• angelopetraglia

Re: Geelong

Geelong don't even need to worry about doing undertable deals.

They are just doing it in plain sight now. Incredible.

I wonder if Morris Financial even advertised the role or have a position description for Scott to be measured against?
      Despite the fancy title he will probably just do 6 lunch seminars and rake in a fortune.

• mighty_west
        • Feb 2008

I wonder if Morris Financial even advertised the role or have a position description for Scott to be measured against?
        Despite the fancy title he will probably just do 6 lunch seminars and rake in a fortune.
        By the sounds of it, it's a newly made up role specifically for Brad to earn extra mon...i mean help out and give advise on leadership for their team to grow, this line from the main article on their website and i quote "This new role reflects our commitment to embracing innovation and leadership, ensuring we stay at the forefront of our industry", this is so dodgy and they'll get away with it, Cotton-On and now this.......c'mon AFL do something!

The ****en guy has been appointed Chief of Leadership and Performance! That's an entire job for any sort of business that's serious enough to have that as a job!

Usually commanding ~$200K-~$350K plus additionals etc.! Depending on the size of the business.

How can he do that and his coaching job? Seriously!!!!

If it's a serious position and not a piss take, then it's too much for an AFL senior coach to take on as a second gig! If it's not a serious position, it's obviously a piss take!

AFEL, come on! Get a scalp in a captive market while you can in order to pretend you're a serious organisation. Punish the hubris, shield your own!

• Stevo

The ****en guy has been appointed Chief of Leadership and Performance! That's an entire job for any sort of business that's serious enough to have that as a job!

Usually commanding ~$200K-~$350K plus additionals etc.! Depending on the size of the business.

How can he do that and his coaching job? Seriously!!!!

If it's a serious position and not a piss take, then it's too much for an AFL senior coach to take on as a second gig! If it's not a serious position, it's obviously a piss take!

AFEL, come on! Get a scalp in a captive market while you can in order to pretend you're a serious organisation. Punish the hubris, shield your own!
            What do you think his hourly rate might be for this role? It's unlikely he's going to average coming into the office much more than 4 hours per month. If we assume it's 250K and he does 200 hours of work there in a year it's a decent clip per hour he's getting.
            He might have some qualifications gained by end of season visits to elite clubs but outside of his work at Geelong he doesn't have any real world experience that helped him land this job.

Originally posted by Stevo
              What do you think his hourly rate might be for this role? It's unlikely he's going to average coming into the office much more than 4 hours per month. If we assume it's 250K and he does 200 hours of work there in a year it's a decent clip per hour he's getting.
              He might have some qualifications gained by end of season visits to elite clubs but outside of his work at Geelong he doesn't have any real world experience that helped him land this job.
              They would argue his work at Geelong is enough. Anyone with a brain knows this is just a salary cap rort.

Crazy stuff.

No one in the media running with it yet? Piss weak as expected. Geelong are a protected species and I have no idea why.

Originally posted by Go_Dogs
                  Crazy stuff.

No one in the media running with it yet? Piss weak as expected. Geelong are a protected species and I have no idea why.
                  It's got a couple of mentions but because Geelong got on the front foot and fed them the story they are of course golden.

This deal is as dodgy as George Costanza 'Human Fund'.
                    Morris Financial 'Money for Coaches'

• SonofScray
                      • Apr 2008

Absolutely ludicrous stuff here.

The competition is really a joke, between the media and the admin its an astonishingly corrupt world.

It's got a couple of mentions but because Geelong got on the front foot and fed them the story they are of course golden.
                        I think you underestimate the diligence of Scotty Gullan - he is currently putting the finishing touches to a deep-dive expose on the rampant salary cap and soft cap rorting at Shithole Park, and will release it once he's finished fellating the entire Geelong board.

The AFL ticked off on it everyone so it's all good.

I think you underestimate the diligence of Scotty Gullan - he is currently putting the finishing touches to a deep-dive expose on the rampant salary cap and soft cap rorting at Shithole Park, and will release it once he's finished fellating the entire Geelong board.
                            Don’t make me tap the sign

From SEN

Heads were turned and eyebrows raised when it became apparent that Geelong coach Chris Scott had taken up a role with Morris Finance - a key sponsor of the club.

