Re: Pet Peeves

Pontings captaincy and the Australian selectors.

Originally posted by Daughter of the West
      People mispronouncing my not very difficult to say name (there are a couple of celebrities with it)!

Listen to what I actually say people, don't just say what you think it should be!!!

As a result, I now respond to anything that sounds even the tiniest bit like my name (old habits from being called to registers as a check out chick die hard).
      You have to give your friends on WOOF a crack at it.

Good thread Suz. It might come as a surprise to all hear (yes, I did that on purpose), but I absolutely hate when our fans misspell our players names.

I used to be a spelling and grammar Nazi in general on forums, but I don't care about that so long as the post makes sense.

I always hold doors open for people. And I always will make a snarky comment if they don't say thanks.

Basically, anytime someone goes out of their way to help, and it doesn't matter how much, lack of gratitude drives me bonkers.

Why yes, I am a high maintenance validation whore, why do you ask?
      Last edited by EasternWest; 01-12-2010, 08:21 PM.

I hate the ever increasing use of then instead of than. It's especially prevalent in environments where ignorant bogans lurk, such as HS comments, big footy, and Facebook.

You normally see it in a sentence such as- Hes better then anyone in your team you stupid idiot!!!1!

• Dancin' Douggy

Oh nothing much....just the entire world and every one in it.
          Except for currently listed bulldog players and paid up members.

• Daughter of the West
            • Sep 2010

[QUOTE=dfa4pm;192513]You have to give your friends on WOOF a crack at it. QUOTE]

I'll have to introduce myself at the social club function in a couple of weeks to give you guys a go. I don't have a WOOF scarf for easy identification though!
            Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

• Murphy'sLore
              • Sep 2009

I hate it when people I live with leave drawers and cupboard doors open. Can't stand it! Must be a mild form of OCD I reckon.

Also water on the floor drives me bananas! (Kids)

Originally posted by Murphy'sLore
                I hate it when people I live with leave drawers and cupboard doors open. Can't stand it! Must be a mild form of OCD I reckon.
                Also water on the floor drives me bananas! (Kids)
                I recently travelled with someone who just kept leaving things switched on - lights, power points . . . . drove me nuts too!!

I also get peeved when people don't let you off the train, or out of an elevator before they try to get in. It's fun at Southern Cross station though when the footy crowd surges off the train & doesn't give them the option!!

Administrator

Originally posted by Greystache
                  You normally see it in a sentence such as- Hes better then anyone in your team you stupid idiot!!!1!

He's.

Administrator

Originally posted by soupaman
                    As an extension of this, slow drivers on one lane country roads who cause a convoy of vehicles behind them either refuse to pull over and let everyone past or speed up when we finally reach an overtaking lane.

I agree with that. If you've got someone up your clacker then it makes sense to move across at the earliest opportunity and let them get on with driving at whatever speed they deem neccesary.

[QUOTE=Daughter of the West;192544]
                      Originally posted by dfa4pm
                      You have to give your friends on WOOF a crack at it. QUOTE]

I'll have to introduce myself at the social club function in a couple of weeks to give you guys a go. I don't have a WOOF scarf for easy identification though!
                      I'll wear mine. You'll have to come up, introduce yourself and I PROMISE I will remember and pronounce your name correctly.

Griffin

Hargreaves

Originally posted by Furtanken
                          Griffin

Hargreaves
                          Bwahahaha

• Doggy
                            • Feb 2010

People who walk their little white fluffy dogs without a leash. It drives me and my two Salukis crazy. One day my boys (who are always on a lead) will get hold of one and I will be the bad guy.

'In regards to' does my head in. The correct phrase is 'with regard to'. Every single bogan presenter on SEN uses the former ad nauseum.

Originally posted by Doggy
                                People who walk their little white fluffy dogs without a leash. It drives me and my two Salukis crazy. One day my boys (who are always on a lead) will get hold of one and I will be the bad guy.
                                Conversely to that, I get annoyed when people have their dogs on lead but can't control them. My dog is never on lead (no, not a white fluffy one, and I don't live in the burbs) and is never out of control.
                                Last edited by EasternWest; 02-12-2010, 10:37 PM.