
Edge was highly regarded as a development coach around the AFL and a up step from Footscray might be a good thing for us.

I remain positive about Spangher's appointment.

07-11-2021, 07:28 PM
I think you might have misunderstood that while many were wanting some changes to the coaching ranks and to bring in some IP from other clubs as people specifically not rating King and Hansen and I don't think that is accurate reflection.
Hansen was particularly impressive while at the Dogs and seeing him in his early years coaching the VFL side was a good insight to his communication and tactical skills.

King was a very low profile for a senior assistant coach and not that impressive when interviewed but we've had a united coaching unit for a long while which means they've all worked together well.

Yeah ideas from other clubs Yze under Clarkson, Caracella Hardwick.
Has Spangher even been coaching? I've got nothing against the guy but I'd have liked a guy with some experience in a successful setup to come in.

07-11-2021, 07:34 PM

It can't be a bad thing to bring in ideas though? It seems common in the industry.
I think along with recruiting and fitness staff they're all the key pillars of success (good coaches).

You're right re who they're bringing in I have nfi, but to me it appears uninspiring.

Time will tell.

Robert Harvey I wouldn't have minded.

11-11-2021, 08:20 AM
Yeah ideas from other clubs Yze under Clarkson, Caracella Hardwick.
Has Spangher even been coaching? I've got nothing against the guy but I'd have liked a guy with some experience in a successful setup to come in.

Well, he played under Clarko…

11-11-2021, 10:47 AM
Robert Harvey I wouldn't have minded.
I suspect after his 2021 he'd only move into a senior assistant role with us.

11-11-2021, 11:16 AM
I suspect after his 2021 he'd only move into a senior assistant role with us.

And I doubt ours has been filled yet.

16-11-2021, 09:01 PM
Any chance this will be put to bed before pre season starts?

17-11-2021, 11:22 AM
Sam Edmund reporting

MATT Spangher locked in as an assistant coach at the Dogs for next season. Former Hawks cult-hero will take charge of the fwd line after a stint at Collingwood as AFL engagement & VFL ops mgr. He and Bevo were at Hawks together before Spangher worked in London & did Master's.

and

The Dogs will soon announce their midfield assistant coach for 2022, with Rohan Smith remaining in charge of the backline.

17-11-2021, 01:29 PM
Bit of a weird one in that he hasn't done any coaching to date?

17-11-2021, 02:55 PM

Very. I don't get it at all, unless he has the certs which is a different story.

Praying it's not a Bevo's mate good bloke thing.

But they probably know more than us, but hey what's a forum for.

17-11-2021, 04:25 PM
Is it any weirder than a player retiring and going straight into an assistant coaching role?

17-11-2021, 04:57 PM
Came from a good system. Good get I say.

17-11-2021, 05:35 PM
Hmm. Is he a Bevo “yes” man ?

17-11-2021, 05:38 PM

I'm a Dog God yes man so say :

Yes.

17-11-2021, 05:40 PM
Is it any weirder than a player retiring and going straight into an assistant coaching role?

I've got a few mates that have done the hard yards through the certification process, and have level 2 and 3 and don't get a look in. The best they get is oppo analysis a week in advance.

It's very interesting I was getting all of the Saints opposition analysis a week out I found it very interesting.

But they can't get a look in in what they call the boys club. I have had this direct conversation with Ameet Bains regarding a person we know in common.

Ameet agreed (after some drinks at a function) that this is indeed an issue.

I didn't say that *just realises forum*

17-11-2021, 05:53 PM
Here's his education/ qualifications:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/mspangher/details/education/

17-11-2021, 05:54 PM

Do these so called yes men even exist?

17-11-2021, 05:57 PM

I'm not that concerned, if he has a plan that suits Bevo's overall vision and we are confident he can get the message across that's good enough for me. I'd prefer a more established assistant but he must have impressed Bevo.

17-11-2021, 05:58 PM

Long bow to draw DG but I'm confident that won't be the case.

17-11-2021, 05:59 PM

I agree.

17-11-2021, 05:59 PM
Here's his education/ qualifications:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/mspangher/details/education/

Gold.

17-11-2021, 06:08 PM

No such thing, just a WOOF myth

17-11-2021, 06:10 PM

Great Point

17-11-2021, 06:13 PM
No such thing, just a WOOF myth

I just wonder if any other clubs were clamouring for his services?

Basically he's an unknown and I wanted a known from another successful team, like Yze to the Demons who reshaped their defence.

17-11-2021, 06:19 PM
I'm not that concerned, if he has a plan that suits Bevo's overall vision and we are confident he can get the message across that's good enough for me. I'd prefer a more established assistant but he must have impressed Bevo.

Was there a process? Serious question. (sorry working late and bored).

E.g. I'd rather Dale Morris if we are plucking guys from nowhere.

17-11-2021, 07:11 PM
Looks like Baz has a bit of competition on the Brownlow carpet next year if Fabio gets the gig. He's not called Fabio for no reason. He's got that smile, he's got that flair (hair)!

17-11-2021, 08:27 PM

He seems like a good guy and he must have presented well, but the fact is we're taking a risk because there's absolutely zero track record on his ability to coach. Nobody can say for certain whether he's a good coach because there's just no evidence of it. Given how close we are to a flag, not sure I love that kind of decision making.

He might be great and I hope he is, but it's a different thing to have a good philosophy and present it well at a job interview and then implement it with various different playing styles and personalities at an elite football club.

Good luck to him (and us).

17-11-2021, 08:50 PM
He seems like a good guy and he must have presented well, but the fact is we're taking a risk because there's absolutely zero track record on his ability to coach. Nobody can say for certain whether he's a good coach because there's just no evidence of it. Given how close we are to a flag, not sure I love that kind of decision making.

He might be great and I hope he is, but it's a different thing to have a good philosophy and present it well at a job interview and then implement it with various different playing styles and personalities at an elite football club.

Good luck to him (and us).

I think we have to wait and see who else is appointed to judge the coaching group properly. If we get another inexperienced guy it might be a challenge but if we come in with someone who has some runs on the board then it could be a great mix for us to refresh the messages going out to the playing group. Ultimately Bevo has to make it work so he has to get it right.

17-11-2021, 10:38 PM
I think we have to wait and see who else is appointed to judge the coaching group properly. If we get another inexperienced guy it might be a challenge but if we come in with someone who has some runs on the board then it could be a great mix for us to refresh the messages going out to the playing group. Ultimately Bevo has to make it work so he has to get it right.

Given the loss of experienced Assistants the last couple of years, someone with prior experience at another Club should be a perquisite for the next hire, given Spangher's appointment.

17-11-2021, 10:48 PM

Sir,

Yes.

Thank you,

18-11-2021, 09:56 AM
We really don't know anything about the process. For all we know there were a bunch of candidates who were asked to sell their F50 'vision' and the Spang did better than anyone else.

Or it was all based on a dinner party and he brought a Heathcote Shiraz that was better than anyone else's tipple. We just don't know.

18-11-2021, 10:41 AM
We really don't know anything about the process. For all we know there were a bunch of candidates who were asked to sell their F50 'vision' and the Spang did better than anyone else.

Or it was all based on a dinner party and he brought a Heathcote Shiraz that was better than anyone else's tipple. We just don't know.

I'm looking forward to seeing what Spangher brings as a forward line coach. Just because he's not from the traditional pathway we shouldn't discount the merits of the appointment. Cautiously optimistic.

18-11-2021, 11:28 AM
I'm looking forward to seeing what Spangher brings as a forward line coach. Just because he's not from the traditional pathway we shouldn't discount the merits of the appointment. Cautiously optimistic.

As Jeemak said, there are many players who after retiring become an assistant coach, Spangher is no different

18-11-2021, 12:17 PM
Are we bringing in anyone else or have we upgraded the VFL guy?

18-11-2021, 01:46 PM

The Dogs will soon announce their midfield assistant coach for 2022, with Rohan Smith remaining in charge of the backline.

Waiting

18-11-2021, 01:53 PM
Sammy Power wasn't exactly a gun list manager at Carlton, I like the fact we give young intelligent people an opportunity.

Bevo clearly rates education and real-world work experience which Matty has done.

18-11-2021, 11:41 PM

BigFooty posters are saying Mick Hazell from St Bedes has been appointed midfield coach….

19-11-2021, 12:36 AM
BigFooty posters are saying Mick Hazell from St Bedes has been appointed midfield coach….

Bahahahaha, Jesus Christ I hope that's true just for the lols.

19-11-2021, 10:19 AM
It's a joke on the Bevo - yes man whining

19-11-2021, 10:42 AM
It's a joke on the Bevo - yes man whining

I know WOOF occasionally gets signaled out by one or two here but I've also read the same theme elsewhere.
It would be an interesting appointment if true. :)

19-11-2021, 12:59 PM
Sammy Power wasn't exactly a gun list manager at Carlton, I like the fact we give young intelligent people an opportunity.

Bevo clearly rates education and real-world work experience which Matty has done.

I agree. Bevo had the academic qualifications and some experience outside of the footy world and I think he appreciates it in others too.

19-11-2021, 02:49 PM
Marc Webb, midfield coach ?? … just announced apparently.

19-11-2021, 02:55 PM
Marc Webb, midfield coach ?? … just announced apparently.
Who’s that ?

19-11-2021, 02:59 PM
New Bulldogs Assistant Coaches Appointed
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1031444/new-bulldogs-assistant-coaches-appointed

The Western Bulldogs have made two assistant coach additions for the 2022 season, welcoming Matt Spangher and Marc Webb to the Club.

Spangher and Webb replace Ash Hansen and Steven King, who departed the Bulldogs after the 2021 campaign following long stints with the Club.

Spangher will take charge of the Dogs’ forwards and offensive systems, while Webb will be responsible for the midfield and stoppages. Rohan Smith will continue in his role coaching the defenders and overseeing defensive systems.

Webb arrives at VU Whitten Oval as a highly credentialled coach and player, with vast experience at AFL and WAFL level.

He spent seven years at Fremantle Football Club in various positions, including as midfield assistant and in development coaching, development program management and stoppage coordination roles.

Prior to his time at the Dockers, Webb was senior coach of Claremont in the WAFL, guiding the team to the Premiership in his first year and being named WA Coaches Association Coach of the Year in 2013.

As a player, Webb had a distinguished career in the WAFL with Subiaco, winning four premierships, captaining the Club from 2005-09 and winning the Lions’ Best and Fairest in 2003. He also won the Simpson Medal for best afield in the 2006 Grand Final.

Spangher spent 11 years as a player at AFL level and was surrounded by success in his time with Sydney, West Coast and Hawthorn.

He played in Hawthorn’s 2014 Premiership in the same year he won the Best Clubman award, and was involved in the Hawks’ three-peat of flags from 2013-15, and the Eagles’ triumph in 2006.

Since the completion of his playing career, Spangher further developed his strong management and people skills in various roles outside the football industry, before he returned to the AFL realm early in 2020 in an engagement and operations role with the Collingwood Football Club.

“In Matt and Marc, we have two outstanding characters with rich football history and strong communication and management skills. They will both be critical people for us as we continue to build capability into our playing group from 2022 onwards,” said Bulldogs’ Senior Coach, Luke Beveridge.

“Bringing two new coaches into our program will provide us with fresh ideas and some different voices, which will be imperative for our future as we endeavour to achieve a period of sustained on-field success.

“Matt and Marc will provide their own unique skill set, and they will be indoctrinated into a close-knit coaching team. They will be provided every opportunity to flourish in their roles through a foundation based on collaboration and empowerment.”

19-11-2021, 03:14 PM
A few of my mates played under Webb at Claremont. Good tactically was the main feedback I got on him from the time they had under him.

19-11-2021, 03:18 PM
A few of my mates played under Webb at Claremont. Good tactically was the main feedback I got on him from the time they had under him.

Hopefully he can teach our mids a thing about team accountability at the centre bounce!

19-11-2021, 03:21 PM
Hopefully he can teach our mids a thing about team accountability at the centre bounce!

Too soon Mal. Too soon.

19-11-2021, 03:25 PM
Who’s that ?

He's well known in WA ... I've only met him once, briefly, seemed like a nice guy, very driven. MJP might know him better?

19-11-2021, 03:46 PM
WOOF contributors have on occasions been called out and questioned over the last 2 years for saying the same things that Bevo has just been quoted on.

"Bringing two new coaches into our program will provide us with fresh ideas and some different voices, which will be imperative for our future as we endeavour to achieve a period of sustained on-field success.

I'm as excited as Bevo is about our what our new coaching panel can deliver for us. Bring on the 2022 season.

19-11-2021, 03:48 PM
WOOF contributors have on occasions been called out and questioned over the last 2 years for saying the same things that Bevo has just been quoted on.

"Bringing two new coaches into our program will provide us with fresh ideas and some different voices, which will be imperative for our future as we endeavour to achieve a period of sustained on-field success.

I'm as excited as Bevo is about our what our new coaching panel can deliver for us. Bring on the 2022 season.

What else is he going to say?

I agree with it by the way, but he didn't really have any other options.

19-11-2021, 03:49 PM
What else is he going to say?

I should have done this sooner? :)

19-11-2021, 03:50 PM

He may look at it and think he's got an even bigger challenge in front of him in going a step further next year. I reckon it's really uncertain times for us.

19-11-2021, 04:14 PM
He may look at it and think he's got an even bigger challenge in front of him in going a step further next year. I reckon it's really uncertain times for us.

I'm guessing he could have found assistant coaches that have followed a more traditional pathway but I like that we have looked a bit deeper and found Spangher and Webb. Webb has worked with Lyons which is a great grounding for us and Spangher must have conveyed his vision on how a forward line with heaps of talent can function.

I would have loved for us to get someone like Williams but in reality that wasn't going to happen so like everything time will tell if this works out well for us. I'm genuinely thrilled that we have completed the appointments and I'm right behind the selections. There has been no shortcut in this process.

19-11-2021, 04:16 PM
Webby is a legend.

Great outcome.

19-11-2021, 04:19 PM
Webby is a legend.

Great outcome.

Well that is a ringing endorsement.. I'm all aboard the Webbex express now

19-11-2021, 04:40 PM

Nah that's BS. People have been called out for questioning whether the assistants have any spine to question Bevo. I think there's been very little if any question on whether it would be good to get fresh ideas in the club.

19-11-2021, 04:51 PM
Nah that's BS. People have been called out for questioning whether the assistants have any spine to question Bevo. I think there's been very little if any question on whether it would be good to get fresh ideas in the club.

I can get the actual quotes but won't bother.
A lot of the reasons expressed were around bringing in IP from other clubs and fresh voices as well.
I think we will find change is a good thing for us.

19-11-2021, 05:16 PM
I admire the way our club does not tend to leak info and that the media circus does not blow up our tyres the way they do say the bombers. Best wishes monsiers Spangher & Webb. Go the mighty dogs!

19-11-2021, 05:28 PM
Spangher seems a bit like Bevo, cool, a real people person but deadly committed to the competition.
Keeps spirits up in a grinding professional atmosphere.
Webb being good tactically is great. Bevo needs that support on game day.

19-11-2021, 05:35 PM
Linkedin Spangher:
"Experience

AFL Engagement and VFL Operations Manager
Collingwood Football Club
Jan 2020 - Present 1 yr 11 mos
Melbourne, Australia

Commercial Manager
Flybuys (Loyalty Pacific)
May 2020 - Jan 2021 9 mos
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Senior Account Manager
Greenroom Digital Pty Ltd
Nov 2018 - Jan 2020 1 yr 3 mos
London, United Kingdom

Education

La Trobe University
Master of Business Administration - MBA Business Administration and Management, General
2020 - 2021

La Trobe University
Master's degree Management (sports management)
2014 - 2017

Griffith University
Bachelor of Business Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
2009 - 2014
Lots of volunteer work too.

19-11-2021, 06:48 PM

Bloody old coaches only got us a premiership and a runners up in GF - bloody hopeless they were :D

19-11-2021, 06:57 PM
Bloody old coaches only got us a premiership and a runners up in GF - bloody hopeless they were :D

That normally buy people a couple of years not a lifetime pass though :)
Look at what Richmond were able to achieve after their break through year and compare that to how we dropped quickly after just one bite of the cherry and how long it took before we won our next final.
In terms of effectiveness the coaching team (and maybe the leadership team) has to take a bit of a hit for that plus I don't think we came out of some challenges within the playing group like we should have.

Anyway, we have a fresh start now and we will see how 2022 starts to unfold.

Has it been determined who the senior assistant coach is?

19-11-2021, 07:48 PM
Spangher and Webb sound like a law firm.:)

19-11-2021, 08:32 PM
That normally buy people a couple of years not a lifetime pass though :)
Look at what Richmond were able to achieve after their break through year and compare that to how we dropped quickly after just one bite of the cherry and how long it took before we won our next final.
In terms of effectiveness the coaching team (and maybe the leadership team) has to take a bit of a hit for that plus I don't think we came out of some challenges within the playing group like we should have.

Anyway, we have a fresh start now and we will see how 2022 starts to unfold.

