• Rusty12
    • Dec 2024

Originally posted by LongWait
    Tom Williams was a future Captain and AA key defender. I sat next to Tom on a flight from Brisbane to Melbourne during the off-season following his debut year, and I was certain that once he overcame his foot injury, we had the next Chris Grant waiting to tear the game apart. Unfortunately Tom's body was made of tissue paper.
    Good One, I was all in there to. The world upside comes to mind, what could have been.

My Hill is banging on about the Administration of the AFL and the constant tinkering with rules and the game in general.

I will continue to shout

Originally posted by JanLorMill
        Luke Penny
        Wow there's a name I hadn't realised I'd forgotten.

• Bulldog Joe
          Premiership Moderator
          • Jul 2009

My Hill is banging on about the Administration of the AFL and the constant tinkering with rules and the game in general.

I will continue to shout
          There is nothing wrong with changing an odd rule, but the AFL have an unbelievable knack of changing things to counter what they claim is their intention.

They want to reduce congestion and get the game moving but the 2 glaring changes in the ruck just create congestion.

1. No third man up - Just stops the knock clear of congestion.
          2. Nominating to contest the ruck - Here we wait for everyone to get to the stoppage so we can have repeat stoppages.

Just let the nearest to the ball up contest the ruck and get on with it as quickly as possible.

• SonofScray
            • Apr 2008

Originally posted by LongWait
            Tom Williams was a future Captain and AA key defender. I sat next to Tom on a flight from Brisbane to Melbourne during the off-season following his debut year, and I was certain that once he overcame his foot injury, we had the next Chris Grant waiting to tear the game apart. Unfortunately Tom's body was made of tissue paper.
            I feel like despite the body never allowing for a decent run at it, towards the end we did see some affirmation that this was a good hill to put a stake in.

After smashing Buddy in Tassie it was a reasonable hill that I reckon a few were on.
              The game where he smashed Buddy but Buddy still managed five.......or something.

I will continue to shout
                You've never mentioned that in my fourteen years posting here.......

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe

There is nothing wrong with changing an odd rule, but the AFL have an unbelievable knack of changing things to counter what they claim is their intention.

They want to reduce congestion and get the game moving but the 2 glaring changes in the ruck just create congestion.

1. No third man up - Just stops the knock clear of congestion.
                  2. Nominating to contest the ruck - Here we wait for everyone to get to the stoppage so we can have repeat stoppages.

Just let the nearest to the ball up contest the ruck and get on with it as quickly as possible.
                  It's not a knack, it's an obsession!

Let's make the head sacrosanct, no questions asked......oh wait, players are diving into knees head first when going for the ball to draw a free kick and head injuries have gotten worse..........

Let's stop flooding by making players kick it longer.....oh wait, players are just sitting off by five more metres and creating even denser congestion..........

The list goes on and on.

The game where he smashed Buddy but Buddy still managed five.......or something.
                    My memory doesn’t have the second part of that. He kicked 5?

Yeah there were a couple of cheap ones in there, and Tom played really well for most of the game. But Buddy's Buddy.

Robert Murphy took an underrated screamer that day as well, awesome leap and bounce off the ride.

• SonofScray
                        • Apr 2008

Yeah there were a couple of cheap ones in there, and Tom played really well for most of the game. But Buddy's Buddy.

Robert Murphy took an underrated screamer that day as well, awesome leap and bounce off the ride.
                        Bob was also rubbed out for a bump in which I am certain he had the footy and the Hawthorn player ran in to tackle, marginal head contact that when compared with some that have been let off in a time where we know better, will reinfuriate us all.

Originally posted by jazzadogs

Nothing wrong with that hill - based on ability, I think you were probably right!

It's probably a good thread...whose career could have been something bigger if they got a clean run at it?
                          Adrian Campbell for sure.
                          His understudy, a 17 year old Chris Grant, turned out ok though.

Wings are overrated and “holding width” or whatever Angus Brayshaw was getting glazed for a few years ago is meaningless. If your best skill is getting out of the way then maybe we need to change what we consider to be valuable. This is the future Champion Data wants.

Originally posted by Happy Days
                              Wings are overrated and “holding width” or whatever Angus Brayshaw was getting glazed for a few years ago is meaningless. If your best skill is getting out of the way then maybe we need to change what we consider to be valuable. This is the future Champion Data wants.
                              Go the same way as the VFA - no wings, 16 on the field

• Rusty12
                                • Dec 2024

I will continue to shout
                                I completely agree with you, but I can't start down this path, I will never stop.