Disgraceful

• cambo

Re: Disgraceful

maybe the club has not re signed Rocket for a reason? every year we fall away before the finals, he plays guys who are out of form and not up to standard (Williams, Eagleton,Minson and co) Why hasnt Skipper been given a go, has been in the best 5 for Willianstown every week. Agree with all comments posted today

• Bumper Bulldogs
      • Apr 2008

I have tried 5 times now to post with this and can't believe the spray i want to let fly. Well we may just have a few kids around so the clean version.

Do you think it is between the ears and that the team is soft? It looks years ago that we toweled up the hawks and i can't understand how we have played so insipid in the last 7 quarters.

I'm hoping that this is the real wake up call to the team as they will not get a better chance to play in a GF and perhaps win, like this year.

We all know that our best is brilliant but our worst was on display today. I had high hopes that the "New" fitness program was going to be the difference, but I suppose a new training centre, New football manger, New fitness department, New recruiters don't change the in-bedded deep rooted problems that lie within the club.

I will be even more shattered if they come out next week and win by 10 goals.
      BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

• mjp

Originally posted by cambo
        Agree with all comments posted today
        Not me.

Is anyone going to mention the comeback from 46 points down to hitting the front in the last quarter?

Yes, the start was terrible - the players were continually outnumbered at the contest by West Coast, which is a direct pointer to work-rate - but they turned it around and hit the front...twice. Not exactly the sign of a group who dont care and aren't trying.

I am completely convinced that there are either no posters here who have played competitive sport at any level or alternatively they have simply forgotten how hard it is to win every single week...unless of course every season had a zero in the loss column and a premiership cup at the end.

Accusing Williams of tanking? Give me a break. Kennedy got hold of him? Well, here is the thing - Kennedy is a better player than Tom Williams. Clean out everyone over 30? See ya Johnno, see ya Aker. Never mind that they were shining lights today (Johnno's first half was sensational).

As for the Cooney criticism...I hope none of you clapped when he kicked that goal from outside 50m in the last quarter. His kicking was poor - I dont know why, and nor do you. Perhaps, he had an injection before the game? Who knows...nearly 30 touches says to me he worked pretty darn hard and he was certainly putting in at the end.

As for the calls for Skipper to come and save the day, give me a break. Oh yeah - and the coaching staff are dead-set useless...we have been fixtures in the top 4 for the past 18months now...can you guys remember 2004? Saying a Peter Rohde team played better - we were losing by 100 points, not by a kick.

We lost by less than a goal. We will be playing finals - all is not lost. Could today's effort been better? Yep. Is it disappointing? Yep. Is it a reason to accuse players of tanking and throw all the toys out of the cot? Not even close.

• Dry Rot

Originally posted by Asylum Ward
          This season should show the selectors who can and who can't step up in big games. We need to rebuild with these players gone for decent picks. Do a Hawthorn clean out and really rebuild with the youngsters who are decent players. I rate a few of the boys but strongly suggest that making up the numbers each year is not my idea of winning a premiership.
          Clean out anyone over 30. Get picks for dud big game players and rebuild with those. Unfortunately we will not do this and another mediocre season were we are two or three players short of a premier side awaits.
          If Lake leaves, then this is the way to go IMO.

Originally posted by mjp
            Not me.

Is anyone going to mention the comeback from 46 points down to hitting the front in the last quarter?

Yes, the start was terrible - the players were continually outnumbered at the contest by West Coast, which is a direct pointer to work-rate - but they turned it around and hit the front...twice. Not exactly the sign of a group who dont care and aren't trying.

I am completely convinced that there are either no posters here who have played competitive sport at any level or alternatively they have simply forgotten how hard it is to win every single week...unless of course every season had a zero in the loss column and a premiership cup at the end.

Accusing Williams of tanking? Give me a break. Kennedy got hold of him? Well, here is the thing - Kennedy is a better player than Tom Williams. Clean out everyone over 30? See ya Johnno, see ya Aker. Never mind that they were shining lights today (Johnno's first half was sensational).

As for the Cooney criticism...I hope none of you clapped when he kicked that goal from outside 50m in the last quarter. His kicking was poor - I dont know why, and nor do you. Perhaps, he had an injection before the game? Who knows...nearly 30 touches says to me he worked pretty darn hard and he was certainly putting in at the end.

As for the calls for Skipper to come and save the day, give me a break. Oh yeah - and the coaching staff are dead-set useless...we have been fixtures in the top 4 for the past 18months now...can you guys remember 2004? Saying a Peter Rohde team played better - we were losing by 100 points, not by a kick.

We lost by less than a goal. We will be playing finals - all is not lost. Could today's effort been better? Yep. Is it disappointing? Yep. Is it a reason to accuse players of tanking and throw all the toys out of the cot? Not even close.
            Sorry, but this is a complete rose-coloured glasses job.

The effort put in today against a bottom-4 side, one who hasn't won away from Subiaco for 19 games before today, was absolutely deplorable. We, the supporters, are going to give them a wack, and they completely deserve it.