Has it been determined who the senior assistant coach is?

good to have fresh eyes, I have always said that

19-11-2021, 09:34 PM
Spangher seems a bit like Bevo, cool, a real people person but deadly committed to the competition.
Keeps spirits up in a grinding professional atmosphere.
Webb being good tactically is great. Bevo needs that support on game day.

And the right mix too. A Rookie and an experienced Assistant Coach. You don't move Interstate unless you are serious about wanting to be the best in your role.

Webb has done everything in WA so this is his big chance to step-up and show what he has, at a side good enough to be Winning Premierships but has to deliver now.

19-11-2021, 09:35 PM
Spangher and Webb sound like a law firm.:)

I like the sound of Denuto, Spangher and Webb myself.

19-11-2021, 11:20 PM
I like the sound of Denuto, Spangher and Webb myself.

F3 what the fk is that? I just cleared tray 3!

Gets me every time.

https://youtu.be/iEp3Ig3isxc

It's up there with Vince Collisimo doing Neville Bartos.

There's no cash here.
Robbo?
No cash.

20-11-2021, 08:55 AM
I'd love to know a bit about the process of these appointments.
Did the coaches apply or did we head hunt them based on the skill set we thought they might be able to bring?
What was the one or two skills or attributes they had that tipped the appointment their way?

20-11-2021, 08:56 AM

Gets me every time.

It's true too.

Conspiracy theorists need to turn their eye of Sauron away from Covid and cast it upon photocopier/printer companies they are taking us for rubes.

20-11-2021, 09:50 AM
It's true too.

Conspiracy theorists need to turn their eye of Sauron away from Covid and cast it upon photocopier/printer companies they are taking us for rubes.

"Big toner" controls us all.

20-11-2021, 09:28 PM

Gets me every time.

It's up there with Vince Collisimo doing Neville Bartos.

There's no cash here.
Robbo?
No cash.

For mine this is one of the great underrated scenes from Australian cinema. David Wenham milks it for all it's worth.

"Excuse me. Where can I get my bus fare?"

https://youtu.be/pFS6WAXea5s

20-11-2021, 09:33 PM
I like that we have a coaching panel that are young and ready to prove they can take the next step. If I were an assistant I'd be wrapped to find myself at a club with a playing list like ours because you might just find yourself on the premiership dais at the end of the season and there's no better advertisement for your abilities than that. There should be a great hunger and the chance to prove your ability.

Sector the senior assistant I would think it'd be either Smith or Webb.

23-11-2021, 12:55 PM
Listening to Ameet Baines on the radio this morning and he mentioned that we approached some former assistant coaches who had left the industry during COVID-19 and none where really interested in putting their hand up to get back into the industry due to increased workload and decrease in pay.

23-11-2021, 01:01 PM
Listening to Ameet Baines on the radio this morning and he mentioned that we approached some former assistant coaches who had left the industry during COVID-19 and none where really interested in putting their hand up to get back into the industry due to increased workload and decrease in pay.

Thanks Aza, that's an interesting development. Normally the assistant coach are really keen to get back into it and money isn't the driving force. It must be a significant hair cut the footy department has been asked to cop.
Given we dropped a couple of coaches I think the pay drop for the others would have been minimal.

I think we are an assistant coach light at the moment but we might be able to address that in 2023.

23-11-2021, 02:42 PM
I think we are an assistant coach light at the moment but we might be able to address that in 2023.

There might be a plan here for Dale Morris or someone like that to contribute

23-11-2021, 02:56 PM

That's interesting. Presumably they've already changed their careers and put their footy days behind them. Bevo called out a few times that the industry will lose a lot of talented people because of the cuts and this is one example of that happening (potentially... I presume they were talented given we wanted to sound them out!).

23-11-2021, 04:11 PM
That's interesting. Presumably they've already changed their careers and put their footy days behind them. Bevo called out a few times that the industry will lose a lot of talented people because of the cuts and this is one example of that happening (potentially... I presume they were talented given we wanted to sound them out!).

I think other clubs have cut in deeper with their fitness staff and carried the extra coaches.
There was some speculation that Hansen got more money from Carlton who perhaps have hit the fitness team or other areas of the footy department more than the coaches.

23-11-2021, 08:01 PM

We need to understand that being a good coach is generally dependent on also having good people skills.

Those with good people skills also attract good salaries in the corporate space, so those coaches forced out have probably found very good positions and changes in the world may also mean financial reward has become fairly important.

24-11-2021, 03:22 PM
We need to understand that being a good coach is generally dependent on also having good people skills.

Those with good people skills also attract good salaries in the corporate space, so those coaches forced out have probably found very good positions and changes in the world may also mean financial reward has become fairly important.

People were reluctant to change jobs during COVID meaning talent was difficult to acquire generally, and this may have resulted in industries paying premiums for good talent right at the time the AFL was taking an austerity approach at club level - which may like most austerity regimes, have unintended (or intended depending upon who you ask) consequences down the track. A lack of immigration has meant a lack of skilled labour coming in as well.

Talk about bad timing for the AFL.

24-11-2021, 05:03 PM
THE THREE PLAYERS SPANGHER IS KEEN TO WORK WITH AT THE BULLDOGS (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/11/22/the-three-players-spangher-is-keen-to-work-with-at-the-bulldogs/)
Matt Spangher will oversee the forward setup at the Western Bulldogs after last week being appointed as an assistant coach to Luke Beveridge.

The Hawthorn premiership player and cult hero finished up playing at the top level in 2016 before returning to the AFL industry only last year.

Having worked at Collingwood in an engagement and operations role since early 2020, Spangher will now turn his hand to coaching and is keen to get to work with some of the key Bulldogs attackers.

He is particularly excited to work closely with veteran Josh Bruce and unlock his footy knowledge to share with the wider group.

“One in an interesting phase is probably Josh Bruce, being predominantly one of the main senior players and having his knee injury (last season),” Spangher said on SEN Breakfast.

“I’m really keen to develop what I know he has aspirations to do in terms of his career. So to use what is his football IP and spread that across the group more than what it already is.

“Footy’s a small world and we’ve crossed paths in our playing days many years ago now. I think he’s one I’d like to work closely with and use what he can offer to bring the better out of the group as well.”

At the other end of the scale, there are a couple of youngsters who Spangher is looking forward to having under his wing.

The Dogs are almost certain to bring in father-son prospect Sam Darcy in Wednesday night’s National Draft while last year’s No.1 draft pick Jamarra Ugle-Hagan continues to develop at the Whitten Oval.

“On the other end of the spectrum, Sam Darcy is coming into the side, whether or not that’s forward or back,” Spangher added.

“Having watched him at Oakleigh a little bit this year, he’s an impressive young man and the character of who he is in addition to his football ability.

“Obviously Jamarra is one they speak about who has got a lot of talent. Now there might be a little bit more opportunity coming through after a year in the system.

“Having said that, the forward group is unbelievably young across the board and I think that’s a really exciting part.

“Even though they’re young in age, many of them are quite senior in terms of footy lifespan. Aaron Naughton comes to mind in that respect.”

Spangher, who also played for West Coast and Sydney, has joined the Dogs along with WAFL great Marc Webb, who arrives at The Kennel after spending seven years with Fremantle.

24-11-2021, 05:22 PM
I wonder where this places Schache? I would have thought Naughton, Ugle-Hagan and Schache given Bruce will have a delayed start and Darcy being more of a long term project would have been the focus.

24-11-2021, 05:28 PM
i wonder where this places schache? I would have thought naughton, ugle-hagan and schache given bruce will have a delayed start and darcy being more of a long term project would have been the focus.

vfl?

24-11-2021, 05:59 PM
vfl?

Hope not.

24-11-2021, 06:00 PM
I wonder where this places Schache? I would have thought Naughton, Ugle-Hagan and Schache given Bruce will have a delayed start and Darcy being more of a long term project would have been the focus.
The Bruce comment sounds like we will be using him as a pseudo assistant coach for the forwards in 2022, until he is ready to come back. I suspect most clubs would use long-term senior injured players in the same way to get around the soft cap.

24-11-2021, 06:20 PM
The Bruce comment sounds like we will be using him as a pseudo assistant coach for the forwards in 2022, until he is ready to come back. I suspect most clubs would use long-term senior injured players in the same way to get around the soft cap.

Bruce is doing some work with our AFLW team, so getting some coaching experience

24-11-2021, 06:23 PM
Hope not.

I'm not sold. Sorry I want to be. How did he go in the GF? I remember nothing.

24-11-2021, 06:24 PM
Bruce is doing some work with our AFLW team, so getting some coaching experience

I think JT did the same.

