Re: Incident involving Tom Boyd and Zaine Cordy - Statement

Originally posted by Nuggety Back Pocket
    This incident reflects poorly on our Club coming at such a critical time of the season. A five thousand dollar fine is like a gentle tap on the hand given Boyd's massive highly overpaid contract.unfortunately our Club has had a history of incidents like this over too many years which reflects poorly on our professionalism. At a time that Tom Boyd was expected to be in strong contention for senior selection this week we now find he has been suspended indefinitely.The hope is that we can now overcome this incident by defeating the Sydney Swans.
    I think you can say that about all clubs.

Agree BAD. All clubs have had these type of incidents. We need to see him play a lot more games. A few years from now he might be a great player for us and this incident will be small in the bigger picture.

link

These things happen': Dogs skipper responds to dogfight

THE WESTERN Bulldogs must protect feuding teammates Tom Boyd and Zaine Cordy because that's what families do, captain Robert Murphy says.The duo, both currently playing at VFL level, have been suspended indefinitely by the club after an alcohol-fueled altercation.

"These things happen and we move on as best we can," Murphy told reporters outside Whitten Oval on Thursday.

"(It's) never ideal but the boys have made a mistake and fronted up to those, and we've dealt with it as all good families do.
        "We've fronted up to the incident internally amongst the players and the club, because we do think of each other as family.

"We confront those things internally, upfront but we protect each other as well.

"It's not ideal, of course you'd love to avoid these sort of things, but everyone makes mistakes and the boys have owned up to those mistakes and we move on from there."

Murphy wouldn't buy into how close Boyd is to senior selection.

The high-priced forward hasn't played at senior level since round four, after hurting his shoulder.

Feuding teammates? FFS!

• Ozza

Originally posted by azabob
            How serious is Tom Boyd about his footy?

Struggled with mobility, fitness and form since day one of his career. Under external pressure for not performing on field - yes injuries have played a part, particularly this year.

He is finally able to get back to playing and rather than giving himself every opportunity of regaining form and fitness and getting back into the senior side, a senior side no less who is screaming out for a forward target, he goes out and drinks alcohol.

He now has zero credits in the bank and I reckon the pressure internally will also start building and build quite quickly.

Extremely disappointing.
            Good post azabob

As supporters - it's fine to be directing the anger at Damien Barrett and calling him a flog etc etc - but to me, it's pretty misdirected and misses the point.

Every footy fan that doesn't barrack for the bulldog has more or less the same opinion of Tom Boyd.
            I peddled the defence of his contract like every other bulldog for a while there - that it shouldn't be relevant, that the scribes are morons etc etc.

But you have to look at these things with a healthy dose of reality.

IT IS of great interest to footy supporters, what players get paid. In all professional sports - particularly when you have a salary cap as part of list management - a players' salary is extremely relevant. Yes it's repetitive, it's monotonous - but it is also all they have to talk about - until Tom actually does something.
            Yes, he is still young, and big players take time - but the harsh reality of pro sports is that if you put your hand up to take the big cash (and good on him for getting it) you invite the speculation of the media, and frankly, the negativity of the public until you prove yourself.
            Just this week, we had the speculation of Jaegar O'Meara being worth, or not worth, $750K.
            The Josh Jenkins worth is a continuing discussion, as well as Cloke's last season.
            We all take part in these discussions, so we shouldn't feel so vilified when our man is judged also.

I've seen all the posts about how Barrett and others are wrong about Boyd because we continue to re-sign our players. I agree on that, we have certainly had no issues there yet. But I don't think we can be as smug as 'Worst day ever for Barrett' and pointing out how wrong he is about the Boyd deal, until Tommy actually starts to perform. The other issue, like it or not, is that paying Tom what we are, means that you can't throw a million a year at an actual proven star - which might put us in serious contention - now.

There is still a heap to play out for Tom Boyd as a bulldog - and how history will judge our decision to get him. And what I will say is that I'm glad we have had a crack - I think when you've had so long without a flag, the bigger risk was to take no risk.

I'm desperate for Tom to be a great player - he makes me very anxious - but I'm in his corner to the extent that I actually listened to a VFL game on local radio purely to hear how he was going!!

But my point is that we all should be realistic about the way he is perceived in the public and reported on in the media. It's up to Tom to let his footy do the talking to an extent that the money is no longer centre stage. Putting himself in the position where grog and violence are involved in the reports reflects pretty bloody poorly on him when you consider he is trying to get himself back to fitness and try and force his way into the side - and gives the critics more of what they want.

Tom Boyd, the punch-up and the cover-up

Written by the Flog making a mountain out of a mole hill.

read here

Any group of 20 somethings in Australia

Tom Boyd, the punch-up and the cover-up

Written by the Flog making a mountain out of a mole hill.

read here
                Please don't click the link and support him

Originally posted by hujsh
                  Any group of 20 somethings in Australia

Please don't click the link and support him
                  And please apply same rule to any "journo" that works/has worked for the Herald Scum.

A cover up where we advise the AFL what has happened? Ok.

It's a boring drip feed split round so hence relatively minor stories get blown up
                      There's a major problem right now and that's the media's drive to be the story, and the game and it's players aren't .
                      This could be the best thing to happen to both Zaine and Tom, and a major character test.
                      The issue with Barrett is he's allowing his agenda with Beveridge to whack the club at every opportunity.

Originally posted by comrade
                        So he talks a cover up and yet the club informed the AFL.
                        As I said this bloke has an agenda against the coach

Originally posted by comrade
                          I heard an unnamed player saw a sub-contact janitor take some urinal cakes from Whitten Oval without the express consent of the club. The player didn't say anything by my source. I think the player by not saying anything is in on the great urinal cake heists throughout the AFL club rooms. If we don't tell every single thing to Damett it's a cover up, so we'd better tell him soon before he breaks the 'exclusive' on it.

• dukedog
                            • Dec 2014

I heard an unnamed player saw a sub-contact janitor take some urinal cakes from Whitten Oval without the express consent of the club. The player didn't say anything by my source. I think the player by not saying anything is in on the great urinal cake heists throughout the AFL club rooms. If we don't tell every single thing to Damett it's a cover up, so we'd better tell him soon before he breaks the 'exclusive' on it.
                            Great work . Hahahahaha. I propose damien bafrets new name be 'urinal cake'

• F'scary
                              • Dec 2011

Perhaps this story heralds the start of the new Tom Boyd: Swaggering, roughhouse, barnstorming centurion.
                              Officially on the Bus-wagon

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by azabob
                                How serious is Tom Boyd about his footy?

Struggled with mobility, fitness and form since day one of his career. Under external pressure for not performing on field - yes injuries have played a part, particularly this year.

He is finally able to get back to playing and rather than giving himself every opportunity of regaining form and fitness and getting back into the senior side, a senior side no less who is screaming out for a forward target, he goes out and drinks alcohol.

He now has zero credits in the bank and I reckon the pressure internally will also start building and build quite quickly.

Extremely disappointing.
                                Yeah i think this is the most concerning thing. The issue is fairly trivial IMO. What is more concerning is some of the talk that has come out of it regarding Tom and his reputation at the club.