Demonstrative Abuse?

Surely a Grand Final where we pit the two best teams of the year against each other shouldn't see a free kick awarded in the goal square for 'demonstrative abuse'. They can make these points in the season but it just taints the occasion in a GF.

It shouldn't matter today as the Hawkins goal shouldn't have been a goal either but surely this is BS.

Re: Demonstrative Abuse?

Terrible decision.

What is it with St Kilda receiving ridiculously soft free kicks in front of goals?

• mighty_west
      • Feb 2008

It is a disgrace, however, what the hell was Milburn sooking about anyway, he was nowhere near it!

• The Coon Dog

How many free kicks have the umpires missed that should have been paid & how many have they paid that weren't?

If you supported either team I reckon you'd be going off your nut!

Milne, marks & gets a tap in the guts off Ling & goes to ground holding his head, please someone, anyone, give the filthy little bastard something to hold his head about!
        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Originally posted by mighty_west
          It is a disgrace, however, what the hell was Milburn sooking about anyway, he was nowhere near it!
          Let him sook, but is that worth a free kick in front of goal? Bloody hell the AFL needs to have a real good look at themselves and the whole rules thing.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

it was a rank decision, but perhaps an even-upperer for the Hawkins "goal".

• Max469

Let both teams sook.

They have been the protected species all year - now they know what it is like.
              [B][FONT="Book Antiqua"][COLOR="DarkOrchid"][I]I bleed Red,White & Blue[/I][/COLOR] [/FONT][/B]

Some of the acting has been disgraceful today.

We all know, from experience, how far the umps and saints r up each others bums!! just Terrible & disgusting

• Doc26
                    • Sep 2009

The Dasher 'demonstrative abuse' decision was another take on over umpiring gone mad in the AFL.

The holding the ball / prior opportunity decision is also totally off the scale in being reasonable. A slight tug on a jumper when in possession that doesn't stop momentum or making a play for the ball and getting pinged by a leacher should be let go.

• AndrewP6

ANOTHER pathetic display by the monkeys... any doubt that they can influence the outcome of a match should be erased by now. Those guys are almost embarrassing. Swap them for some suburban umpires - they couldn't be much worse (and I bet they'd be less precious!)

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by rohanj

The holding the ball / prior opportunity decision is also totally off the scale in being reasonable. A slight tug on a jumper when in possession that doesn't stop momentum or making a play for the ball and getting pinged by a leacher should be let go.
                        it is when your name is Ablett...

Originally posted by hujsh
                          Surely a Grand Final where we pit the two best teams of the year against each other shouldn't see a free kick awarded in the goal square for 'demonstrative abuse'. They can make these points in the season but it just taints the occasion in a GF.

It shouldn't matter today as the Hawkins goal shouldn't have been a goal either but surely this is BS.
                          I agree that the penalty was way too harsh but I don't think players should be permitted to intimidate goal umpires like Milburn did. But yeah, way too strong a penalty. If [I]absolutely[I] necessary to pay a free, take it back to the centre or something.

Also, did anyone else notice how quickly greedy little fatboy Schneider raced in to take the free kick? Your teammates still remember the easy ones you missed mate, you're fooling noone.

Suck it Saints.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by dfa4pm
                            If [I]absolutely[I] necessary to pay a free, take it back to the centre or something.
                            OR the umps could just suck it up...no one could begrudge Milburn a little tanty in the heat of the moment. Even if his spoil missed by about a foot! It's not like he thumped the guy or anything.

Originally posted by dfa4pm
                            Suck it Saints.
                            Good call...

• Topdog

Horrible decision by an idiot of an umpire.