24-11-2021, 08:25 PM
I'm not sold. Sorry I want to be. How did he go in the GF? I remember nothing.

Schache was one of 5 forwards that kicked 2 goals between them in the GF. There is an urgent need to revamp our attack to be competitive against the strong Melbourne defence in 2022

25-11-2021, 12:52 AM
Schache was OK in the GF, not amazing but not the problem

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/afl-grand-final-2021-western-bulldogs-player-ratings-dogs-ratings-vs-melbourne-reviews-stats-best-and-worst-players/news-story/461f184802f54de38982869d45773e91

13. Josh Schache

Started on the bench then came onto the ground to match up on Jake Lever, as expected. Lever didn’t have the intercept influence that he usually has, but Schache finished goalless from 11 touches. 4

https://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/32200699/afl-2021-grand-final-player-ratings-western-bulldogs-marcus-bontempelli-adam-treloar-85-10-loss

Josh Schache, 6.5: Had a negative role to play and played it pretty well. Finished with 11 disposals and just a behind, but had a direct goal assist and four score involvements. Tallied five one-percenters as well.

https://www.theroar.com.au/2021/09/25/afl-grand-final-player-ratings-western-bulldogs/

Josh Schache: 4
No preliminary final heroics from the former number two draft pick. 11 touches and no goals, though was unlucky to not receive a free kick with the match up for grabs in the third term. With Lever only taking two marks, he didn’t disgrace himself at least.

08-12-2021, 07:17 PM
https://youtu.be/CxTY6fcU4bQ

08-12-2021, 08:39 PM
Like his passion and focus, it will be good for the playing group to have a new voice and enthusiastic approach.
A couple of the clips had him talking to players that are primarily known as defenders.
The other thing is he must be wanting to get his forward line sorted out but with 3 of his key forwards consisting of Bruce being injured and Naughton and English still over in WA he's got a while to wait.

09-12-2021, 08:00 AM
Like his passion and focus, it will be good for the playing group to have a new voice and enthusiastic approach.
A couple of the clips had him talking to players that are primarily known as defenders.
The other thing is he must be wanting to get his forward line sorted out but with 3 of his key forwards consisting of Bruce being injured and Naughton and English still over in WA he's got a while to wait.

In particular I liked how he discussed a smaller cog in a bigger machine and team first ethos.

09-12-2021, 08:01 AM
Great to see Beveridge out and about and on field during pre season training. I wouldn't have been surprised if he sat out training until the new year.

09-12-2021, 08:47 AM
Great to see Beveridge out and about and on field during pre season training. I wouldn't have been surprised if he sat out training until the new year.

I can recall in his first year with us how he was always on the ground directing traffic. His focus back then was about moving the ball quickly especially out of the back line.
I think he likes to play a big part in the off season training sessions and good luck to any player not bringing their best efforts.

10-12-2021, 10:42 AM
Mark Stevens @StevoMedia

Sad to hear Dale Morris leaving @westernbulldogs

.. Superman on-field and just as good off-field in corporate/coterie role. Bound for Queensland for sea change with family. Go well, Moz.

10-12-2021, 10:58 AM
Mark Stevens @StevoMedia

Sad to hear Dale Morris leaving @westernbulldogs

.. Superman on-field and just as good off-field in corporate/coterie role. Bound for Queensland for sea change with family. Go well, Moz.

He was really lucky to land the coterie role, and he did it so well; but he was too much of a celebrity to do it freely.
He was stalked at games he didn't get a spare second.

Glad he's making a positive move for his family that's awesome!
All the best to him.

10-12-2021, 01:51 PM
Talked to Dale two weeks back, seemed very happy to be the Sponsors Coterie manager.

We've lost a great one there.

10-12-2021, 02:59 PM
Talked to Dale two weeks back, seemed very happy to be the Sponsors Coterie manager.

We've lost a great one there.

Nearest the pin replacement.

I'm going to pick Woody.

13-12-2021, 12:22 AM
https://youtu.be/CT0hliju7HQ

15-12-2021, 09:05 AM
https://youtu.be/CT0hliju7HQ

His a *!*!*!*!ing good egg and I'm so happy we got him so cheap. Saints lost a really good bloke here.

23-01-2022, 12:45 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_pN43E8q6Y&ab_channel=Michael

23-01-2022, 01:07 PM
Looks like a Bevo clone. Can't wait to see what changes he can implement with the stoppages.

23-01-2022, 01:34 PM
I think Webb will be a great addition for us. With his skill in player development and with his time at Fremantle he brings a great mix of experiences. Seems like he will be a terrific communicator as well.
He's inherited a great midfield group and like Jazza mentioned I wonder what subtle changes he will make with or stoppage set-up as well.

23-01-2022, 01:45 PM
Our clearance work is what made us a challenger I am hoping we don’t change too much based on a couple of bad patches. Subtle adjustments to the way we adjust against certain teams and situations is my preference.

23-01-2022, 04:35 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_pN43E8q6Y&ab_channel=Michael

Great to watch. Glad he mentions off-field as well. One of the strengths of the club.

23-01-2022, 07:39 PM
Our clearance work is what made us a challenger I am hoping we don’t change too much based on a couple of bad patches. Subtle adjustments to the way we adjust against certain teams and situations is my preference.

Agreed, and just think some strategy around when to defend/ lock it in and when to set up aggressively.

23-01-2022, 08:05 PM
Agreed, and just think some strategy around when to defend/ lock it in and when to set up aggressively.

Can you think of any recent examples where we didn’t do this successfully?

23-01-2022, 08:14 PM
I think Webb will be a great addition for us. With his skill in player development and with his time at Fremantle he brings a great mix of experiences. Seems like he will be a terrific communicator as well.
He's inherited a great midfield group and like Jazza mentioned I wonder what subtle changes he will make with or stoppage set-up as well.

He appears to have a calmness about him which I really like, calmy assertive.
I think he will be great and certainly doesn't look like someone afraid to voice an opinion.
Looks like a great appointment.

23-01-2022, 08:42 PM
Can you think of any recent examples where we didn’t do this successfully?

I have patchy memory of it happening recently. I prefer not to dig too deeply to verify it!

23-01-2022, 09:02 PM
I have patchy memory of it happening recently. I prefer not to dig too deeply to verify it!

Yeah, like a vague fog covering my memories. Anyway, I’m sure we’ll nail it this year. Onward and upward.

23-01-2022, 09:35 PM
Yeah, like a vague fog covering my memories. Anyway, I’m sure we’ll nail it this year. Onward and upward.

Pretty sure Grantysghost has no memory of it ;)

23-01-2022, 09:39 PM

https://media.giphy.com/media/88iYsvbegSUn9bSTF8/giphy.gif

I remembered not to touch it again.

And the grog! Boom boom.

23-01-2022, 10:03 PM

Think you’re going to hell for that. In hell they play the last 40 minutes of that game on repeat.
Petracca endlessly kicking the footy to Bailey Fritsch who goals

23-01-2022, 11:03 PM
Think you’re going to hell for that. In hell they play the last 40 minutes of that game on repeat.

https://media.giphy.com/media/3o6ZsZxSZYdhnlaILe/giphy.gif

23-01-2022, 11:29 PM

I couldn't think of anything worse to be honest... I still haven't watched the final quarter, I turned off after the end of the third and watched them kick the first of the 4th and that was it for me.

Rather not know...

24-01-2022, 06:52 PM
I couldn't think of anything worse to be honest... I still haven't watched the final quarter, I turned off after the end of the third and watched them kick the first of the 4th and that was it for me.

Rather not know...

I haven't watched it at all, and nor will I be.

24-01-2022, 07:49 PM

I pushed through and watched the lot a few weeks back, it still burns.

24-01-2022, 07:57 PM

No spoilers I haven't watched it yet! (that I recall).

24-01-2022, 09:50 PM

I tried but after Fritsch goals over the back of the pack in the 3rd I knew what was coming and switched it off

25-01-2022, 09:38 AM

Yes, I have assiduously avoided any footage of the GF. Whenever I get to thinking I might watch some of the 4th Qtr, I just revisit some of GG's post-GF melts and that cures me of any further inclination to watch.:D

25-01-2022, 07:41 PM

I was there ... it still hurts

04-04-2022, 11:28 PM
A lot of water to to under the bridge yet, but Leon Cameron putting back his contract till the end of the year is an interesting one.

Lets say he does leave GWS, any interest around a senior assistant to Bevo/ foot department role?

05-04-2022, 03:18 AM
A lot of water to to under the bridge yet, but Leon Cameron putting back his contract till the end of the year is an interesting one.

