Re: WB Game Day V GWS Giants R8 2023 Sat 6/5, 7:25PM - Manuka Oval, Canberra

Originally posted by Grantysghost
    You have to nominate prior to the kick though.

• Bulldog Joe
      Premiership Moderator
      • Jul 2009

Just a few comments without quoting some of the posts.

I was at the game and happy with the win.

We were too tall for the conditions, but there was nothing that could have been done as the forecast was a low chance of rain and there was no rain until after the start of the game.

Arty Jones was terrific but he also needs to start actually trying to mark on some of his leaps. He can really get airborne but seems to not always be judging where the ball is. He can probably take mark of the year when he works it out.

Marra struggled with ball handling in the wet but really impressed with how he is presenting.

Naughton was well beaten by Buckley mostly because he was contesting where he had no chance to run and jump, but his finish to the game was brilliant.

The run on by GWS was hard to bear, but I thought English took a good pack mark that went unpaid before the first Green goal. At least we had him in the right position to arrest a run. Ed Richards was clearly taken high when he was picking up the ground ball prior to the second Green goal. The umpires pay those decisions and there is no run on.
      After the 4th goal we retook control, when previously we would have folded.

Yes we should have defended those loose balls better but overall I was pretty happy.

Lots of criticism of our tall defenders but I thought they all contributed.

@bulldogjoe give us a weather report

Working for the Feds I've spent many a winters night in our nation's capital.

• Bulldog Joe
          Premiership Moderator
          • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Grantysghost
          @bulldogjoe give us a weather report

Working for the Feds I've spent many a winters night in our nation's capital.
          Once a year is enough for me.

• D Mitchell
            • Jan 2023

Originally posted by The bulldog tragician
            By the way Princess Kate clearly sending a message of support for us in her red white and blue outfit for the coronation. Bont badge strategically placed within the folds of her cape I?d say.
            Her Royal Highness is the Colonel-in-Chief of the Irish Guards Regiment, one of five Foot Guard Regiments that constitute the King's Guard. Members of the constituting regiments, when part of the King's Guard, wear coloured plumes on the right hand side of their bearskins. That of the Irish Guards is royal blue. I reckon herself had the King more in mind than the Bont. Well spotted, though, Her Royal Highness hardly featured.

Originally posted by D Mitchell
              Her Royal Highness is the Colonel-in-Chief of the Irish Guards Regiment, one of five Foot Guard Regiments that constitute the King's Guard. Members of the constituting regiments, when part of the King's Guard, wear coloured plumes on the right hand side of their bearskins. That of the Irish Guards is royal blue. I reckon herself had the King more in mind than the Bont. Well spotted, though, Her Royal Highness hardly featured.
              Is this better or worse than my post about the difference between Devils and Demons?

• MrMahatma

I thought we were gonna lose it.

I was VERY happy with the way the guys turned it around. I've wanted some of our key players to step up in these key moments and Naughton did. He took grabs and he kicked clutch goals.

It was a frustrating game to watch, with lots of fumbling and way too many almost clearances and balls out the back of contests going GWS way. However, would I take a 15 point win against GWS, in the cold and wet Canberra? Yep. Would I take a 15 point win against the Blues this weekend? Yep.

I'd love us to be playing at our very best, but also don't reckon we're a team who plays our very best for 26 weeks in a row, so some ugly/lucky/mediocre/hard-fought wins early in the year are very well received.

A win this weekend and we're very much back in the top 4 hunt. The season is shaping up nicely, and we have a lot of upside remaining.

• D Mitchell
                  • Jan 2023

Originally posted by hujsh
                  Is this better or worse than my post about the difference between Devils and Demons?
                  Probably worse although I'd have to see your particular post. I searched "devil" on every page of this thread unsuccessfully. On page 3, I posed the dilemma of the choice between game and Coronation. I ended up watching the Coronation, flicking back to the footy every now and then. Whatever your views on the Head of State, it was such an historic and momentous event.

Well you see devils and demons are actually quite distinct. While both originate from the lower evil planes the Devils are lawful while demons are chaotic. Demons don't discriminate with who they attack and why thus they constantly invade the 9 Hells through the river Styx. The devils are the first line of defense against Demons and thus many see them as a necessary evil including the Celestial forces.

Nothing like the similarities between breeds of dogs.
                    There you go mate. It was in the thread about Tasmania. Didn't mean to lead you down that wild goose chase.

• D Mitchell
                      • Jan 2023

There you go mate. It was in the thread about Tasmania. Didn't mean to lead you down that wild goose chase.
                      No worries. Yours is much better, it looks like a reference back to Greek Mythology (Styx is the giveaway, my first thought was Harry Potter). The commentator referred to blue as the colour of the Irish Guards. The usual association is green, the colour of the dress that Kate wore upon conferment of her Colonelcy. I looked it up, the blue comes from an 18th Century Order of Chivalry founded for award in Ireland.

haha there is no better or worse, i just meant both are pretty nerdy referring to a niche bit of lore. Mine is literally just Dungeons and Dragons information (I ran a campaign specifically about Demons invading so the difference was one I had to learn)

Worth watching to see Adam Kingsley pissed off

Naughton's two goals - Multi Call

• D Mitchell
                            • Jan 2023

Worth watching to see Adam Kingsley pissed off

Naughton's two goals - Multi Call
                            Note the positioning of both Jones and Weightman.

Aflca votes:

Greater Western Sydney v Western Bulldogs
                              10 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
                              8 Tom Green (GWS)
                              6 Tim English (WB)
                              4 Tom Liberatore (WB)
                              1 Bailey Smith (WB)
                              1 Josh Kelly (GWS)

LEADERBOARD
                              45 Nick Daicos (COLL)
                              43 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
                              36 Clayton Oliver (MELB)
                              34 Jeremy Cameron (GEEL)
                              34 Callum Wilkie (STK)
                              33 Christian Petracca (MELB)
                              32 Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
                              31 Zak Butters (PORT)
                              29 Noah Anderson (GCFC)
                              29 Jordan Dawson (ADEL)
                              29 Toby Greene (GWS)
                              29 Jack Sinclair (STK)
                              28 Charlie Curnow (CARL)
                              28 Jordan De Goey (COLL)
                              25 Darcy Moore (COLL)
                              24 Charlie Cameron (BL)
                              24 Chad Warner (SYD)
                              23 Tim Kelly (WCE)
                              23 Zach Merrett (ESS)
                              23 Lachie Neale (BL)
                              23 Tim Taranto (RICH)

• angelopetraglia

What is most impressive in that clip is Artys composure under pressure and the quality of his kick to hit up Naughton. A lot to be exited about.