Re: Fev up for trade

Just reading an article by Damian Barrett, claiming we are not interested in Fevola.

Good news in my opinion.

• Missing Dog

Originally posted by mighty_west
      Last years news mate...as i state.."BY ALL REPORTS".

I agree with mighty_west, we were said to be after Fev last year, but price tag was WAY out of our range

Originally posted by PWebb
        I agree with mighty_west, we were said to be after Fev last year, but price tag was WAY out of our range
        Every year during the trade period there is one BS rumour after another. That one was BS. By all reports to me means everyone talking about so it must be true. Well it wasn't.

• mighty_west
          • Feb 2008

Originally posted by ErnieSigley
          Every year during the trade period there is one BS rumour after another. That one was BS. By all reports to me means everyone talking about so it must be true. Well it wasn't.
          What part of it was reported in the news don't you understand?

There are hundreds of rumours going around, we all know that, i could reel off dozens off the top of my head, i never stated it was fact, just WHAT WAS REPORTED!

And yes, they mentioned Rocket meeting up with Fev's manager to talk about his situation, was it true? probably not....BUT, it was reported!

Just remind me next time NOT to mention any news on anything IN CASE, it's not true!

EDIT : Had it been just a rumour, i would have stated that, however, it was reported as a news story.

There are hundreds of rumours going around, we all know that, i could reel off dozens off the top of my head, i never stated it was fact, just WHAT WAS REPORTED!

And yes, they mentioned Rocket meeting up with Fev's manager to talk about his situation, was it true? probably not....BUT, it was reported!

Just remind me next time NOT to mention any news on anything IN CASE, it's not true!
            My final word on this.
            Usually news to me means something has to be factual otherwise its a current affairs or a tabloid mag. Not much of 'Rocket wanted him' is fact. Your wording is 'By all Reports' is even more incorrect.

Is simply asked who it was reported by that you class as 'all'.

• Keepa Movin' Griff

We don't want Fev, great FF, but selfish as hell and a sook to boot!

I don't think Fev would kick anywhere near 100 goals with the Doggies. The midfield currenly feeding Fev; Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Stevens, are immaculate users of the footy, and the big man is the first (usually only) target they aim for. Doggies have a more scattered forward line approach, and the key forward arguement i feel is as much about creating a contest, and even offering a decoy for key defenders, as it is about kicking goals, and i think Baz can do this job just as well, if not better then Fev. Also Barry works much harder then Fev in forward defence, which has become a major attribute of our side,and will be a pivotal sector of our game if we are to win a premiership in the next 2 years.

I have actually come to be really excited about getting Hall now, so would be devastated if it didn't come off. I think Eade and Mr Fantasia should bluff interest in Fev (while Lake is still unsigned, and salary cap is still feasible), it will force Sydney's hand into taking our offer for Hall.

When does the footy season start again, lol, i'm having withdrawals already!

Originally posted by Desipura
                And they did not make the finals! Lockett did not play in a premiership neither did Ablett. Getting Fev will not guarantee that we will win a premiership. He is selfish and will want most forward entries to be directed to him or he will crack the sads. Then there is the potential issue of disharmony within the group.
                So your saying we don't need a player that has potential to kick 100 goals a season.

• lemmon

Not really interested in Fev for a few reasons
                  a. Price tag is out of our range
                  b. The player they would be most interested in is Lake and most likely our first pick
                  c. The negative impact he may have on the playing group
                  I dont see the point in grabbing an enigmatic forward with a history of on and off field problems, who we have to sell our soul to get and may or may not want to be at the club. I'll have Hall thanks.

• Sockeye Salmon

I'll bite, What am I missing here?
                    Nothing.

My points were

a) there is no way we can fit Fev in under our salary cap, even if we lost Lake.
                    b) it's going to be damn near impossible for Collingwood or St. Kilda to come up with a trade for him (evenin the unlikely event that they could somehow fit him under their salary cap Visy style).

For the record, last year when Riewoldt re-signed with St. Kilda they had similar issues to those we have with Lake now. Their only hope would be to trade Luke Ball somewhere to free up some cash and then trade Brendon Goddard for Fev. They wouldn't do it.

• Desipura

So your saying we don't need a player that has potential to kick 100 goals a season.
                      No, not necessarily. Give me a 50-70 goal forward and 3+ players who can kick 30 odd goals. I would take that any day over a one dimensional forward.

• Desipura

EDIT : Had it been just a rumour, i would have stated that, however, it was reported as a news story.
                        Mighty_west report it mate if you hear something. You have been on here long enough for me to know you wont post something just for the sake of it. We all have choices as to who we believe and I choose to believe what rumours or things reported you hear.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                          Nothing.

b) it's going to be damn near impossible for Collingwood or St. Kilda to come up with a trade for him (evenin the unlikely event that they could somehow fit him under their salary cap Visy style).

Why would Collingwood not be able to trade for him? We are talking about an elite player here.

Why would they not give up Pendlebury and a pick? Mid-fielders can be had from anywhere - 100 per year full forwards do not grow on trees.

They will have no difficulty with paying him the money - they can cover him through the marketing fund easily

Good trades happen when both parties are prepared to come to the table. Clearly, to get Fevola means giving something SIMILAR in return.

If they want him badly enough enough, they can do it because money is not an issue.

It's a matter of whether they want him badly enough.

• Desipura

Carlton appear to want to wipe their hands clean of Fevola. Given his contract is backended (reportedly Carlton will be paying him 850k in his last year). Now that he most likely wont be playing at Carlton, they cannot whack half the 850k as part of the veterans list.
                            Therefore Carlton would have to pay a large proportion of his salary with the remaining to be paid by his new club.
                            Carlton could potentially say to a club, you can have Fev for 300k over the next 2 years but we want your 1st pick. If we could afford Hall at 300k, Fev may not cost too much more. It comes down to if Carlton want to definatively get rid of him to another club, if they do, they will have to cut their losses.
                            If a number of clubs are interested in Fev, then it is a whole different scenarion where Carlton may come out of this ok.

I says fair bit about Fevola that we would rather take OLD BBBBBH with all of his issues rather than Fev. For all of his talents it appears that neither the Bulldogs or any other club (including Carlton) want Fev. He'll stay at Carlton unless they grow some real balls and really sack him.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                                Nothing.

My points were

a) there is no way we can fit Fev in under our salary cap, even if we lost Lake.

I don't agree with that. Lets say we said we had $300k for Hall, that leaves only $400 to find. I believe Carlton are willing to pay some of his Salary, say $200k, that leaves $200k. We should be able to find that much as we are delisting several players.

Originally posted by Desipura
                                Carlton appear to want to wipe their hands clean of Fevola. Given his contract is backended (reportedly Carlton will be paying him 850k in his last year). Now that he most likely wont be playing at Carlton, they cannot whack half the 850k as part of the veterans list.
                                Therefore Carlton would have to pay a large proportion of his salary with the remaining to be paid by his new club.
                                Carlton could potentially say to a club, you can have Fev for 300k over the next 2 years but we want your 1st pick. If we could afford Hall at 300k, Fev may not cost too much more. It comes down to if Carlton want to definatively get rid of him to another club, if they do, they will have to cut their losses.
                                If a number of clubs are interested in Fev, then it is a whole different scenarion where Carlton may come out of this ok.
                                Which means we can afford him.

However, the point is do we want him?