Lets say he does leave GWS, any interest around a senior assistant to Bevo/ foot department role?

God knows we need another 'senior' assistant from outside the club to give us another look at things, Cameron tho? Doubt it.

05-04-2022, 09:33 AM

Saying that he put back his contract until the end of the year is one way to look at it (I guess).

05-04-2022, 09:36 AM
Saying that he put back his contract until the end of the year is one way to look at it (I guess).

Clarko looms large

05-04-2022, 09:59 AM

Ha ha yeah I read this exactly the same way.

16-08-2022, 06:04 PM
Lenny Hayes returning to Saints as assistant

16-08-2022, 10:07 PM
Lenny Hayes returning to Saints as assistant

Wouldn’t it be nice if Boyd followed suit

16-08-2022, 10:07 PM
Wouldn’t it be nice if Boyd followed suit

I would spew if he went to St Kilda.

Yes, I'm joking.

17-08-2022, 10:43 AM
Anyone heard what is happening with the extra $500K in the soft cap?

Was mentioned on this board that Smith would be leaving the dogs, but I've heard nothing more of this.

The supposed August 1st deadline has been and gone.

Is it safe to assume we will be entering 2023 with the same assistant coach set up?

17-08-2022, 10:59 AM

Was mentioned on this board that Smith would be leaving the dogs, but I've heard nothing more of this.

Is it safe to assume we will be entering 2023 with the same assistant coach set up?

I don't think we should assume we will have the same coaching structure as this year.
500K extra in the department won't stretch as far as we would want though especially when you consider the people who took pay cuts a couple of years back and stuck with us probably deserve something heading back their way now that the coffers have been topped up.
My understanding is that the recruiting department is now more or less just 3 or 4 people supported by volunteers and there were also cuts to the strength and conditioning team.

I would suggest we will get one more assistant coach and a couple of part timers for the coaches team and the balance should be invested in the strength and conditioning team and some behind the scenes support staff.

There will be some changes but it's unlikely to be back to something like we had before.

17-08-2022, 12:42 PM

Isn't the August 1 date just when the coaches have to be informed if they will be retained? Doesn't mean it is public knowledge.

17-08-2022, 01:21 PM
Isn't the August 1 date just when the coaches have to be informed if they will be retained? Doesn't mean it is public knowledge.

True, things like this normally leak out though.

17-08-2022, 01:38 PM

I'm sure I heard Eddie mention it last week that there is now some flexibility with that date.
As Axe pointed out clubs might already have talked to their assistants about what the future looks like for them.

17-08-2022, 09:36 PM

We should never have lost both Joel Corey and Dale Morris at the same time. Matthew Boyd now at Fremantle should be a top priority.
These three would greatly strengthen, our MC and as all are former Premiership players would greatly strengthen our Assistants further weakened by the loss of Hansen and King to Carlton and GCS. Given our rapid fall away this year, this needs to be a priority for the likes of Luke Darcy and Chris Grant in conjunction with Luke Beveridge to address.

23-08-2022, 10:39 AM
I wonder if we are in the market now looking for another Assistant or two as there was some speculation that Rohan Smith might be moving away from his role?

There must be some ambitious assistant coaches that would benefit learning from Bevo.

23-08-2022, 11:43 AM
I wonder if we are in the market now looking for another Assistant or two as there was some speculation that Rohan Smith might be moving away from his role?

There must be some ambitious assistant coaches that would benefit learning from Bevo.

You would think if we approached Leon, that we are looking

23-08-2022, 11:53 AM
Ben Rutten had a strong CV as defensive line coach at Richmond prior to joining Essendon. He would be worth a chat to take over from Smith (assuming he is leaving) as defensive coach, especially considering Essendon will be paying any differential in 2023 between what we might offer him and the 600k he already has under contract next year.

Some coaches have a ceiling and cannot make the transition to senior coach, it shouldn't taint their abilities at assistant level. The Hanger is a toxic place to work with the coteries and the old network doing all the politicking in the background. Not to mention players dictating game style on the run mid season like they did this year.

23-08-2022, 12:07 PM
The other angle out of Essendon that sits with what we do is Gia - hiring known commodities who have good relationships with people within the organisation etc.

If Essendon clear house of all their assistants then that leaves him looking for a role. We would appear to have space in a more senior assistant capacity.

23-08-2022, 12:10 PM
Ben Rutten had a strong CV as defensive line coach at Richmond prior to joining Essendon. He would be worth a chat to take over from Smith (assuming he is leaving) as defensive coach, especially considering Essendon will be paying any differential in 2023 between what we might offer him and the 600k he already has under contract next year.

Some coaches have a ceiling and cannot make the transition to senior coach, it shouldn't taint their abilities at assistant level. The Hanger is a toxic place to work with the coteries and the old network doing all the politicking in the background. Not to mention players dictating game style on the run mid season like they did this year.

Can we have 2 trucks in the 1 club?

23-08-2022, 12:25 PM
The other angle out of Essendon that sits with what we do is Gia - hiring known commodities who have good relationships with people within the organisation etc.

If Essendon clear house of all their assistants then that leaves him looking for a role. We would appear to have space in a more senior assistant capacity.

I think he went there to further expand his senior coaching opportunities but if Hird, Solomon and McVeigh are heading back he might be the odd one out.

I wonder if he would be interested in returning? He probably should look at another club.

23-08-2022, 12:30 PM
I think he went there to further expand his senior coaching opportunities but if Hird, Solomon and McVeigh are heading back he might be the odd one out.

I wonder if he would be interested in returning? He probably should look at another club.

That might be his preference, but we could also be aggressive if hes what we want - and its a potential premiership group he could be involved with

25-08-2022, 07:24 PM
How do you think would Brendon Goddard go as a development coach or even as an assistant coach?

25-08-2022, 07:33 PM
For all the pointing jokes we made he was rated decently highly for his leadership skills wasn't he? Boyd had similar tendencies and seems to have made a good coach too so maybe there's something there.

25-08-2022, 07:55 PM
For all the pointing jokes we made he was rated decently highly for his leadership skills wasn't he? Boyd had similar tendencies and seems to have made a good coach too so maybe there's something there.

I think he has a good footy brain and would be someone who insists on high standards.
I'm not sure if that transitions into him being a good assistant coach or development coach so I'd be interested to hear from others if they think he could add some value?

25-08-2022, 08:55 PM

Gia , given the rabble that now exists at Essendon must be regretting his move. A lot of Bombers members are less than impressed with the possibility of a James Hird return as Coach.
To think we might have lost Josh Dunkley as well beggars belief.

25-08-2022, 10:06 PM
I think he has a good footy brain and would be someone who insists on high standards.
I'm not sure if that transitions into him being a good assistant coach or development coach so I'd be interested to hear from others if they think he could add some value?

Big yes from me for the reason you’ve outlined. He has a good footy brain and is able to articulate his views forthrightly and simply.

He is easy to dislike because of his onfield behaviour but when I’ve heard him speak I’ve enjoyed listening to him. Which at the time was hard for me to reconcile

25-08-2022, 10:27 PM

I'd rather Mr Snuffleupagus.

Always came across as a guy who had little control over his emotions.

Never forget his faux tears after his new club beat his old club.
Give me a spell wipe those tears with your new found cash!

Whether he can coach or not I have nfi. But I feel better getting that off my chest.

26-08-2022, 03:26 AM
How do you think would Brendon Goddard go as a development coach or even as an assistant coach?

He'd be better off getting his handicap down and playing the odd pro-am here or there.

Whether he's changed or is the same, he's tainted and I don't think he'd command, earn or deserve respect as a people manager. Do you remember the harsh ex-player arseholes you couldn't relate to on the radio when you were a kid? Goddard is one of those guys now.

26-08-2022, 09:14 AM
He'd be better off getting his handicap down and playing the odd pro-am here or there.

Whether he's changed or is the same, he's tainted and I don't think he'd command, earn or deserve respect as a people manager. Do you remember the harsh ex-player arseholes you couldn't relate to on the radio when you were a kid? Goddard is one of those guys now.

The ex-players on the radio when I was a kid typically just called the game and I can't recall regarding them as harsh.
Things have changed now.
You might be onto something though that the direct approach that someone like Goddard might bring probably doesn't resonate with the younger players coming through now which is a critical aspect of coaching. I'm not so sure about the respect aspect.

I don't mind listening to Goddard, he clearly explains his views and tends to call it straight down line.
I'd really like to get Matthew Boyd back because I liked his direct approach with his team mates when he was a leader of the club but assuming that isn't possible I saw some of those traits in Goddard.