Immediately there was speculation that this was a way to pay two-time premiership coach Scott outside the $7.65 million footy department cap.

Scott was quick to defend his new role after he was quizzed by Channel 7’s Mitch Cleary on Wednesday.

“People like you are more than entitled to ask that question, but it’s one that should be directed at the AFL,” Scott told Cleary on 7News.

“They’ll give you a clear answer. You obviously wouldn’t go into something unless you were crystal clear on how it’s all supposed to work.”

In reaction, SEN Breakfast’s Sam Edmund and Kane Cornes discussed Scott’s Chief of Leadership and Performance role at Morris who have a long association with the Cats, including a most recent involvement as ‘coach sponsor’.

They can both understand why there is scepticism surrounding the Scott situation even if the AFL has ticked it off as Scott explained.

“There’s no reason why other clubs should not be doing this with their coaches, with their players,” said Edmund.

“It is so hard for the league to determine what’s fair value. We have no detail. What are Morris paying him? How many appearances is he doing? What is he doing? How many hours a week? How many spare hours does he have in season?

“There’s a reason we’re sceptical. I don’t want to be overly sceptical but there’s a reason why it doesn’t have a great sniff to it.

“At the moment, it struggles to pass the pub test, I reckon. If there was a scepticism Richter scale it would be high in the 8s and 9s.”

Cornes also wonders if a situation like this is good enough for Geelong then why aren’t all the other clubs doing something similar?

“If you can do it, every club should be doing it,” said Cornes.

“There is a focus on Geelong because they keep signing players and they keep being under the salary cap and you question - How are Geelong in the race again? How can Geelong get Jeremy Cameron? How can Geelong get Bailey Smith? How can they get Jack Bowes and absorb his contract so you get Pick 7?

“We start sceptical about Geelong for those reasons. They do what teams shouldn’t be able to do and that’s remain competitive pretty much every year.

“Clubs need to be innovative to find extra dollars so they can pay the best (coaches) the best wages. Chris Scott doesn’t get paid enough anyway when you compare what the best players are earning.

“I’m not critical of this, I just want to know what the rules are. If the rules are good enough for Geelong to do it, why isn’t every team doing it?”

Additionally, Bailey Smith’s financial deal with Cotton On, the clothing brand that is also an ‘Elite Partner’ of the Cats, has also at times been questioned.

He signed with Cotton On in 2022 when he was still with the Western Bulldogs but it remains a point of contention.

“They’re already entangled in the Cotton On stuff too so in regards to optics it’s bold,” Edmund added.

“They’ve got on the front foot and they want to control the narrative here.

“Why doesn’t he (Scott) go and work for a company that’s not a sponsor? They don’t have an airline sponsor, so be a leadership consultant at Jetstar. Would look at it dimly then? Would there be eyebrows raised then?”

Cornes added: “A lot of opportunities come through relationships though, don’t they?

“There is an existing relationship there, it’s convenient, they clearly see a role for him. I would love to see a job description.”

He reiterated his point that wages in the AFL should be made public so uncertainty like this can be quickly put to bed.

“There’s a lack of detail everywhere in our game. Coach wages should be public, player wages should be public so we don’t have these scenarios. Everything should be broken down,” he continued.

“We are so far behind when it comes to transparency with this. It needs a full breakdown so you and I aren’t sitting here in October saying, ‘This is fishy, this is dodgy’, when we could just quickly put into Google the breakdown of Geelong’s soft cap.

“So it all adds up and we have the clear picture. We’re in the dark and we’re so far behind, it’s embarrassing.”

There have been other famous previous ‘add-ons’ with contracts including Chris Judd’s role with Carlton sponsor Visy and Adam Simpson’s foray into Hungry Jack’s franchising while coach of West Coast.

So basically, don?t worry if Geelong are rorting the salary cap?just do it too.

Shills.