• Rusty12
    • Dec 2024

Originally posted by Happy Days
    Wings are overrated and “holding width” or whatever Angus Brayshaw was getting glazed for a few years ago is meaningless. If your best skill is getting out of the way then maybe we need to change what we consider to be valuable. This is the future Champion Data wants.
    I don;t know, but is this CD driven, or coach/copycat driven?

I think last year we already started to see some coaches use their wings/outside players differently to the standard line of holding width which we have heard for years now. Guessing that increases even more in 2025, what do others think?

Ed Barlow was the modern prototype 2nd ruck/utility. To be fair it worked spectacularly for about 4 weeks.

Those 4 weeks must’ve been early in the pre-season before they bring the footys out

• Garbs_7
          • Jan 2025

The crazy Bevo throwing Dunkley into the ruck stuff and putting players in wacky positions is so overblown. I see Patty Cripps regularly in the ruck and not a peep about it and guys like Macrae got moved out of the midfield due our depth there and pretty decent health last year not giving him much of a look in. Richards thrown in the middle which if it didn't work the media would have jumped all over, but was a great move.

• Brody23
            • Dec 2024

Jack Redpath would have kicked 500 snags if he had healthy knees!!

Originally posted by Garbs_7
              The crazy Bevo throwing Dunkley into the ruck stuff and putting players in wacky positions is so overblown. I see Patty Cripps regularly in the ruck and not a peep about it and guys like Macrae got moved out of the midfield due our depth there and pretty decent health last year not giving him much of a look in. Richards thrown in the middle which if it didn't work the media would have jumped all over, but was a great move.
              Lobb to CHB, Dale to HBF from forward line.

• josie
                • Oct 2012

Agree with Brody23 about Redpath.

I don’t think Bevo gave enough chances to Ben Cavarra. I think Cavarra could have forged a reasonable AFL career with us had Bevo persevered.

Not so much a hill to die on, rather wistful memories and what ifs:
                1) Apologies if already mentioned… I reckon we’d have another premiership if we had of been able to bring Barry Hall in a year earlier in 2009. Or if we had of recruited Jack Riewoldt instead of Andrejs Everitt. Podsiadly was right under our nose too. If only we had a good tall forward during Eade’s era.

2) Lin Jong would have been a bulldogs star and Bullgod if he had more luck on injury front. The footy gods were bloody cruel in our glorious 2016 finals run. I still wish I could turn the clock back and replace making up the numbers Dunkley (yes he came good in later years) with a fit & passionate Lin Jong.
                Josie :)

Our day will come
                And we'll have everything.
                We'll share the joy
                Just like '54 again.