26-08-2022, 09:45 AM
Anthony Rocca has been cut from North - I really do believe he's the best goalkicking coach available.
We have to make an offer. What he did with Casboult was remarkable.

26-08-2022, 10:10 AM
Anthony Rocca has been cut from North - I really do believe he's the best goalkicking coach available.
We have to make an offer. What he did with Casboult was remarkable.

I thought is was Sav Rocca who worked with Casboult on his kicking.

Wasn't Anthony an assistant at Collingwood with Buckley?

26-08-2022, 10:14 AM
Not sure if this has been mentioned but we won't be getting Leon Cameron. I think I heard Caroline Wilson mention that he may be taking a position with Sydney.

FORMER GWS COACH CAMERON DENIES BULLDOGS LINKS (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2022/08/14/former-gws-coach-cameron-denies-bulldogs-links/)

Former GWS coach Leon Cameron has denied reports linking him to a role at the Western Bulldogs.

SEN’s Sam Edmund reported last week that the Bulldogs were considering bringing Cameron - who played 172 games for the club as a player before working as an assistant from 2004 to 2010 - back to the Kennel in a football capacity.

While the report suggested the club was simply starting “informal” talks with the 49-year-old, Cameron says he and his family won’t be shifting away from Sydney for at least another year as his children complete their schooling.

“No, I actually heard that from my daughter,” Cameron said on AFL Nation in response to whether he’d spoken to the Bulldogs.

“She’s doing year 12 and I said, ‘What are you ringing me for you should be studying’, she said, ‘I’ve just heard you’ve been talking to the Bulldogs’, so I said, ‘No, no we haven’t’.

“So no, there hasn’t been (any negotiations) and I heard that during the week.

“We’re really comfortable here, I’ve got three kids here and my second child Harry is going into year 11.

“We plan to be staying for at least the next 12 – 24 months.”

Having spent the majority of his life in the industry across multiple positions, Cameron says he’s looking forward to seeing “what else is out there” despite knowing his itch to get back involved in football will eventually surface.

“I think a bit of time out after 34 years from playing into assisting into senior coaching (is what’s best),” he said.

“Just to sort of see what else is out there.

“As every day, week and month goes on there’s no doubt the itch will become a bit bigger and you’ll want to get straight back into it.

“Whether that’s as a senior assistant or in a different path as a football manager or as a senior coach again, there’s no doubt it’ll be there.

“But, right now, I’m just enjoying being a little bit normal.”

Cameron parted ways with the Giants in May after nine years in charge and has recently been working in the media with SEN and AFL Nation.

26-08-2022, 10:33 AM
Not sure if this has been mentioned but we won't be getting Leon Cameron. I think I heard Caroline Wilson mention that he may be taking a position with Sydney.

It was mentioned on the contract thread ;) and the Leon Cameron stepping down thread.

26-08-2022, 10:41 AM
It was mentioned on the contract thread ;) and the Leon Cameron stepping down thread.

Well the first one is a lie because that thread doesn't exist I am told. Even if it did exist discussion about prospective assistant coaches certainly doesn't belong there.

I found the mention in the Leon Cameron thread after I posted, but my post contains actual quotes from the man himself and is superior in every way.

12-02-2023, 04:17 PM
I was just reading an article that said Nathan Burke is only employed part time which I suppose it's because the Womens aren't doing a full season like the men.
I was thinking to get around the cap could we make Burke full time and have him help the men in some capacity when it doesn't conflict with his AFLW commitments.
The other thing Burke may not want to work full time or with the men.

12-02-2023, 04:54 PM
I was just reading an article that said Nathan Burke is only employed part time which I suppose it's because the Womens aren't doing a full season like the men.
I was thinking to get around the cap could we make Burke full time and have him help the men in some capacity when it doesn't conflict with his AFLW commitments.

He's at Skinner reserve on Thursday and occasionally he's there on other days but there does not appear to be any crossover with the men's side. I'm not a big fan of his basically because of something he wrote about us years back in Inside Football and while I should let it go I choose not to :)

12-02-2023, 06:22 PM
I can't say I was a fan when he played but he has won me over a little bit with the girls. He appears to be a little like Bevo in he gets on well with the players.
It will be interesting how the girls go this season and if he can get improvement out of the list.
The angle was to get another coach to help without being in the main coaches financial bucket.

12-02-2023, 06:27 PM

I think it's a soft-cap issue and most clubs are being forced to get people working in one program OR the other...

The AFL need to put some time into figuring all of this out.

12-02-2023, 06:33 PM
Speaking of assistants I noticed that our aflw assistant Lisa Webb is now senior coach of Fremantles aflw side.

I assume Lisa will still be based in Melbourne when the aflw is finished?

Edit GVG already covered this in the correct forum!

24-02-2023, 10:21 AM
Daniel impressed by Lade’s impact (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1274097/daniel-impressed-by-lade-s-impact)

Western Bulldogs leader Caleb Daniel has lauded new assistant coach Brendon Lade for his impact so far this pre-season.

Daniel, who is one of several players being trialled in different positions ahead of the 2023 campaign, said hearing from someone different of Lade’s calibre has been beneficial.

“Ladey is a very experienced campaigner and has been around the AFL for a long time,” Daniel told 3AW on Tuesday night.

“We’ve got a pretty handy midfield that he’s coming in to help out there, so it’s been great to be able to hear his voice and hear some different things coming from him.

“He’s really honed in on that midfield group, - there’s guys coming through that necessarily haven’t played too much there, and guys that have played 200 games there. It’s an exciting blend.”

The Bulldogs will compete in an intraclub match simulation at Mars Stadium this weekend, as they ramp up preparations for round one - just over three weeks away.

Daniel said the intraclub game will be a great chance to put some of their pre-season lessons and preparations into effect.

“You probably hear it from everyone – that the boys are flying – but it’s certainly been that way from a Doggies end,” Daniel said.

“I think coming back in early December, we really strived to be a bit better than we have been previously and guys have come back in great nick which is certainly showing.

“We’re running great GPS numbers – and there are guys playing in several different positions, which is something Bevo holds in pretty high regard.

“It’s an exciting blend, so hopefully we’ll be able to roll that out throughout the year.”

24-02-2023, 10:43 AM
I think it's fair to say that Calebs opinion would be held right across the group. Lade has connected the other assistant coaches and the group is productively working together.

09-08-2023, 04:49 PM
There is an article behind the Herald Sun paywall, but going by the messaging it appears that Rohan Smith will be finishing up at the end of the season.

09-08-2023, 04:55 PM
There is an article behind the Herald Sun paywall, but going by the messaging it appears that Rohan Smith will be finishing up at the end of the season.

Western Bulldogs’ favourite son Rohan Smith will not be part of the club’s assistant coaching panel in a surprise change for next season.
The Dogs’ back line coach has been told his contract will not be renewed as part of a big adjustment to Luke Beveridge’s coaching staff for next season.
Clubs have to notify their coaching staff in August about whether they will be employed for next season in an effort to help coaches plan for the following year.

But the call has taken many by surprise at the kennel as Smith, who was part of the 2016 premiership, is one of the most popular and respected figures at the club.
Smith, who played 300 games for the Dogs – the seventh most in the club’s history – has been coaching at the club for 12 years.
Senior coach Luke Beveridge has lauded Smith’s contribution to the premiership and his work with the defenders and young developing prospects for more than a decade

It means Smith’s contract at the club will end in October. He will continue to coach the team for the rest of the season including the potential finals campaign.

Some coaches have walked away from their duties after being given notice but Smith has told the club he wants to continue to help support and guide the players for the rest of 2023.
Smith, 50, has been back line coach between 2013 – 2016 and 2020-2023.

In between those two stints he was development manager and started out as skills coach in 2012.
It followed a decorated career where the half back was dual All-Australian.

The AFL Coaches Association is campaigning hard with the league to help bolster contract termination clauses for coaches to help provide them more protection.
The Coaches’ Association also wants to develop a transition fund to help provide opportunities for coaches who have been in the system for a long time to move into new jobs.
It is unknown if Smith wants to continue coaching at another club next year after more than 30 years in the game

09-08-2023, 04:56 PM
It's only the start of August so hopefully the news of Spangher being let go is not far behind.

09-08-2023, 05:21 PM
It's only the start of August so hopefully the news of Spangher being let go is not far behind.

Not sure why you'd single him out. I reckon it's pretty hard to tell if an assistant coach is any good.

Overall though, I think a fresh set of assistants would be handy.

I hope Smith gets another gig somewhere. Very experienced and did a great job with our defence, particularly early, and has helped a number of players (particularly running players like himself) become All Australian/very good players.

