Re: Events Thread

Thanks for that GG. That was great reading. Sounds like as a few woofers have said a great night.

Season Launch Details :

I have early access so expect it to be released to all shortly.
      Join us at this inner sanctum event as we kick the season off in style.

Event Details:
      Monday 6 March 2023
      6:30pm – 9:30pm

Dress code: Neat casual
      Early Bird (Before 13 Feb): $175 per person
      Standard: $185 per person

Enjoy an exclusive look into the season ahead and hear from Senior Coach, Luke Beveridge and Western Bulldogs officials. Farewell retirees, meet the newest recruits and witness the playing group receive their 2023 jumpers.

Gourmet canapes and premium beverages provided.

GG, I noticed they haven't advised the venue. Surely an oversight or have I missed it?

• SonofScray
          • Apr 2008

Reckon we’ll get any Inside the Kennel shoes this year? Went to one at the Yarraville Club a while ago to see Grant, Chocco, Beaser, Westy, Johnno and Doug and it was terrific.

GG, I noticed they haven't advised the venue. Surely an oversight or have I missed it?
            Big Plans, North Melbourne? No idea what that is.

‘BigPlans Space’ is a stunning open plan warehouse. It’s the perfect blank canvas for a multitude of events with no limitations.

• Jasper

"Big Plans" sounds like a power point presentation will be in full force. Im in two minds about attending as I dont want to hear about how much money we are spending in the redevelopment. Ive already seen and heard all about that. I want footy updates
                Last edited by Jasper; 06-02-2023, 10:29 PM.
                Doing my best to use emojis more frequently :o

Originally posted by Jasper
                  "Big Plans" sounds like a power point presentation will be in full force. Im in two minds about attending as I dont want to hear about how much money we are spending in the redevelopment. Ive already seen and heard all about that.
                  Standing event too by the looks, I need a seat!

• Jasper

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                    Standing event too by the looks, I need a seat!
                    They did that a few years back didnt they and I was told they got negative feedback.
                    Doing my best to use emojis more frequently :o

Big Plans, North Melbourne? No idea what that is.

https://membership.westernbulldogs.c...-season-launch
                      OK, I've got it now. Seems like a strange venue and you're right its standing only.

Same as last year, ie standing.

Yep, it looks to be an interesting venue.

Season Launch Details :

I have early access so expect it to be released to all shortly.
                            Join us at this inner sanctum event as we kick the season off in style.

Event Details:
                            Monday 6 March 2023
                            6:30pm – 9:30pm

Dress code: Neat casual
                            Early Bird (Before 13 Feb): $175 per person
                            Standard: $185 per person

Enjoy an exclusive look into the season ahead and hear from Senior Coach, Luke Beveridge and Western Bulldogs officials. Farewell retirees, meet the newest recruits and witness the playing group receive their 2023 jumpers.

Gourmet canapes and premium beverages provided.
                            Anyone going tonight?

I will be there, on my own, mate can't make it.

• dadsgirl16

yep I will be there

Went along last night to the season launch which followed the same format on stage as the previous years few years. The venue was unusual, being in North Melbourne in a converted building surrounded by Industrial businesses.

Pre-covid, the season launch was more formal held at Crown with over 1000 attending, however, the last few years the event has been changed to be more a stand up affair with waiters roaming around with food trays. A bar is set up in one corner where you can drink as much as you want (hopefully, not being stupid about it). So plenty of food and drinks.

This year the players were close to the bar, with some spreading around the room, like Caleb, Libba, Bruce, and if you wanted to talk to them you could, which I don't do that, unless introduced. However, I did talk to Bailey Williams as he walked past about the wrong photo on the website. We had a bit of a laugh over that and he said he had mates, family ringing him about it.

Some things I can remember about the evening:

1. VU Whitten Oval a little behind schedule as asbestos was found in the old stand that was demolished

2. Bevo's speech as usual was a beauty finishing off with wanting to make every venue a slaughter house - hard to explain, but will look out for the video on the club website and post.

3. Caleb Daniel awarded Life membership - 9 years at the club now

4. Players were presented with their jumpers, one by one, and some interviewed by Brad Johnson.

5. Tim English was asked about round one and combating the Melbourne rucks. He jokingly said he is having sleepless nights thinking about it. On a serious note, he said he is working with Brendon Lade on tactics etc.

6. As mentioned in other threads, Weightman was asked about the three talls, and whether he would still be trying to jump over the lot - he said he would be staying down a lot more this year.

7. As usual, the young recruits spoke well when interviewed.

8. Only player not to attend was Lobb

9. Love the attitude of Arty Jones, always smiling, and really enjoying being part of the group.

Not much else of noteworthy said, but will post if I remember.