The fact of the matter is that we were r-u-b-b-i-s-h today, and this effort is simply not acceptable if we want to go anywhere with our football.

• Rocco Jones

It really feels like the latter third of last season all over again. The only difference is that this year we don't have the wins behind us to get us a top 4 spot. I think we will finish the home and away season in 6th and get knocked out 2nd week.

Originally posted by Topdog
                I thought he was no where near our worst and certainly not bad enough to get single criticism.
                You're kidding! He was embarissing being a KPB! Kennedy pulled his pants down. I'm not singling him out but jeez he was a stand out for me! We had no direction today but thats understandable as we dont have a forward line! In the words of Rex Hunt Shisehausen

• mighty_west
                  • Feb 2008

That was poo!!!!

Did anyone else notice how big a side West Coast compared to us, it was like men against boys.

• BulldogBelle

Last year before the player delistings the brains trust (coaching staff) should have put a plan together of how they were to win a premiership the following year.

This plan would include the sort of players that were needed, and how the club was going to get or develop them. It would also include various training and fitness strategies and many other things including player management and team issues.

I think that last October probably most of us imagined that we needed a tall forward. A tall foward who could take a grab in the forward line and provide a focus for our mid-fielders when pressured. We didn't get one in the draft so I suppose we planned to develop one in the reserves. It doesn't seem to have worked with Grant, Roughhead or Cordy.

What is disappointing is that the coach doesn't seem to be preparing somebody for the tall-forward job. We know that people develop at different rates and some players are late bloomers (they show their best when older than others). Skipper??????? When new players are introduced they seem to get less playing time than the old hacks. Minson, why does he drop marks that he should hold, is he not getting the right training? The coach has not pleased me on player development.

It also seems as though the selection committee have gone down the wrong path when selecting players who are out of form. They seem to value team and player continuity more than 'form'. Each week we scream to have certain players dropped and others included but disappointingly we too often see 'No changes'. Eagleton, strewth, does he have to drop himself. I reckon he cost us 3 goals in the first quarter today. The coach has not pleased me on player selection and reward for effort.

There are certain aspects of our game that I do not like. The whole side seems to have crossitis. Look for somebody to take the easy hand-ball rather than kick - and when in doubt kick sideways. I don't like the way that we often leave nobody in the forward zone when defending (when we do leave somebody there it is usually some short guy). I don't like the way that we start slowly. Is this our coach being out-coached, or is it our coach being outdone in player preparation? i don't like some of our rotations, why are our best players off the ground for long periods of time? The coach has not pleased me on game day tactics.

Not too late to make a few drastic changes. Scrap the old plans - they were cr4p. Got some good players coming back, might yet win, despite the 'brainstrust'.

• angelopetraglia

Originally posted by mighty_west
                      That was poo!!!!

Did anyone else notice how big a side West Coast compared to us, it was like men against boys.
                      Not that much in it. Teams that took the field today;

Bulldogs: Weight 88.5kg, Height 187.1cm

West Coast: Weight 88.2kg, Height 188.3cm

• mighty_west
                        • Feb 2008

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
                        Not that much in it. Teams that took the field today;

Bulldogs: Weight 88.5kg, Height 187.1cm

West Coast: Weight 88.2kg, Height 188.3cm
                        Is that both teams full quota of players or the players that ran out today? I dunno, for whatever reason, they just looked alot bigger in their respective huddles.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
                          The amount of times Hargrave bombs the ball to a contest/nobody is ridiculous. When is he going to learn to lower his eyes? He does it time and time again and we get killed on the rebound every time. He was half asleep today too, watching his man instead of the flight of the ball.
                          In all fairness to Shaggy, it's not like we have a forwardline to kick to.

Williams is now in the gun (20 game rule?).
                            Tommy had a poor game, but there were worse:
                            Eagle's first half was terrible - here I was defending this bloke a few weeks back, what a waste of bandwidth.
                            Stack played one of the worst individual games of AFL football since the competition was nationalised.
                            Our forwardline structure is non-existant
                            If a bottom 8 team can cut our zone to ribbons, what will a firing Geelong or St Kilda do?

• mighty_west
                              • Feb 2008

Originally posted by Mofra
                              In all fairness to Shaggy, it's not like we have a forwardline to kick to.
                              Is that because of our size up forward or that the players just didn't work hard enough to present?

Originally posted by mjp
                                Not me.

Top post MJP, the posters are all talking through their emotions and dissapointment of losing.

I think we just didn't didn't use the ball well enough, it was evident in the way we entered the forward 50 (62 entries is a hell of a lot for any game). We continually bombed it in expecting poor Hill and Stack to take screamers against the likes of Glass and Hurn, who just brushed them aside. Yes Cooney did have some poor disposal and cost us a couple of goals , but I actually thought he found some of his dash today.

Without players like Murphy, Higgins , Gia, Welsh and with inexperienced young players like Stack, Wood, Hill, Harbrow, Everitt, Ward, (all around 19/20 years old)and to some extent Williams (only 30 game player), each week is going to be tough.