09-08-2023, 05:25 PM
Wonder if we have a replacement lined up. Feels like it.

09-08-2023, 05:32 PM
Not sure why you'd single him out. I reckon it's pretty hard to tell if an assistant coach is any good.

Overall though, I think a fresh set of assistants would be handy.

I hope Smith gets another gig somewhere. Very experienced and did a great job with our defence, particularly early, and has helped a number of players (particularly running players like himself) become All Australian/very good players.

You kind of answered that. Our backline was fantastic in 2016, why they changed that who would know. Smith has his fingerprints all over the success.

Then look at our forward line. We've had some natural progression with JUH, Cody is a very good small forward but do we really have anything from our forward line we've been pleased with. Poor kicking, no leading patterns, forwards leading in to each other, forward pressure poor. That is the fingerprint I see from Spangher. Not saying I'm right, just the way I see it.

09-08-2023, 05:45 PM
Rohan Smith has been sensational across his career at the dogs his passion is unquestioned. Its very hard to tell from the outside but feels like we should have changed further last year post review but all we can do is thank Rohan for his efforts.

Funke disco
09-08-2023, 07:56 PM
You kind of answered that. Our backline was fantastic in 2016, why they changed that who would know. Smith has his fingerprints all over the success.

Then look at our forward line. We've had some natural progression with JUH, Cody is a very good small forward but do we really have anything from our forward line we've been pleased with. Poor kicking, no leading patterns, forwards leading in to each other, forward pressure poor. That is the fingerprint I see from Spangher. Not saying I'm right, just the way I see it.

i have as little insight into this as most people on here but for what it’s worth, Libba was complementary of Spangher the other week on a radio interview.

Sad to see Rohan leave and I hope he gets a gig elsewhere but we need change

09-08-2023, 08:20 PM
Should we consider one of these?

https://www.afl.com.au/news/992630/next-in-line-10-contenders-to-be-the-afl-s-newest-senior-coach

09-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Leppitsch would be an interesting one. He could put in some agro into our midfield , much needed aggression

09-08-2023, 11:41 PM
With some speculation that we will lose Webb and that Lade hasn't quite settled into the role there could be at least one more change coming to our coaches box. I got to see Smith up close during the preseason and he is a great communicator and sets very innovative coaching drills. We will miss him.

10-08-2023, 12:24 AM
With some speculation that we will lose Webb and that Lade hasn't quite settled into the role there could be at least one more change coming to our coaches box. I got to see Smith up close during the preseason and he is a great communicator and sets very innovative coaching drills. We will miss him.

Interesting comments around Lade.

10-08-2023, 08:44 AM
With some speculation that we will lose Webb and that Lade hasn't quite settled into the role there could be at least one more change coming to our coaches box. I got to see Smith up close during the preseason and he is a great communicator and sets very innovative coaching drills. We will miss him. Webb will be a big loss if it is correct but understand if he is going back to WA. He will no doubt be targeted by Freo/Eagles as he is very highly rated. Players really like him as well.

10-08-2023, 09:37 AM
Webb will be a big loss if it is correct but understand if he is going back to WA. He will no doubt be targeted by Freo/Eagles as he is very highly rated. Players really like him as well.

Depends what happens with Simpson at the Eagles because if he gets a pay out it will come out of the footy dept soft cap and they'll need to lose coaches. Fremantle seem to be well stocked for coaches unless Boyd is looking for a move back to Victoria there might not be any room there as well. I wonder if he might end up at StKilda and a reunion with Lyon.

10-08-2023, 10:12 AM
Can I ask why? Our forward line has started to function more effectively in the back half of the season while our defence is continuing to leak goals at a concerning rate. He's been with us for less than a year, and his line of direct accountability has clearly improved as the year has progressed.

Are we judging Rohan Smith on his work with the backline group 7 years ago or this year?

10-08-2023, 11:18 AM
Bevo getting quite emotional in the presser talking about Rohan Smith.

10-08-2023, 11:25 AM
Bevo.

"What has happened here in the pandemic time and the supply and demand of the coaching rosters and the bringing down of the soft cap. The lack of players leaving the game willing to take on the pressure of being an assistant coach at the peak level. Other clubs have picked the eyes out of us. We have lost three coaches who we did not want to leave in Gia, Hansen and King who will be senior candidates at other clubs. They did magnificent jobs here and have been influential. Jordan Russell and Joel Corey who we also didn't want to lose but we had to."

10-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Bevo.

"What has happened here in the pandemic time and the supply and demand of the coaching rosters and the bringing down of the soft cap. The lack of players leaving the game willing to take on the pressure of being an assistant coach at the peak level. Other clubs have picked the eyes out of us. We have lost three coaches who we did not want to leave in Gia, Hansen and King who will be senior candidates at other clubs. They did magnificent jobs here and have been influential. Jordan Russell and Joel Corey who we also didn't want to lose but we had to."

Presser made it seem more like Bubba's call than ours.

10-08-2023, 02:49 PM
It seems Bubba has a lot of health issues that covid started.
Maybe it’s taken its toll.
Hopefully he comes through ok, a very popular person through the AFL , even opposition fans never found a reason to not like him.

10-08-2023, 03:02 PM
Could we get Dale Morris back?

10-08-2023, 03:06 PM
Bevo.

I reckon that's a bunch of Baloney.

Every club has the same soft cap, losing coaches to other sides who fit under the same soft cap regime doesn't make any sense in blaming the soft cap. They left because they wanted a bigger/better opportunity.

Boots
10-08-2023, 03:10 PM
I reckon that's a bunch of Baloney.

Every club has the same soft cap, losing coaches to other sides who fit under the same soft cap regime doesn't make any sense in blaming the soft cap. They left because they wanted a bigger/better opportunity.

i think the issue isn?t the cap part, it?s the soft part. Perhaps we can?t afford the ?tax? on going over the cap that say Geelong can.

10-08-2023, 03:15 PM
I don't think it was
Clubs need to let assistant coaches know before the end of the season if they're not going to be offered another deal. Smith could have made the call much later. There were murmurings that Smith was going when I was at the GWS game.

10-08-2023, 05:21 PM

I wonder if there is another senior gig lined up for him?

10-08-2023, 06:32 PM
Rohan Smith to depart Kennel (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1400262//rohan-smith-to-depart-kennel)

https://resources.westernbulldogs.com.au/photo-resources/2023/08/10/ae09cd53-4e35-4aa6-ac00-8493b0bea96a/919757.jpg?width=952&height=592

Western Bulldogs legend Rohan Smith will depart the Club at the end of the 2023 season, after more than two decades as a player and coach of the red, white and blue.

The 50-year-old has been an assistant coach since 2012 and was in charge of the defensive unit during the drought-breaking 2016 Bulldogs? Premiership.

Smith?s coaching career follows a stellar playing history at VU Whitten Oval in which he played 300 games for the Bulldogs, claiming two All Australian jackets and elevated into the Club?s Hall of Fame in 2014.

Bulldogs? Executive Director of Football, Chris Grant, said Smith?s contribution to the Club has been profound over a sustained period.

?Rohan has been a stalwart of this Football Club for over 25 years and he will leave a lasting legacy as both a player and a coach,? Grant said.

?His knowledge, passion and dedication to the red, white and blue was an important element to the Club breaking its Premiership drought in 2016, with his playing days littered with accomplishments.

?Rohan?s 12 years of service as an assistant coach will always be valued by those players and staff he worked alongside. We wish Rohan, Alison and their family all the best for the future.?

Smith thanked the Club and players for their belief and trust in him over the last 12 seasons.

?The Bulldogs will always be a part of my life and it has been an absolute privilege to serve as a player and coach for as long as I have,? he said.

?Winning the 2016 Premiership will remain the best day of my footballing life, and I will treasure the memories and relationships I?ve made alongside all the players and football staff across the past 12 years.

?I?ve always approached coaching with an eagerness to get the best out of the players I?ve worked closely with, and I?m proud of the contribution I?ve made.

?I want to personally thank Bevo for his guidance and friendship over our coaching journey, he?s been an amazing mentor, leader and mate to me.

?Coaching is not an easy caper, and I understand it?s not forever. I?m looking forward to spending more time with my family before I assess what?s next for me personally.

?In the meantime, the team has an important few weeks ahead of it leading into the final rounds of the season, and I?m keen to finish off my coaching journey as strongly as possible.?

10-08-2023, 07:13 PM
The following paragraph was included in the article on the AFL website

Smith was informed earlier this week of the club's decision to make a change to the coaching panel. It remains unclear if the Dogs great will pursue another opportunity for 2024.

11-08-2023, 06:45 AM
I've heard a few mixed stories over the last few days regarding Smith, cannot get a straight story from my contacts within the 4 walls of the club, but his departure/firing is already causing some angst/upset staff/players, it has not gone down well and will leave a giant gaping culture hole in our club.

Webb will most certainly be heading back to WA

No word on Spang yet, lead to believe he will be moved back to the original role we recruited him for (Development) if we can find a more experienced replacement.

Board is determined to surrounded Bevo with very seasoned and experienced assistant coaches who come from winning systems, and are willing to go over the softcap to do so (and about time if you ask me).

11-08-2023, 10:23 AM
I've heard a few mixed stories over the last few days regarding Smith, cannot get a straight story from my contacts within the 4 walls of the club, but his departure/firing is already causing some angst/upset staff/players, it has not gone down well and will leave a giant gaping culture hole in our club.

Webb will most certainly be heading back to WA

No word on Spang yet, lead to believe he will be moved back to the original role we recruited him for (Development) if we can find a more experienced replacement.

Board is determined to surrounded Bevo with very seasoned and experienced assistant coaches who come from winning systems, and are willing to go over the softcap to do so (and about time if you ask me).

Our football department set-up would be at best described as puzzling and Bevo has often mentioned that managing within the constraints of the soft cap has been challenging.
As an example the annual footy camp was at Rye this year rather than our normal camp in Queensland and the soft cap challenges was the main reason for that decision.
Another example is losing Chris Maple, who it's believed was pushed out after pushing back with Bevo on some issues, and having his role split between 3 others rather than a genuine and dedicated replacement. This highlights we are looking for creative ways to stay under the soft cap.

It's interesting to hear that the club is keen to surround Bevo with experienced coaches which of course should be the aim but why wouldn't they prioritise the GM of footy role? It's effectively making Beveridge both coach and GM and he has a different reporting line than most other clubs.

Regarding the assistant coaches losing Smith will be felt by the club and there is some questions on Webb and Lade's futures.
Spangher might be the most likely to stay and I don't believe he is likely to be shuffled into a development role.

We will need to be pro-active in reaching out to assistant coaches and I wonder if King or even someone like Dew might be in the mix.

The bigger question is how our finances are currently spent within the footy department?

11-08-2023, 10:30 AM
Our football department set-up would be at best described as puzzling and Bevo has often mentioned that managing within the constraints of the soft cap has been challenging.
As an example the annual footy camp was at Rye this year rather than our normal camp in Queensland and the soft cap challenges was the main reason for that decision.
Another example is losing Chris Maple, who it's believed was pushed out after pushing back with Bevo on some issues, and having his role split between 3 others rather than a genuine and dedicated replacement. This highlights we are looking for creative ways to stay under the soft cap.

It's interesting to hear that the club is keen to surround Bevo with experienced coaches which of course should be the aim but why wouldn't they prioritise the GM of footy role? It's effectively making Beveridge both coach and GM and he has a different reporting line than most other clubs.

Regarding the assistant coaches losing Smith will be felt by the club and there is some questions on Webb and Lade's futures.
Spangher might be the most likely to stay and I don't believe he is likely to be shuffled into a development role.

We will need to be pro-active in reaching out to assistant coaches and I wonder if King or even someone like Dew might be in the mix.

The bigger question is how our finances are currently spent within the footy department?

Do other clubs whinge about the soft cap reductions as much as Bevo?

I mean the club making a profit is probably worth mentioning.

11-08-2023, 10:31 AM

No mention of Chris Grant? He seems to always escape scrutiny

11-08-2023, 10:53 AM
Do other clubs whinge about the soft cap reductions as much as Bevo?

I mean the club making a profit is probably worth mentioning.

A lot of clubs do mention it but it does but it seems a bit more personal for Bevo.

If the AFL eases the cap limits to help retain more assistant coaches I think it would be a good thing.

11-08-2023, 10:56 AM

Not from my perspective, he's set-up the footy department and when I asked him why Maple hadn't been replaced he mentioned the soft cap constraints and how the role was split amongst 3 others which meant he was also taking on some additional duties.

11-08-2023, 11:07 AM

I could live with a refresh.

11-08-2023, 11:37 AM
Not from my perspective, he's set-up the footy department and when I asked him why Maple hadn't been replaced he mentioned the soft cap constraints and how the role was split amongst 3 others which meant he was also taking on some additional duties.

I have a running word I use when something breaks in my job.

Complex.

These days we are working in a very complex environment.

The Dogs seem to be running the same tactic, using "soft cap" instead.

11-08-2023, 01:30 PM
The players are showing a lot of love for Bubba on socials in the last couple of days.

11-08-2023, 01:33 PM
The players are showing a lot of love for Bubba on socials in the last couple of days.

As they should, innovative training drills, great communicator and he had genuine care for the playing group.

11-08-2023, 02:49 PM

I've defo missed something about Lade. What's he done wrong/not done a year into the role?

11-08-2023, 03:26 PM
I've defo missed something about Lade. What's he done wrong/not done a year into the role?

I believe there is some speculation that he and Bevo aren't exactly working well together. Guess we shall see if that's true.

11-08-2023, 03:38 PM
Wish Bubba well. He has been a massive part of our club for such a long time both as a player and assistant coach. Huge as defensive coach for many years and instrumental in our 2016 success.

11-08-2023, 04:05 PM

I believe there is some speculation that he and Bevo aren't exactly working well together. Guess we shall see if that's true.

He's contracted so it wouldn't be that much of a a surprise if he continues on but as Granty has highlighted there is some speculation that it's not quite living up to expectations for him. If another club inquired about his services then we might allow him to explore his options.

I don't think there has been any problems with his performance.

11-08-2023, 04:14 PM
He's contracted so it wouldn't be that much of a a surprise if he continues on but as Granty has highlighted there is some speculation that it's not quite living up to expectations for him. If another club inquired about his services then we might allow him to explore his options.

I don't think there has been any problems with his performance.

I don't understand where this information is coming from?

11-08-2023, 04:15 PM
Wish Bubba well. He has been a massive part of our club for such a long time both as a player and assistant coach. Huge as defensive coach for many years and instrumental in our 2016 success.

I recall him playing and Gary Ablett senior running through the back of him in a marking contest when he was young down at Sedat Park.
He was a sniper that bloke. I remember my mum, who absolutely loved Rohan being a local boy was nearly going to jump the fence with her brollie!

11-08-2023, 04:17 PM
I don't understand where this information is coming from?

For me it's the same person who told me at the GWS game that Smith wasn't going to be resigned.

11-08-2023, 04:19 PM
So many great Bubba moments and memories. I loved the part in the Doco Year of the Dog when in the last game, I think it was 3/4 time against the Bombers. Wallace said something like, "just get the ball in this mans hands" referencing Bubba.

If Mercuri didn't break our hearts that night, Chris Grant would have won the 1996 Brownlow. (C Grant 2 Votes. J Hird 3 Votes. We lose the game by 3 points. J Hird & M Voss 21 Votes. C. Grant 20 Votes.).

11-08-2023, 05:15 PM
Rohan Smith is a bulldog legend and highly respected and imo head and shoulders above Spangher and Webb.

11-08-2023, 05:26 PM
Rohan Smith is a bulldog legend and highly respected and imo head and shoulders above Spangher and Webb.

I'm not knocking the other coaches at all and I don't know their contract positions but much like players a lot of it can just be that there is a right and a wrong time to be coming out of contract. After a long period in the job perhaps Smith's not reinventing himself as a coach like we need. I'd love to know the exact reasons why but that's probably not going to happen.

11-08-2023, 05:48 PM
I hope this hasn’t upset our run to finals .
We need to win this weekend !

11-08-2023, 06:09 PM
I hope this hasn’t upset our run to finals .
We need to win this weekend !

Yeah-bit of a concern. I’m hoping it galvanises our players.

11-08-2023, 06:30 PM
So many great Bubba moments and memories. I loved the part in the Doco Year of the Dog when in the last game, I think it was 3/4 time against the Bombers. Wallace said something like, "just get the ball in this mans hands" referencing Bubba.

If Mercuri didn't break our hearts that night, Chris Grant would have won the 1996 Brownlow. (C Grant 2 Votes. J Hird 3 Votes. We lose the game by 3 points. J Hird & M Voss 21 Votes. C. Grant 20 Votes.).

Yep, I remember it as "give this man the ball" same same basically.

11-08-2023, 07:53 PM
Yeah-bit of a concern. I’m hoping it galvanises our players.

Didn't we lose Montgomery just before the finals in 2016?

11-08-2023, 08:02 PM

Yes.

11-08-2023, 08:42 PM

Worked out well