• Hotdog60

Originally posted by Bigdog
    Is anyone staying around for the vfl? Also is the vfl game on kayo.

• Aidan7557
      • Jan 2025

Well overall not a great spectacle, not helped by the weather really, not sure there was much to take away. i thought out first half defence looked solid and Lobb was great but his partner in crime right now isn't that clear. Crossley wasn't bad, I think he is a shot for round 1, but he did fall away in impact albeit completed the whole game. Mids were ok at best no one really caught my eye. Naughton and Weightman look well off the pace which isn't great at this stage so hopefully they can get going quickly. Didn't like how we bombed it in again but with the conditions I think it's understandable. Not sure how anyone else feels but wasn't that inspiring today to for me but at least a lot of players got a run. Still a month out for our first game so plenty of time to build into the kanagas.

Give some credit to Crossley he did seem to ruck all day even taking every centre bounce. Not sure what English job was but it wasn’t sitting back or forward , he just roamed.
        Freijah is exceptional , thought that he would be from the first game I saw him .
        game plan wasn’t easy to see , I’m not very confident this year as previous years but we did throw around a lot of players and used a lot of younger ones, which is what we all want to see , let’s face it we didn’t go to see Bont, Libba etc .
        Whitten oval windy, not conditions for quality football or talls . I’m saying that Darcy looks so far in front of our other talls.

Originally posted by whythelongface
          So do we take Crossley or Brew?

Lots to work on with Crossley but think he is a better fit for us.
          Crossley. Like I said earlier we should have signed him after the first quarter. He's not playing unless we break glass and is a perfect backup. He may not even play but at least we have someone we can slot in there if Tim goes down. He can beat up on Tim at training and hopefully toughen him up.

Buss playing VFL? How long did he play AFL today? (Haven't seen the game due to family commitments)

• Woofingwarrior
              • Dec 2024

I actually rated what I saw of poulter , looking decent in the vfl now also

• Scott2016
                Scott2016 commented
                Editing a comment
                He is not the solution to our problems, id rather give a drafted kid a go as poulter not much further ahead.
            • Woofingwarrior
              • Dec 2024

Buku ain’t it . It would’ve been nice to see a lobb/buss/Jod combination

• Scott2016
                Scott2016 commented
                Editing a comment
                I still remember the game against hawthorn early in the year when Sicily had a busted shoulder and still beat Buku one on one. Sides know this so they prevent him from intercepting and force him into a one on one situation which he loses more than he wins
            • SonofScray
              • Apr 2008

A bit of a rough one in terms of the spectacle and there’s not much, if anything to really take away as a spectator there today.

Freijah probably the player that looks to have gone up a notch, though there were a lot of turn overs at the end of him winning the footy. Darcy, Ed and Naughton seemed to have a few good moments when the heat in the contest spiked occasionally.

Haven’t left the ground feeling any more bullish about the season and am only barely leaning slightly towards a less favourable view of the season ahead based on what I saw.

• HOSE B ROMERO
                • Mar 2012

Originally posted by Bornadog
                Buss playing VFL? How long did he play AFL today? (Haven't seen the game due to family commitments)
                half a game.

• whythelongface

Originally posted by G-Mo77

Crossley. Like I said earlier we should have signed him after the first quarter. He's not playing unless we break glass and is a perfect backup. He may not even play but at least we have someone we can slot in there if Tim goes down. He can beat up on Tim at training and hopefully toughen him up.
                  A good solid month or two to get him into shape and conditioned to playing AFL should be ok for a back up ruckman. He is good in the ruck contest and uses his big frame well. Obvious weakness is around the ground but if he can give us first use of the ball then I don’t see a major problem. It was clear though in the last qtr a more agile ruckman was able to take advantage of his poor conditioning. Would like to see him given a crack.

Had the hospitality offering today, lot left to be desired in terms of food. Really not worth the value, even though we had a nice day out.
                    ​​​​​
                    Watched a half of the VFL. Brew ain't it - it's Crossley by mile IMO.

Hynes showed some good signs. Clever, calm, skilled - bit to work with here. Dolan showed enough too, very clean below his knees, quick decision making and hit targets. I expect nothing from them at senior level in 2025 but it's obvious they can play.
                    ​​​​​​
                    From the main game I thought Lobb was very good, it's astounding how well he's developed as a key back. Freijah BOG for mine - class above. Richards had some moments, Crossley was strong in the ruck contest but nothing around the ground, and we learn nothing new about the likes of Khamis, Cleary, etc.
                    ​​​​​​
                    No injuries which is about all that matters.

• Mat Lyons
                      • Jan 2023

Western Bulldogs 8. 10 (58) lost to Essendon 11. 11 (77)

Goals: Darcy, Naughton, West, Richards, Vandermeer, Poulter, O'Donnell, A. Jones 1

Best 1st half: Lobb, Darcy, Freijah, Williams, M. Kennedy, Richards, Gallagher, West

Best 2nd half: Freijah, Baker, Poulter, English, Sanders, Busslinger, Cleary, O'Donnell

The Dogs lost to Bombers by 19 points today, in a scrappy, dour affair, which felt like a fitting tribute to 1925. Of utmost significance was the fact that there were no injuries and players dealt with four seasons of weather throughout the afternoon, to test their resilience and durability.

Whilst scrappy, it was great to blow out a few cobwebs and get a glimpse at players owning responsibilty in the absence of regulars including Bontempelli, Liberatore, Dale, Treloar, Liam Jones, Johannisen, Ugle-Hagen, plus Coffield, Scott and Jacques.

Additionally, Lobb, Darcy, Richards, Williams, Kennedy, Weightman, Bramble, West and Duryea came off at half time to give the draftees a run, plus Naughton came off early in the last quarter. There were lots of personnel changes at half time in order to give a lot of younger players a run and it was excellent to see Davidson play a full game, while Hynes, Dolan and Brew impressed. Crossley rucked for most of the day and whilst winning his fair share of hit-outs, was significantly outpointed by the Bombers big units.

Highlights:
                      1. West's cork in the ocean-style goal, rising from the canvas to get us started.
                      2. Darcy's aerial dominance in the first quarter, including two commanding grabs inside 50 early in the match.
                      3. Arty Jones's running goal from the boundary line in the third quarter.
                      4. English's massive pack mark on the members' wing. goal.
                      5. Croft's pick up and speed from the contest, ending with his perfectly weighed wedge kick to Poulter who ran in for an open
                      6. Garcia's don't argue before a blind turn and pinball off his opponents to elude certain capture was like a mosquito in a jar.
                      7. Naughton and English crunching gang tackle to earn a holding the ball In front of a roaring Doggies Army.
                      8. Buku's courageous mark with the flight, flattening Baker, but hanging on to the pill.
                      9. Freijah slicing the Bombers defence like butter, side step and bounce before a long kick inside 50 in the final quarter.
                      10. Davidson's give and get on the Hawkins wing before a precise pass. With Duryea already owning the nickname 'Doc', the crowd have now started calling this medical student 'The Surgeon'. Please make this stick.
                      Last edited by Mat Lyons; 15-02-2025, 08:38 PM.

• josie
                        • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Woofingwarrior
                        I actually rated what I saw of poulter , looking decent in the vfl now also
                        Agree regarding Poulter. He is only 22. Kinda glides, a bit like Bailey Dale. Booming kick.
                        Josie :)

Our day will come
                        And we'll have everything.
                        We'll share the joy
                        Just like '54 again.

I guess firstly it was Feb and there was a chunk of talent missing.

Crossley - he gets the spot ahead of Brew. He at least has some AFL traits, he's a solid tap ruckman and certainly knows how to protect the drop. Brew, really I've seen nothing to inspire me.

Hard and fast critique of the fringe guys today :

Poulter : why is he still on the list?
                          McNeil : thankfully rested after half time, let's wrap him in cotton wool like the Bont.
                          Baker : i actually like him, why doesn't he play more?
                          Davidson : see Poulter.
                          Garcia : I really want him to be good. But....he isn't.
                          Sanders : Lets pretend that game didn't happen and remember how good he is against the Bulldogs.
                          Croft : Like. There's something there.
                          Hynes : Move over Lachie we've got a new man crush !
                          Brew : see Davidson but like, why is he even at training?
                          A.Jones : Kicked a nice goal, he teases but I don't know if I'm getting excited.
                          Busslinger : Not sure if he's an interceptor or a body to body type. Needs more time. Showed some ok things.
                          Gardner : Sign Crossley already.
                          Gallagher : See Brew.
                          Harmes : He looks fitter, was on a wing at times. Maybe there's something there from him this season. But....it's Harmes he's not going to be doing anything too amazing.
                          LVDM : You;ve changed your hair but we can still tell it's you. He was ok, he does work hard off the ball. I like him.

The others :

Freijah : time slows down for this guy what a star.
                          Lobb : man, he is actually good down back. For realsie.
                          Naughton : bring back the headband ffs. He looked off the pace as expected. Not sure why he tried to dodge 80 Essendon players, I'd demote him to the five players not in the leadership group for that.
                          English : Sign Crossley already. He really seemed like he was somewhere else this afternoon. But he's not had much training of late.
                          Richards : Solid, Ed's great.
                          M.Kennedy : Solid, but hard to tell in a half. Looks a good pick up.
                          Weightman : Nothing game, may have been injured.
                          JOD and Buku : Fighting it out for the, ah, crap ok we have to pick one of these guys spot.
                          Williams : Solid, he is one winger locked in.

Shit conditions. Not getting too downcast although i've just been researching the correct microwave setting for small plastic cards.

BTW Caddy is a freak, they've got a ripper there.

• Jackodog
                            Jackodog commented
                            Editing a comment
                            Couldn’t disagree more with most of this post

• Scott2016
                            Scott2016 commented
                            Editing a comment
                            Gallagher and Davidson are better than VDM and Mcniel so i reckon your assessment is a bit off the mark
                        • Dry Rot

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                          Poulter : why is he still on the list?

Davidson : see Poulter.
                          What is your knock on Davidson? I thought he was great today.