Re: Events Thread

Being an overly competitive (reasonably) old bloke I play European handball and indoor soccer with the poster formerly known as Chops most weeks. He's one of the few people who grew up in the same area I did who shares the same impeccable musical taste as I do. Away from the internet he's a great bloke.
    No need to qualify TD, he's a great bloke full stop.

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
      Be on your best behaviour Jee.
      I stopped really letting loose at work functions a while ago mate, but thanks for the concern!!!

Really enjoyed the event today, although parking not easy in the area as there are time limits on street. Plenty of food and an open bar.

Rocket and Lake told a lot of old war stories from the time they first joined the club. Outside of premierships Rocket mentioned the best time of his footy days were at the Bulldogs. Praised Brian for being one of the best one on one marks he has seen. Rocket said 2008 and 2010, we weren't really in it but 2009 was the one that got away.

Mitch Wallis came on as a special guest and spoke a bit about his injury and was asked about the young guys coming through.

Wasn't a big crowd, so ample opportunity to have a quick discussion afterwards with the guys. I asked Brian what he was doing tonight and said he is needed in Sydney. He said that Maple contacted him in 2016 to come back to the club.

Not much else to report.

Really enjoyed the event today, although parking not easy in the area as there are time limits on street. Plenty of food and an open bar.

Rocket and Lake told a lot of old war stories from the time they first joined the club. Outside of premierships Rocket mentioned the best time of his footy days were at the Bulldogs. Praised Brian for being one of the best one on one marks he has seen. Rocket said 2008 and 2010, we weren't really in it but 2009 was the one that got away.

Mitch Wallis came on as a special guest and spoke a bit about his injury and was asked about the young guys coming through.

Wasn't a big crowd, so ample opportunity to have a quick discussion afterwards with the guys. I asked Brian what he was doing tonight and said he is needed in Sydney. He said that Maple contacted him in 2016 to come back to the club.

Not much else to report.
          So Brian works at the club now?

• Axe Man

I asked Brian what he was doing tonight and said he is needed in Sydney.
            To line up on Buddy?

Originally posted by Axe Man
              To line up on Buddy?
              yes on Buddy

Originally posted by hujsh
                I don't believe so?

Originally posted by hujsh
                  No he works for a welding company with his mate Matthew Sutton.
                  They do compliance of gas bottles etc.
                  The rest of the time he's at Caroline Springs footy club I reckon he basically lives opposite the ground.

Weldco.

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                    No he works for a welding company with his mate Matthew Sutton.
                    They do compliance of gas bottles etc.
                    The rest of the time he's at Caroline Springs footy club I reckon he basically lives opposite the ground.
                    he said 268 metres

Ha it's about right.

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                        Ha it's about right.
                        Rocket asked him how does he know exactly, and Lakey said he measured it

I arrived at Bell's for the work function at about 1530 and there were a few still left over, but didn't get a chance to head up to see if you were there mate until after I caught up with work folks.

Hope you had a good day mate.

I arrived at Bell's for the work function at about 1530 and there were a few still left over, but didn't get a chance to head up to see if you were there mate until after I caught up with work folks.

Hope you had a good day mate.
                            We finished up around 3pm. Thanks had a good lunch and catchup with Rocket.

• dalek
                              • Mar 2021

It was a great lunch. A different type of meal, was like a mini buffet with the choice of 3 meats and vegetables brought to the table to serve yourself. Dessert was the same with a variety of cakes etc to choose from..

We got there about 11.40am went up to the room and while the function was due to start until 12.00pm we were able to get drinks on the tab early.

Everyone who attended had an enjoyable time.

Nice that Brian and Rocket did it together.

Would have been some dicey moments back in the day between those two when Brian would go full space cadet, but on the flip side, he was an absolute roller gold A grade star during those prelim years and probably the first magnet on the board each week.