Re: WOOF Welcomes Ryley Sanders to the Kennel

Originally posted by EasternWest
    Are you saying he can hit key forwards on the tit?
    I imagine his fourth year highlight committee meeting will be tough. So many tit-hitting examples to choose from!

We have heaps that are tit hitting, just it’s the opposition backman’s tit .

• Glove38
        • Dec 2023

Originally posted by ledge
        Lachlan Smith ? Rohan Smith ? Roarke Smith ? Bailey Smith ?
        I was excited when Rohan burst on the scene - magnificent mullet, but i was referring to Baz

• MrMahatma

Originally posted by Glove38
          I was excited when Rohan burst on the scene - magnificent mullet, but i was referring to Baz
          I've been a Smith fan and am really hopeful we keep him. I think the stars are aligning though that Sanders will have a more immediate on field impact for us.

I imagine his fourth year highlight committee meeting will be tough. So many tit-hitting examples to choose from!
            Hitting tits is the shit.

Thatl be Ryley's epitaph.

• Can Bar
              • Dec 2023

Really Happy with this selection, all the hype and his style of play are needed. A thought for the future. If he does continue on a high performance trajectory. Does he become target number 1, for the new Tassie Franchise in a few years? Will we get shafted by the AFL like we did with Ward, crap compensation. Is this why other clubs may have opted not to take him earlier?

• josie
                • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Can Bar
                Really Happy with this selection, all the hype and his style of play are needed. A thought for the future. If he does continue on a high performance trajectory. Does he become target number 1, for the new Tassie Franchise in a few years? Will we get shafted by the AFL like we did with Ward, crap compensation. Is this why other clubs may have opted not to take him earlier?
                With likely delays (argy bargy who pays b/w state, federal, astronomical cost, upset locals who think money best spent more wisely) I think Tassie team is 5+ years away. It was line ball I reckon b/w Watson and Saunders for Hawks and I?d guess most of us think both will be good players. If Saunders quickly becomes a gun I think it?s unlikely we?ll get shafted as badly as Ward case. Can see Tassie given early drafts though like GWS & GC did so yeah might not be as good as should be. If he helps win a premiership or two before he goes home all will be forgiven.
                Josie :)

Our day will come
                And we'll have everything.
                We'll share the joy
                Just like '54 again.

• josie
                  • Oct 2012

Originally posted by josie
                  With likely delays (argy bargy who pays b/w state, federal, astronomical cost, upset locals who think money best spent more wisely) I think Tassie team is 5+ years away. It was line ball I reckon b/w Watson and Saunders for Hawks and I?d guess most of us think both will be good players. If Saunders quickly becomes a gun I think it?s unlikely we?ll get shafted as badly as Ward case. Can see Tassie given early drafts though like GWS & GC did so yeah might not be as good as should be. If he helps win a premiership or two before he goes home all will be forgiven.
                  Maybe not forgiven but will make loss smidge more palatable.
                  Josie :)

Our day will come
                  And we'll have everything.
                  We'll share the joy
                  Just like '54 again.

• Can Bar
                    • Dec 2023

Ill take 3 flags, 1 Norm Smith for Sanders, pick 1 & 2. would make me feel like we break even.

• Bigdog
                      • Jan 2023

Probably wishful thinking, but If Sanders has a first year like a Selwood or N.Daicos and our other mids stay fit we will go deep. I would back us for a flag.

It?s amazing how good young players can re-energize a team.

Good luck in your debut and long career with the Dogs.

• Axe Man

If we keep Sanders and send Nathan Saunders to Tassie I will be fine with that.

• Testekill
                            • Jan 2015

Sanders debuting this week was as predictable as they come, he has been one of the clear stars.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by Can Bar
                              Firstly, we shafted ourselves with Ward by lowballing him. That was on us.

On Sanders, he was taken where expected in the draft. Everyone taken before him was fully expected so he didn't necessarily "slide" to us. The top 7 of the draft were elite and I'm guessing that's why we pulled the trigger on the lopsided trade with gold coast.

I think he will certainly be a primary target once the Tassie team is ready to launch. But that's still some time away. You don't turn away from his talent just because there's a remote risk years away. Our time is now and he fits that timeline.

Originally posted by Testekill
                                Sanders debuting this week was as predictable as they come, he has been one of the clear stars.
                                When was the last time our first round draft pick debuted in the first game?