The official Sam Reid/Daniel Currie Memorial Eker Thread
[COLOR="#FF0000"][B]Western Bulldogs:[/B][/COLOR] [COLOR="#0000CD"][B]We exist to win premierships[/B][/COLOR]Comment
Re: Ekers
That's who came to my mind as well. He was chaired off in his 50th game wearing that horrible light blue M&M's jumper - quite fitting really.
Ron Deiulio was another Carlton player from their 90's era who knocked up playing in the twos but could not consistently stay in the ones. If there was a league between VFL and AFL standard he would have dominated."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Can I nominate Michael Klinger? Or do I have to wait if goes to Tassie for a year to ice the cake?Rocket Science: the epitaph for the Beveridge era - whenever it ends - reading 'Here lies a team that could beat anyone on its day, but seldom did when it mattered most'. 15/7/2023Comment
[URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]
"It's not about the destination - it's about the trip."Comment
Footnote re "Rhino" O. Jim Main's Encyclopedia of AFL Footballers notes that "his chunky thighs and charging style prompted the nickname "Rhino". Who would have thought![URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]
I don't think either of these BFL country footy legends played that many reserve games and in the case of Best I don't think he played in the VFL at all. I think Best might have done part of a pre-season for Geelong. Massive man
Oliver's AFL career was pretty short. 3 seasons.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
No, Stephen Oliver, got homesick for Castlemaine after a brief stint in the big smoke. Ron Best preferred being a big fish in the Bendigo League. I don't think he even went down to the big smoke. He piggybacked on his football prowess to become a National Party Upper House rep. Damian Drum has since replaced him.[URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]