Michael Talia
Re: Michael Talia
They absurdity of this whole thing is infuriating, i'm filthy beyond belief at how this has been handled but this crap from Carro is the final straw, it's beyond disgusting.My life is a very complicated drinking game.Comment
Deleting Texts! That can easily be retrieved. Why won't Daniel Talia OK such a move, if he is innocent in this?!?!Comment
I got a prompt reply from Anthony.Stanguts@aflvic.com.au:
"Thanks Gavan for your email.
I have forwarded it to AFL head office."
Watch this space.Footscray Football Republic.Comment
I got a prompt reply from Anthony.Stanguts@aflvic.com.au:
"Thanks Gavan for your email.
I have forwarded it to AFL head office."
Watch this space.
I have sent email to The Age and also sent email of support to the Dogs. Sorry for length. I do hope others contact AFL and The Age and our Club to voice our concerns at the way this situation has panned out and the very poor journalism shown by some...
Hi Peter and Luke and others in our mighty Club,
Just want to send you a copy of feedback I sent to The Age (via editorial feedback) that I just sent to them a moment ago.
There are many Dogs Members and Supporters, based upon WOOF and Big Footy, who think our Club handled this mighty well. Congratulations on a job well done, even if other parties did not handle it as well as perhaps we may have hoped.
I love the planning and positive vibes around our Club at present and a Big Thanks for all the hard yakka.
GO DOGS in 2016 !!
Here's what I sent The Age regarding this article (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-new...y=1479885425):
"Article by Caroline Wilson on AFl/Talia brother investigation is IMO very poor journalism. Smacks of someone who does not like the Dogs as a Club, nor their President.
Where is Caroline's evidence that the Club and P.Gordon went too far? If the Club had not reported the suspicions after they were advised of by others then what integrity would the Club have then? Would Caroline have said anything in this hypothetical scenario, as would any journalist who purports to be objective? If that's the case what is the difference (damned if you do, damned if you don't)?
Does Caroline recall one or two Collingwood players being fined for letting out small amounts of info. about injuries or such minor info. to a relative a few years ago? Clearly AFL made a clear stance on integrity back then and on this basis the Dogs had no choice but to report it to the AFL asap.
I usually very much respect Caroline as a reasonable journalist. However I strongly believe she is way off the mark with this article and if anything she should apologise to the Dogs and P.Gordon for her clear bias and lack of evidence.
Here is a much better balanced article - I hope Caroline reads this one:
The AFL, if they are serious about integrity of the game could retrieve deleted messages. One phone lost, the other has had messages deleted. Perhaps it is rather fanciful this is co-incidence and even if it is co-incidence I think the Dogs did everything right. If not what this means is Clubs are likely to hide or ignore such suspicions or knowledge of tip offs etc. in the future -and where is the integrity in that?
From a long time Age Reader & Subscriber and avid (and objective) Passionate Dogs Member"Josie :)
Our day will come
And we'll have everything.
We'll share the joy
Just like '54 again.Comment
If we had ignored this and quietly cleared Talia then Wilson and her ilk would have (quite rightly) been saying that we swept it under the carpet and the police should have been notified straight away, Gordon is a lawyer he should know better, blah blah.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
Meh. Wilson is in the business of getting tightly held info and she's burned up AFL relationships going Essendon. So she needs to curry up some favours and goes and does the AFL bidding on this issue. All that has happened is that any credibility she once had as a stoic independent journo unaffected by the dumbing down of the AFL media is gone. She's now firmly a part of the problem of dumbed down footy journo culture. Which is a shame for her legacy, but that's for her to live with as a now sold out hypocrite. Remember the old saying about one days newspaper is the next day's kitty litter liner. I'd say this will line my cats kitty litter tray tomorrow, but there's no way at all that my cats arse would respect that column from Caro enough to even shit on. So I'll just put it in the bin.Rocket Science: the epitaph for the Beveridge era - whenever it ends - reading 'Here lies a team that could beat anyone on its day, but seldom did when it mattered most'. 15/7/2023Comment
How's Carro's latest hatchet job? WTF is this crap?
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-new...23-gl5lns.html
"Look Gillam now that I finally managed to push that old slug Demetriou into an early retirement with all my anti AFL and Essendumb supplements saga stories for you so you could take his place as the Head Honcho,
You can be rest assured that I am firmly in your corner and will always support whatever
steam pile you and your cronnies @ AFL HQ want to trot out to the gullable supporter through my incisive,informative,high quality journalistic reporting.
I mean after all you are so much younger and better looking then the Slug"
"Thanks Carro,I can always trust you to DO THE RIGHT THING!!"
Appologies to Spike LeeComment
Meh. Wilson is in the business of getting tightly held info and she's burned up AFL relationships going Essendon. So she needs to curry up some favours and goes and does the AFL bidding on this issue. All that has happened is that any credibility she once had as a stoic independent journo unaffected by the dumbing down of the AFL media is gone. She's now firmly a part of the problem of dumbed down footy journo culture. Which is a shame for her legacy, but that's for her to live with as a now sold out hypocrite. Remember the old saying about one days newspaper is the next day's kitty litter liner. I'd say this will line my cats kitty litter tray tomorrow, but there's no way at all that my cats arse would respect that column from Caro enough to even shit on. So I'll just put it in the bin.
The reality is that integrity is a movable commodity in the AFL - the AFL know what took place between the Talia's but are not interested in considering the ramifications of their actions on gambling agencies, their fastest-growing source of revenue."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Caro is the unofficial mouthpiece of the AFL out in scribe land. She will always take the perspective of City Hall over any other aggrieved party.
The reality is that integrity is a movable commodity in the AFL - the AFL know what took place between the Talia's but are not interested in considering the ramifications of their actions on gambling agencies, their fastest-growing source of revenue.
The whole process with Tellia (thanks for that redders70) is a farce of the highest order.
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Yep, they make it up as they go along. Just look at the Carlisle situation. Two weeks earlier they introduce a brand new policy on drugs and then change it completely when it comes to Carlisle's indiscretion.
The whole process with Tellia (thanks for that redders70) is a farce of the highest order.
AnytimeComment
What a debacle. Cheney cops a warning for "lying" to an integrity investigation for two months(which would make you lose your job in the real world), the Talias get off for there not being any evidence even though Daniel Talia admitted to deleting text messages that he had recieved from his brother and we get painted as the villains in all of this.Comment
That would be the least I would do. To not do something indicates something a weak club or the more likely scenario that Cheney has been asked to take one for the team Joe the camera man style.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
Why wouldn't the AFL demand that the Talia's tell their telco companies to make the content of their calls and text messages during that one week period available for them to clear their names? The AFL can't claim there is no evidence if they haven't requested that information. If the brothers have said no then make that clear why there isn't enough evidence.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment